Skip to content

The Absolute Critical Need For Unlearning

April 18, 2017

Greetings,

“So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live in Him, rooted and built up in Him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.  See to it that no one takes you captive through hollow and deceptive philosophy, which depends on human tradition and the basic principals of this world rather than on Christ.”  Colossians 2: 6-8

The passage above makes all sorts of sense, assuming that you were taught the truth in love to begin with……  But what happens when you are taught wrong instead of right?  What if from your infancy in Christ you were taught hollow and deceptive philosophy, human tradition, and the basic principals of the world instead of the real truth in love?  I will tell you what happens….you end up with much of what the modern “church” is today.  You end up with a “church” full of ineffectual Christians who tend to do more damage to the image of Christ than they do good in His name.

Harsh and controversial words I know, but I speak them in love and out of a sincere desire to see The Body of Christ flourish instead of flounder.  The simple truth is that the modern traditional “church” does not act or look much like it should after 2000 years of following Jesus.  Because the church Jesus founded was based on relationships and not human hierarchies, organizational flow charts and programs.

The early church used its resources to reach out to unbelievers and take care of widows, orphans and the poor.  While the modern “church” spends the vast majority of its assets and great wealth on Clergy salaries, buildings, building funds and institutional maintenance.  When the church began there was no such thing as a separate class of believer called the Clergy.  In fact they practiced and taught that every follower of Jesus was a gifted and talented priest and they did not place Pastors on a platform over and above other saints.  The modern “church” model of Pastor as CEO or sole Leader of a congregation comes directly from the basic principals of the world and not Jesus.  The whole concept of leadership being totally male comes from human tradition and not Christ.  Jesus was totally inclusive of all who would believe, yet much of the modern “church” practices exclusivity where it comes to gender, race, sexual identity, and social class.  Sure on paper many claim to be open and accepting, but in practice there are tons of closed hearts and minds.  We have been taught to be judgmental instead of loving and accepting.  In today’s “church” homosexuality is the unforgivable sin, but greed and gluttony are just fine.  In today’s “church” “God hates Fags”, but the accurate truth is that God loves EVERYONE in spite of whatever sin they may be tangled in.

Somewhere the church lost her way and she embraced lies and error instead of the truth in love.  Friends examine yourselves and rid yourselves of error.  Many times we were taught and learned falsehoods.  We utterly need to unlearn many things that we have been taught.  I have talked to numerous educators over the years and they all agree that UNLEARNING is tremendously more difficult than learning was in the first place.  We all need to shine the Light of Truth into the shadowy corners of our theologies and then get down on our knees to weed out everything that does not measure up to HIS truth in love.   The Spirit of Truth is calling out to the church, but when will we listen, learn and act as we should in Christ?

Love and ……

Kirk Out !

P.s. I wrote this post as a person who was born, raised and reborn all outside of any traditional religion.  However, Jesus came to me when I was 4 years old and HE has been guiding me ever since.  I never saw or read a bible until I was 11 years old after the Gideon’s came to my school and gave me one.  Then everything I read in there only confirmed what Jesus had been teaching me all along.  At age 12 I began trying to find a church that followed Christ’s leading and teachings, but I could not find a single one.  At 16 I discovered home based, relationship focused fellowships and I have been deeply involved in them ever since.  I have tried to reach out and be involved in several other more “traditional” “churches” in the last 30 years as the Spirit led me, but it never took very long to realize that I was beating my head against a prison wall that would never give full way to HIS truth in love.  So here I make my stand fully outside of any religious camp with arms open wide to whosoever will, telling anyone who cares to listen that true Spirit led, relational fellowship in Christ is a VERY real possibility for anyone willing to forsake all they have learned from any portion of Babylon.  Christ stands at the door of your heart and knocks.  All you have to do is let Him in, then let go and start the process of surrendering any falsehoods you have come to believe from institutional Christianity.  Home is where the heart is, and the church should be!

 

 

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

12 Comments
  1. Sue heumann permalink

    Right on point. What more can I say? Praying for our continual unlearning and that I remember what I’m learning new….a bit harder at this age than at a young age!! But I’m continually impressed and amazed at our Father and his true ways now that I’ve experienced the traditional ways of church and ‘living for him’!! Spirit led everything is much more fulfilling, exciting, and abundant living!

    • Right Sue, being Spirit led moment by moment 24/7 is much more rewarding than going to “church” 11 O’clock Sharp and leaving at 12 pm dull.

    • "BK" permalink

      I know what you mean about ‘getting older’, Sue! I look at it like the adverstisement for Prego….”it’s in there!” and then trust that He can bring ‘it’ out as needed! If it depended on my once excellent memory it would be disappointing! 🙂 “BK”

  2. Thanks for the powerful reminder. As you said, deconstructing error is difficult and most people resist it. But as Sue said above, the freedom and blessings to be gained from pursuing the truth are immeasurable!

    • Norm, thank you for that word of confirmation and affirmation. Without HIM we are nothing!

  3. James permalink

    We must walk in the full truth of God’s Word in holiness without compromise. We must walk in love, but love does not rejoice in iniquity, sin in not o.k. We are called to Repent and walk as disciples in true love. There are many traditions that are wrong and the church should not be run as a business. We are to bring Glory to God by walking in His uncompromising love; go and sin no more.

    • James, I agree with what you have shared here as long as the Truth in Love is received and applied with HIS unfailing Grace and Mercy too.

    • "BK" permalink

      Hi, James. I have to confess I don’t always walk in the full truth of God’s Word in holiness without compromise. But I can confess this, that when I do miss it (sin) I have this wonderful Advocate Who makes it possible for me to recover and walk on without condemnation. I’ve had to change the ‘must do’s” to “I get to’s” as the concept of having to didn’t seem to work too well for me. We all perceive and respond to things differently so I realize others can see those words without the tinge of law and defeat. My experience is that as I go, I walk out of the condition of sin and find myself not only ‘sinning no more’ but not wanting to either. Thank you for the reminder of how wonderful our salvation is and not to be taken lightly. Love, “BK”

  4. Judy Baker permalink

    I’m happy to see many learning and applying what they learned from Jesus instead of going to church for an hour or 2 listening to a paid preacher and putting money in the plate feeling good singing a couple songs and going home and live in the world following the Pied Piper.
    It’s when you take a part and offer yourself to JESUS saying “Here I am Lord ! Send me. Send me.”
    We will never be perfect or learn everything but we can give what we have to follow Jesus and help others to learn the truth in the Bible

    • I hear you Judy. Most people Go to “church” 11 O’clock sharp and leave at 12 O’clock dull. We need mutual sharpening in the Body..as iron sharpens iron so one “man” sharpens another.

Leave a Reply

