Skip to content

Only The Spirit Of Christ Gives Life

May 4, 2017

Greetings,

Jesus said:

“I have testimony weightier than that of John. For the very work that the Father has given me to finish, and which I am doing, testifies that the Father has sent me. And the Father who sent me has Himself testified concerning me. You have never heard His voice nor seen His form, nor does His word dwell in you, for you do not believe the one He sent. You diligently study the Scriptures because you think that by them you possess eternal life. These are the Scriptures that testify about me, yet you refuse to come to me to have life.” John : 5: 36-40

The simple fact is that knowing and studying the scriptures and being able to quote and use them in sermons, discussions, or arguments proves absolutely nothing. You can know the whole entire bible from cover to cover and still not know or recognize Jesus for who He really is. Knowledge of the book does not automatically equate that you will know the truth in love either.

Jesus also said:

“I have much more to say to you, more than you can now bear. But when He the Spirit of truth, comes, He will guide you into all truth. He will not speak on His own; He will speak only what He hears, and He will tell you what is yet to come.” John 16: 12-13

Do you want to know the Truth in Love?  If you do you will need to yield and submit to the Holy Spirit and follow His leading and teaching. The bible is not our teacher, the Spirit is! This is why I continually say that the Body of Christ is to be Spirit led, NOT bible led. I have known a lot of people who thought they knew the bible, but had not Christ. However, in reality they did not really know what the scriptures actually meant because they did not have the Spirit to guide them through the text. They knew every letter on every page, but there was no life in it; no Truth, no Love.

I have also known others who could barely read, but still knew more about the Lord and His truth in love than all the scholars did. They knew because they surrendered to the leading of the Holy Spirit. Knowing God has nothing to do with intellect and the amount one reads or studies. If you love Him, you will obey Him and what He has told us to do according to the Spirit and the Word..is to follow the leading and teaching of His Spirit; in every single area of our lives.

The Spirit is superior to the bible in every way. The voice of the Spirit is greater than the printed words contained in the bible. If you desire life you will allow yourself to be filled with the Spirit and then listen to His voice over and above all that is written about Him in the book. In fact it is best not to even pick up the book unless He is leading you to it. Without the anointing of the Spirit the pages of the book are just dead letter……And the letter kills, but the Spirit gives life.

To be totally honest I read the bible a lot; more than about anyone else that I know. I wear them out from cover to cover. However, I only read when and where He leads me.  I am not anti-bible in any sense, but I refuse to elevate the bible to a place equal to, or greater than the Father, Son, or Spirit. And when someone says that the bible is the Sole Authority in matters of faith and practice, I cringe because that means they have demoted and stripped God Himself of that role and given it to a mere book. To take the created thing, the bible, and make it as great or greater than the Creator is nothing short of idolatry. I love to read the bible, but I realize it is only Christ that gives us eternal life, Truth and Love.

Love and….

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

26 Comments
  1. Hi Christopher,

    I have been puzzling for the past couple of years over this very issue, specifically, not being led to “study” or “read” the bible. I have spent hours in both for many years, but this kind of study has faded to a bare minimum. Now, a text will open to me or someone will say something which will trigger a memory of a verse. It feels very hit-and-miss to me. Yet, when I read your post, it confirms to me that He has me on the right track.

    Thanks for the illumination, brother,

    Win

    • Wow Win, I am just sharing what Jesus has been teaching me for 51 years. It is a blessing to know it resonates with others along the way. You encourage me Win. Thank you my brother.

  2. Swiss Hart permalink

    Love you, brother

  3. daryl permalink

    Yes, bible study should never be a drudgery,something we force ourselves to do,or others.Many of us have the habit of a certain time we read,meditate, pray,etc….and that absolutely can be a good thing,but it can turn into a negative where we feel guilty if we don’t,”righteous” or superior if we do,and we lose track of WHY we are doing what we do in the first place.Without realizing it we are actually just feeding our flesh. All of us are different too,in different circumstances,different stages in life,maturity,etc.,and only the Holy Spirit could possibly know all that and teach each one of us,just what we need at any particular moment.

