Skip to content

How Far Is Too Far?

May 16, 2017

Greetings,

“Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.”  2nd Corinthians 3: 17

Nearly six years ago when I was praying and seeking the Lord concerning the possibility of starting this blog, Jesus showed me several objectives.  The one I want to talk about today is freedom.  This blog is supposed to be a free and open place where non-traditional followers of Jesus can share the things the Lord has been showing them.  In large part I feel we have accomplished that goal.

However, today I am once again in the process of being rebuked by some who feel I have allowed too much freedom these past several years.  Words like heresy and false teaching are being used.  Some people say that by allowing different unorthodox comments and posts concerning the validity of certain parts of scripture…. and other “church” practices, that I am somehow endorsing and promoting gross error.  As always, with everyone, I will prayerfully consider what is being presented to me as my sin.  If the Lord convicts me of said sin I will then surely repent. However, right now I do not see things that way.  I have also been told by one to reject, avoid, and break fellowship with one of the people who has shared  difficult, unorthodox series of comments here in times past.

I will not break fellowship with anyone unless the Lord, Himself directs me to do so.  I am totally serious about my relationship with Jesus and those who follow Him.  Rejecting someone on the basis of several internet comments on a blog that was designed to foster dialogue concerning difficult problems in the Church today is not at all the way of Christ or HIS Body.

Just where are we supposed to talk about what scripture really says about true “church” leadership or ANYTHING else?  Some are fortunate enough to have fellowships free and open enough to handle such discussions, but the sad fact is that in most “churches” you would be condemned and judged for even questioning what scripture really says.  I firmly believe that the best way to deal with real or imagined heresy or error is to get it out into the open and expose it to the Light.  Then dialogue over it until some point of agreement can be made, even if that agreement is to end the discussion and possibly part ways for the time being.  Some say I am too “harsh” or “extreme” in my views and commentary on the sad state of the traditional/institutional “church” system, and too “free” and “open” where it comes to free and open, Spirit led fellowship.

Well, here we are now all out in the open.  I now willingly and publicly ask for your accountability in this matter.  To anyone who reads and follows this blog:  Do I allow things to go too far?  Have I sinned by giving questionable theology some free air time?  Or does all of our theology need to be questioned and pushed to the limits at times?  I say QUESTION AND TEST EVERYTHING!  GOD IS MORE THAN BIG ENOUGH TO HANDLE IT!  If Luther and the other so called reformers did not question the church and its theology we might all still be Roman Catholics.  What does everyone have to say?  Please encourage or rebuke me with all authority?  I give you all free permission.  Please be free and share whatever you feel led to?

Love and …..

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

12 Comments
  1. I certainly have not had any issue with your articles. You have gone a route that is going to be upsetting to the traditional church member, but that does not mean you are wrong. Keep up the good work and always respond to your critics in love.

    • Thank you for that confirmation and encouragement my brother. It means a lot to me.

  2. "BK" permalink

    You are in good company, Christopher….Jesus was called all sorts of things for His ‘heretical’ speaking; as was Paul. You are correct. The Spirit is able to sort out and bring to light error. Even error in other things than leadership and organized religion. He is God and He CAN handle it! I say go ahead and put thoughts on the table and let each one judge by agreement, question or disagreement….then see where the waters of life issue in it all. Love, “BK”

    • Thank you for sharing that BK. We are actually supposed to work these things out on the threshing floor. I say that is a great way to do it too.

  3. Sue heumann permalink

    Ci totally agree with BK, Christopher. I’ve appreciated the way I’ve seen u handle all sorts of comments. There aren’t too many places to go and read free and open ideas people have. I find it refreshing. We are all on our journey learning, and I’m sure many eyes are opened on your site. Keep doing it all in love and truth and I think all will be well.

  4. tom ball permalink

    I am aware of no other source which is so open to honest discussion of theological matters. Obviously I do not completely agree with this blogs traditional-church-worship-format-is-bad theme, but I have never, not once, felt anything other than courteous acceptance of my observations about that matter, even though they are disagreed with. You are doing good, Chris, according to the life experiences you’ve had, and the light God is giving you. Straight ahead!

    • Wow, thank you Tom. Your portion of the Truth in Love is always welcome here. We need each other in the Body of Christ for balance and mutual edification.

  5. Judy Baker permalink

    Like everyone … we expect to be berated put down ridiculed and judged according to their standards or what they believe. A discussion with references to scriptures is how we all learn. Negativity is not needed .
    We will always have discontent with the world. We do not belong to the world. Thank God for Jesus !!!!!!

    • Very true Judy. My citizenship is in heaven. I am in the world, but NOT of the world. Some people are afraid of the Truth and some never question any type of authority. I am fearless because I know His perfect Love.

  6. daryl permalink

    Paul did give some instruction in several places concerning our not associating with fellow believers(never unbelievers), who were not living right(2 Thess. 3:6,14,1 Cor.5:9-12)…yet we should always examine ourselves,our own hearts,and have the love of Christ with the assurance of the Spirit’s leading in such situations.It should not be something we are “quick” to do,in fact in those rare instances where we might dis-fellowship, it should cause us pain,and be very reluctant. As Peter wrote, “above all,love each other deeply,because love covers over a multitude of sins”(1 Pet.4:8).

Leave a Reply

