Skip to content

The Voice Of The Lord

June 17, 2017

Greetings,

“Paul, an apostle-sent not from men nor by man, but by Jesus Christ and God the Father, who raised Him from the dead…”  Galatians 1: 1

“But when God, who set me apart from birth and called me by His grace, was pleased to reveal His Son in me so that I might preach Him among the Gentiles, I did not consult any man, nor did I go up to Jerusalem to see those who were apostles before I was, but I went immediately into Arabia and later returned to Damascus.  Then after three years, I went up to Jerusalem to get acquainted with Peter and stayed with him fifteen days.  I saw none of the other apostles-only James, the Lord’s brother.  I assure you before God that what I am writing you is no lie.  Later I went to Syria and Cilicia.  I was personally unknown to the churches of Judea that are in Christ.  They only heard the report: “The man who formerly persecuted us is now preaching the faith he once tried to destroy.”  And they praised God because of me.”  Galatians 1: 15-24

Several quick points here…

1.  Paul was sent directly by God.  He did not have to be endorsed by a Pastor/Leader, “church” council or any missions board.

2.  Paul did not consult with anyone, including others who were apostles of his day.

3.  It was three years before he even went to Jerusalem and met Peter and James.

4.  All this being said…when The Lord leads you to go somewhere or do something, you can just do it.  You do not need approval or permission from any person or group.  If you trust His Voice you can just flow in the Spirit and do ANYTHING He calls you to do.  Problem is that most do not know or trust His Voice, even though the bible states that “His sheep hear His Voice and obey.”  It is a matter of hearing His actual Voice and not second hand revelation from the mouth of another.  It is all about hearing His audible Voice, at least it will seem audible to you when you hear it.  NOTICE:  It does not say that His sheep will read the bible and obey. This is about intimately knowing and recognizing the Voice of our Lord and then following exactly what He says.  The big question now is do you trust Christ and His Voice?

Ask yourself the following questions:

“Am I now trying to win the approval of men, or of God?  Or am I trying to please men?  If I were still trying to please men, I would not be a servant of Christ.”  Galatians 1: 10

Just who are you trying to please?  And why?  If you are going to follow and serve Jesus then just go ahead and serve Him as His Voice leads you.  Forget about the approval and acceptance of mere “men.”  Paul did not return to Jerusalem for another 14 years after his first encounter with Peter.  And when he did return he opposed and rebuked Peter to his face, because Peter was listening to the voices of the Jews instead of The Voice of The Lord.  Peter compromised the truth in love and was honoring Jewish Law over and above the message of Grace.  How often do we compromise what His Voice tells us in order to keep the peace and win the approval of mere “men”?

I know I am asking difficult questions, but know that I am asking myself the very same questions and I am definitely not measuring up 100% of the time.  It’s simple….hear His Voice and obey, but we tend to over complicate it in our daily lives.  Today I choose to listen to The Lord…knowing full well that who HE calls HE also equips.  Stop measuring yourself by external standards like the Law and peer pressure.  Jesus always compensates for whatever  you may lack in gifts, skills and ability.  Now is the time to just BE obedient and follow His Voice today.

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

P.s. Please take notice…I am NOT saying that the prayers, accountability and confirmation from our equal sibling peers in Christ are not important or valuable.  It is great to have that type of support in the Body of Christ.  However, what I am saying is that hearing Christ’s voice directly for ourselves is infinitely more important.  Learning to hear, trust and depend upon the Voice of the Lord in our lives is the main key to knowing and abiding in HIS will for every aspect of our very being.  It takes faith in HIS Voice to actually do HIS will in our daily lives, and there will be times we will have to step out in this faith when no other means of confirmation are available.

