Skip to content

Another Trip To Babylon

May 8, 2017

This blog post is about four years old, but it felt right to post it here again today.  It represents my last visit behind Spiritual bars and walls.

Greetings,

“……to open eyes that are blind, to free captives from prison and to release from the dungeon those who sit in darkness.”  Isaiah 42:7

Sunday morning I visited Babylon (the traditional/institutional “church” system) again.  The woman I have been seeing for over a month wanted me to meet some of her friends.  She came to home fellowship here last week.  So it was only fair that I went with her this week.

I have to say I was pleasantly surprised.  It was a non-denominational “Bible” “Church” of about 200 members.  Turns out that one of their associate pastors was a professor at the “Christian” college I graduated from 28 years ago.  We attended the 9 am service and the adult Sunday School class at 10:30 am.  True to their name they handled the bible very well and I could not find any gross errors in the sermon or the class.

The Pastor shared about Jesus walking on the water and calming the storm.  His main point was that we all must face storms in our lives, but the storms serve the purpose of drawing us closer to the Lord if we choose to endure.  The Sunday school teacher shared about different kings in the book of Isaiah.  Sunday school was somewhat interactive, allowing for comments and questions; but still tightly scripted and controlled.  The sermon was a typical monologue, but was casually delivered with a touch of humor.

So overall I had a pleasant time there and the people were extremely friendly and welcoming.  However, it still did not sit right in my Spirit and I left there feeling sorry for all who attend there regularly.  Like I said it was pleasant and nice, but it still was not total freedom in Christ.  It just wasn’t real, it was a stage show.  Even with all the positive attributes it was still a prison and HIS people were being held in captivity.

Sure it was a low security prison with free designer coffee, fresh doughnuts, and comfortable cushioned seats: but it was still a prison none the less.  The people there were not free to use their priesthood and God-given gifts to bless Christ and the other members of the Body.  It was still a one man show, even though the man was gifted, friendly and entertaining.  The Lord showed me that this “church” was like a zoo.  All the animals there were well fed and cared for, but at what cost?  They were still being denied their best natural/supernatural habitat because they were not allowed to be totally free and open.  There were no locks on the doors, but this place was still a cage.

People have told me in the past to be happy for those who are happy in their current “church” situation.  However, I am not happy…in fact I wept greatly and was filled with much sorrow when I got back home.  Even though they had a nice and gifted Clergyman, the Clergy/Laity division was still solidly in place.  There was no true freedom in worship there.  The gifts of the many were held down while the gift of the one was elevated and given total preeminence.  Some will still say to me …look at how happy the animals are?  I say blindman it’s a cage!

Love and…….

Kirk Out !

P.s.  I really don’t believe that I am meant to be single the rest of my life, but it is very difficult to find a Godly woman without Babylonian baggage or ties.  I would deeply appreciate your prayers in this matter?  Better yet, just send me contact info for your single, Spirit led, female friends?  LOL!

 

 

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. Hi Christopher,

    I attend my wife’s church when she goes. I find it a lot like you describe. It seems as if they have blinders on or want to stay babies-needing milk fed through a bottle rather than doing and being in their (super)natural environment. On top of this, there is much error taught so it’s a constant winnowing process of sifting and sorting besides the clergy/laity divide that exists so strongly.

    Blessings, bro,

    Win

    • When I visit Babylon, which is not often, I am reminded of the Wizard of Oz. Like pay no attention to that man behind the curtain/pulpit. I want so bad to free those enduring comfortable bondage in Babylon, but you can’t push, pull or drag them towards true fellowship/OZ. THey have all fallen asleep due to the poppy’s and all we can is pray for snow so they can awaken to the truth in love and escape.

  2. Judy Baker permalink

    I lost my comment when I hit something on this phone …it goes all over the place. It makes me so upset . My thoughts were of Babylon, The center of false religion. She is represented by the harlot sitting on top of the seventh headed beast committing fornication with the kings of the earth. Rev 17:1-6. Then Rev 18:1-4 says get out of her my people if you do not want to share with her in her cents and if you do not want to receive part of her plagues. Isaiah 52:11says turn away get out of there touch nothing unclean,keep yourself clean. …. so check the churches and see how unclean they are …from their doctrine pagan holidays and not obeying God’s commandments.

    • Judy Baker permalink

      It’s not cents – sin
      It’s my southern accent I’ve acquired since living in the south 50 years . I’m really from all the US States as growing up there. Lol

      • Thanks for the clarification Judy. Like you I grew up everywhere.

    • Thanks for sharing your portion Judy. It does say that the Lord’s people are in Babylon and they need to come out of her. The system of “men” is the problem and sincere followers of Jesus need to escape that foul system.

  3. Sue heumann permalink

    All I can say is this is the world we live in. Wish I knew some single for you!! None that aren’t in ‘Babylon’!!

    • I hear you Sue, but the Church shouldn’t operate like the world does. It is all so very sad to think about.

Leave a Reply

