Skip to content

The Commandment Is Simply To Love

July 31, 2017

Greetings,

“One of them, an expert in the law, tested Him with this question: ‘Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?’  Jesus replied: ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’  This is the first and greatest commandment.  And the second is just like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’  All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.” Matthew 22: 35-40

There it is!  Anyway you slice it, it is all about LOVE.  If this is true, then why do we struggle so much where it comes to love?  Many wrestle with this all important concept.  Saying they have difficulty “feeling” God’s love for them.

I have several close friends who have continual problems feeling loved and accepted by God or anyone else.  To be totally honest at times I experience periods of feeling unloved too.  For some reason many judge themselves as being unworthy of love and they have great difficulty accepting that God’s love is totally unconditional.  My struggles with love seem to be rooted in my childhood issues.  Having been seriously raped and abused by my natural father has caused me to feel totally rejected by just about everyone at some point in my life.  I thank Jesus that He has relentlessly pursued me with His love in spite of my many attempts to run and hide from Him all these years.

Feelings of rejection can hinder loves power and effect in our lives.  I have dear friends who have experienced rejection from various “churches” over the years and the judgment they felt inflicted upon them impacted their ability to receive and perceive love from God for many, many, years.  When God’s supposed “instrument” of love turns on you, it is nearly impossible to escape feeling unloved by God to a certain degree.  The fact is that the traditional religious machine rejects and devours many in it’s attempts to keep and control the masses.  Organized systems of belief serve only themselves and in them anyone is dispensable.  While true organic Bodies of love embrace everyone because they operate like a family instead of a cold hard business.

We love God because He first loved us and while we were still sinners He entered into relationship with us and He will never leave or forsake us now.  Loving Him is certainly easier than loving our neighbors, yet Jesus asks us to love our neighbors as we love ourselves.  Right there is a huge sticking point for many of us who love God. How does one effectively love their neighbor when they find great difficulty in first loving themselves?  There are no easy answers that is for sure.  However, for me it all starts and ends with the Love of Christ.  When I endeavor and surrender to spend precious time in the Spirit with Him…His love is magnified greatly and I am then able to allow myself to be filled with a greater understanding of His affection and care for me.  And when I feel His love in and for me I have a much greater potential of loving myself and then also in turn serving and loving others. It all begins and ends with love.  Love is the answer!  Feeling unworthy of love?  None of us deserve it.  It is a gift!  It is unconditional and given freely to us all by His grace and great mercy.  Jesus Loves you!  Please run into His warm and welcoming embrace today?

Love and….

Kirk Out !

 

 

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. tom ball permalink

    Realizing I was truly accepted by a group of people was a life changing experience, which led to my finally being able to accept that God truly loved me, and… to my accepting myself as I was, imperfect and sinful, but forgiving myself for all the times I’d hurt the ones closest to me.

  2. Sue heumann permalink

    Running to Him throughout the day!! I see more and more why/how ekklesia was/is meant to be …..we NEED one another in the body to love, care for, build one another up, encourage, admonish, etc etc!!!! How else do see Jesus deep deep love for us? His expressions of love are in each of us since He is there! I love you, Christopher, and those at the Searching Together that shared so deeply, how can we help not feel a sense of deep love when we are pouring our hearts and lives to one another?

    • Welcome back Sue. Like they say…no risk, no reward. For true deep Body Life to occur it takes our willingness to be vulnerable instead of guarded in what and how we share. We simply trust HIM as we are learning to trust one another.

  3. Sue heumann permalink

    Amen, bro…..!

  4. Dan permalink

    Spending time with the Vine
    Who is Love
    Allows me to
    “Branch out” in love
    Myself

Leave a Reply