 

From → Uncategorized

12 Comments
  1. daryl permalink

    Great post and and advice,especially with so many competing voices we encounter(some that genuinely have our good in mind,but not the Spirits leading for us particularly). I would definitely encourage others to ask themselves those questions,and more,and write out their thoughts.Writing down your thoughts is a huge help in discovering how you REALLY feel about something. A question I have asked myself is “is this making me feel more free,or am I feeling kind of bound?” Galatians 5;1 says it is for freedom that Christ has set us free.While this passage is specifically concerning our not allowing ourselves to be burdened or put under the yoke of the Mosaic law,I believe it is applicable to us in our decision making.With the Holy Spirit as our guide,helper,teacher we can trust our feelings ,and He will lead us in ways of freedom.Even if the choice we make seems the most difficult unpopular,and not what others would make….it is freeing to us.

    • Excellent comment daryl! Having the Spirit of Christ guide us in all our decision making is a great blessing indeed. When faced with competing choices I listen for the peace of Christ and HE has NEVER let me down.

  2. "BK" permalink

    I also loved your comment, Daryl. So many tell us we are setting people free to do what feels good to their flesh when we tell them the things you and Christopher have said here. The reality is there is a HUGE difference between the peace of my flesh and the peace of the Spirit and when allowed to practice listening and responding it gets easier and easier to tell the difference. Indeed, He NEVER lets us down! “BK”

  3. daryl permalink

    Thanks “BK”…I couldnt agree more. A law-minded dominant church,views our feelings in a negative light for the most part,as if we must always be fearful we will fall into sin and our feelings can’t be trusted….yet the Spirit bears witness with our spirits that we are children of God!I’d like to share a few words from Chafer on spirituality.”Spirituality is not a pious pose.It is not a thou shall not:it is thou shalt. It flings open the doors into the eternal blessedness,energies and resources of God.””The biblical as well as practical,cure for worldliness among christians is so to fill the heart and life with the eternal blessings of God that there will be a joyous preoccupation and absentmindedness to unspiritual things. A dead leaf that may have clung to the twig through the external raging storms of winter,will silently fall to the ground when the new flow of sap from within has begun in the spring. The leaf falls because there is a new manifestation of life pressing from within outward.A dead leaf can not remain where a new bud is springing,nor can worldliness remain where the blessings of the Spirit are flowing.We are not called upon to preach against “dead leaves”. We have a message of the imperishable Spring.It is of the outflow of the limitless life of God.When by the Spirit ye are walking ye cannot do the things that ye otherwise would”.

  4. Another big question: how to discern which voice it is I might be hearing. I’d say that responsible interpretation of scriptures (such as Paul’s letters and obviously the gospels — understanding them in literary and historical contexts) will be a part of keeping us from feeling subjectively that my (or some popular) voice is God’s voice.

    • Brian, welcome to the blog site. Sure scripture can be helpful, but ultimately it is the witness of the Holy Spirit that matters. God’s speaking is not limited to the bible.

      • Thank you. Please do note that I didn’t say God’s voice was limited, but my experience has shown me that presumptuous people (NOT saying this is you) sometimes attribute to God stuff made up out of thin air — or out of bad or wispy theology. I prefer to orient myself firmly to scripture: its witness, treated contextually and responsibly, is more reliable than human perception of God’s voice. Now, with that said, when I feel a nudge that I think might be God speaking *and* it aligns with scripture, I probably ought to act on it. 🙂 https://blcasey.wordpress.com/

      • I hear you Brian, and basically agree. HOwever, human perception can get in the way of the proper way of interpreting scripture too. There is scriptural record of The Lord telling someone to violate what is Written too….like where HE directly told Peter to kill and eat what scripture had previously forbidden.

      • Absolutely, I’ve seen much more bad scripture interpretation than presumption in asserting this or that was “God’s voice.” I remain committed to responsible use of scriptures, and sadly, this makes me pretty lonely whenever I visit an established church. I’m sure you understand. Thanks for the brief dialogue here. https://blcasey.wordpress.com/category/scriptureexegesis/

      • Sure, I understand Brian. Stop by anytime for productive dialogue?

Leave a Reply

