Skip to content

On Struggles And Trials

April 26, 2017

Greetings,

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ!  In His great mercy He has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, and into an inheritance that can never perish, spoil or fade-kept in heaven for you, who through faith are shielded by God’s power until the coming of the salvation that is ready to be revealed in the last time.  In this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials.  These have come so that your faith-of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire-may be proved genuine and may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed.”  1 Peter 1: 3-7

Wow, those are very encouraging words.  Just to know we are shielded by God’s power as we walk through this life is amazing.  We need to rejoice in that fact, but even though we are shielded we still will suffer grief in all kinds of trials.  There is no free pass in this life, even if we are serving Jesus we will be tested and tried.

Light afflictions, momentary troubles and worse, sometimes come to everyone in this world. However, these difficulties are used to work within us a great eternal glory.  The key is in how we choose to walk when confronted with adversity.  It is best when we choose to walk THROUGH problems, flood and fire, etc, instead of trying to avoid negative things by going around them.  If God is with us, shielding us, it does not matter what we are up against.  I am certain that the Lord wants us to keep moving forward and to never look back while in the midst of struggles and trials.

The Lord uses these trials to prove our faith and determine whether or not we are genuine and true in all things that we may face.  It is a privilege to be tried in such a manner and it proves once again that we are His sons and daughters.  This builds our faith and trust because we know He will never leave or forsake us.  No trial is too difficult….  No mountain too high….  No river too wide…. No conflict too great….  If we walk in the Spirit He will always be with us, every step of the way, and in Jesus we will always be more than conquerors.  I have learned this lesson well first hand over the last 18 years of struggling with PTSD and related flashbacks of childhood rapes and sexual, emotional, physical and verbal abuse.  I have walked through the valley of the shadow of death and with the Lord’s help I have fought my way clear to freedom on the other side of my affliction, problems and difficulties.  Plus, I have been gifted with remarkable friends who I share intimate, relational, totally free & open, Spirit led fellowship with both in person and online.  Their prayers and support have been invaluable to me.

So the next time you find yourself up against a problem…remember it is not about the size of the obstacle… it is about Christ in you being able to overcome any trial or test.  When I am confronted with a problem in my life, I no longer try to avoid it.  Now I just lift up my head and pray “Let’s go for it Jesus!”  Sometimes I have disappointed myself, but I have NEVER been disappointed by the Lord.  When I surrender and allow Him to carry me through amazing things happen, but when I try to go for it on my own nothing good happens.  When I am weak, HE is strong.  Today I choose His strength over and above any of my own personal attributes.  Because of that today is going to be a very good day.

Love and…….

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

17 Comments
  1. Pam Smith permalink

    Great encouragement.

  2. Sue heumann permalink

    Ditto! (I’ve written twice and they disappeared, let’s see if this one Will stay this morning! ) I love the strength that .jesus gives Thru trials! It’s amazing to just begin walking thru them and see the Lord lift you to the place where you not get burned, but know his protection thru the fire. Looking back, unsure of ‘how’ we got thru, we just know we weren’t alone and Jesus was there making it happen.

    • Yes Sue! Jesus is our ever present hope and help in time of need. Jesus is so AWESOME!

  3. James permalink

    You therefore must endure hardship as a good soldier of Jesus Christ. No one engaged in warfare entangles himself with the affairs of this life, that he may please him who enlisted him as a soldier. 2 Tim 2: 3-4. And not only that, but we also glory in tribulations, knowing that tribulation produces perseverance; and perseverance, character; and character, hope. Romans 5: 3-4. Therefore we do not lose heart. Even though our outward man is perishing, yet the inward man is being renewed day by day. For or light affliction, which is but for a moment, is working for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory, while we do not look at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen. For the things which are seen are temporary, but the things which are not seen are eternal. 2 Cor 4: 16-18. There are many scriptures on the hardships of this life that true disciples will face; but we can rejoice, because our Father gives us the power through His Holy Spirit to go through them with the Authority Jesus gave us and we bring Him glory by how we handle these hardships and set backs. I encourage you to continue to fight the good fight of faith walking in holiness according to His word without compromising!

    • Thank you for the encouragement James. AS I walk in the Spirit of CHrist HE empowers me to walk thoroughly upright and in HIS Holiness.

  4. Amen brother!

  5. Judy Baker permalink

    AMEN !!
    Who has not gone through trials ?
    When we are weak, He is strong ! So true!!
    If it wasn’t for trials , I would not have found the True God…and Jesus’ Holy Spirit.
    I thank Jehovah God for the gigantic rocks in my path ..it was then when I really searched for God to find out what I did to deserve so much heartache that I really got to know him . I was so sorry for whatever I did as I am not perfect nor is anyone else.
    An angel or Jesus appeared before me late one night in a bright light to heal my broken heart and said “Why are you crying? Don’t cry. You are not alone . I will never leave you nor forsake you. Then he walked closer to me and repeated those words. I was so scared at first lying on my stomach with my hands on my face ..I peeked through my fingers to see who was there ..I even pinched myself to see if I was dreaming . He had sandals on and a white covering with a rope belt that covered his knees. He was so gentle and talked softly. I’ll never forget it to this day. Then he walked slowly back into the bright light and disappeared down the hallway. I never told anyone for years. I knew they would not believe it. I I did not want them to make fun of or disregard this encounter. I continued to study the Bible. I always knew Jesus was real from a child. No one could ever take that away.
    I knew God lets us learn thru trials … JESUS helps us if only we sincerely ask ..the word of God is a.covering protection . To walk with Jesus is awesome and to see his knowledge power justice and love in action ..is remarkable. Miracles I have seen …through Jesus’ Holy Spirit.

    I

    • Thank you for sharing that testimony Judy. I will never forget the dozen or so times Jesus appeared to me. I am not ashamed or afraid to share about them either. Jesus is REAL!

      • Judy Baker permalink

        Yes He is as real as you and I . His love for mankind is beyond awesome. . He wants us to come to him . There is no life without Him ! I am so humbled by Him and His Father .. to think they want a relationship with me…and everyone on earth…. thank you for sharing just what we need .

      • Right on Judy! Right on!

  6. Sue heumann permalink

    My heart is warmed (on a cold wintry spring day) to hear what u and Judy have gone through…and have come out shining with Jesus👏😘

    • Thank you Sue. What a wonderful example of what The Holy Spirit can do when everyone is allowed and encouraged to share their story with the rest of the Body of Christ in fellowship.

  7. Sue heumann permalink

    Amen and amen

  8. "BK" permalink

    Once again we have all been on the same page. My daughter, Arlie, was just sharing yesterday of coming through trials and told of a dream she once had of a HUGE storm coming. She was helping people into a shelter but when it was full she closed the door to those inside to keep them safe and then started calling to the others, “Get in the center! Get in the center!” She said that is where she found the calm in the storm. Another brother once shared about him seeing himself going into a storm SO AFRAID, but when he got to the center he found the Calm that gave him the strength to walk the rest of the way through. I never forgot that. And I remind myself at times of Psa 50:3 where it says of the Lord, “it is very tempestuous round about Him….”. Yep, I found it to be so! Great and encouraging words everyone. A blessing to read the fellowship, love, “BK”

Leave a Reply