    • Yes daryl! That is what I am talking about. We need to be led and taught by the Holy Spirit moment by moment.

  4. Not by might, not by power but only the Holy Spirit. 😇

  5. daryl permalink

    I do have other questions concerning the passage in John 16 that i would enjoy hearing what others think. I have always felt that many times Jesus said things to the disciples meant just for them,written down for us,but not intended that all believers for all time apply it to themselves.For instance,when Jesus told the disciples to go to all nations and make disciples,preachers will commonly call that the great commission and that’s the mission of the Church and we should all be about missions and evangelizing. Yet I feel that was only a direct word for the disciples and to whomever the Spirit today would so lead…not every christian. Nothing is worse than people trying to “witness” or evangelize who do not have that gift(I believe all believers are ambassadors for Christ,representing him,and how we do that is a witness). But concerning John 16, do you think the truth he was going to guide them into was something just for them or all of us?He also said he would tell them what is yet to come.Was he referring to prophecy that was written down and all of us have,or was it more than that,something specific and we really don’t know about? sorry if all that is unclear and by the way I know we don’t need anyone to teach us as the Holy Spirit can and he would never lead us into untruth.

    • daryl, I beleive all followers of Jesus are called to help disciple others and bear good fruit wherever we may be. For most of us that is our locality, but for some it may also be other lands. Depending on the times and seasons of our individual lives.

  6. "BK" permalink

    I still remember the day I walked out my long driveway asking God, “What happened??? People ask me if I can quote the whole Bible….my teaching is loved & respected throughout the United States [in the group I was in] and I am welcome to help establish those in the faith [OUR ‘faith’], my songs are sung all over the world. But somehow in the midst of all this I lost YOU. I’m just so confused.” That began a change of journey that was excruciatingly painful (within and without) but for which I have never been sorry. Win, I also no longer spent those long hours studying from Genesis to Revelation, but finding a spark of understanding here and one there as the Spirit illuminated something my vast teaching never did. Like you, Christopher, I still love reading the Bible and watching the pages come alive in His Spirit but I no longer equate it to THE authority about God. I’ve been disfellowshipped and had minor physical harm over by those who shut down when they know I feel that way, not listening to anything else I have to say. But it’s all good and it’s all worth it. Daryl, I appreciate your balance. Love, “BK”

  7. "BK" permalink

    Our feet have walked together through alot on this journey, Christopher. I am glad it has been ‘together’. Love you so much, “BK”

  8. Rich Chamberlin permalink

    Amen that’s how it works – for the few able to receive him. Can we help others ( as apostles did) to ” see him and know him ,” so be able to receive him?

    • Yes Rich, we help others by sharing the Truth in Love by living the Truth in Love. Our life speaks louder than mere words.

      • Rich Chamberlin permalink

        but also be prepared to use words ” when necessary, lol Think we got that down!

      • Absolutely Rich! LOL

  9. Judy Baker permalink

    I believe every thing you wrote . Without the spirit we would not understand the meaning of Gods word the Bible. Jesus said it was not meant for certain people to get the meaning of what he said. So only the ones God chooses will receive the Holy Spirit. I believe Jesus is separating the sheep from the goats .,
    I was so tired I fell asleep writing this. Hope you understand what I mean .
    Yes the Holy Spirit Jehovah Jesus are all above the Bible.

    • Judy, thank you for that affirmation. I hope you get the rest you need today. I believe the Holy Spirit is available to all, but it has always been a matter of whosoever will. So some choose to reject Him in this life.

  10. "BK" permalink

    This is a test…..hoping the glitches got worked out! Love, “BK”

  11. Dan permalink

    It’s interesting that you wrote on this topic. Just a few days ago I tweeted:

    “Scripture is a razor edge blade that can cut others (and ourselves) to ribbons.The hand, and heart, that wields it must be Spirit-saturated!”

    I agree, that while man cannot live by bread alone but by every word that proceeds from the mouth of God, we can harm ourselves (and others) with the “letter that kills” if we are not Holy Spirit saturated and led when we read it or minister out of it to others.

    • Wow Dan, that just serves to prove we are saturated with the same Spirit. THank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

