Skip to content

The Joy Of Simply BEING

March 27, 2017

Greetings,

Jesus said:

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”  Matthew 11: 28

The older I get the more I really appreciate the rest and times of pause that the Lord grants us.  I need to be reminded at times to just slow down and enjoy HIS presence.  The world and the traditional “church” system is always pushing us to go, go, go, and do, do, do.  If we live at the breakneck pace that the world pushes on us it can be exhausting and burdensome.  Jesus wants us to slow down and simply BE the church, instead of always having to DO church-like things and activities.

True Spirituality is about BEING in Christ and not about DOING things in Christ’s name.  We need to rest in Him and not be concerned about building ANYthing for Him.  There is no such thing as Kingdom building in the true church.  The Lord’s Kingdom already is built and prepared by Him and nothing we can DO can add to that fact.  We just need to enter into His rest and bear fruit by BEING in Him and not try to manufacture fruit by DOING things for Him. True fruit is borne and it nourishes, while wax fruit is MANufactured, tastes bad and has no nutritional value for anyone.

Jesus applies zero pressure upon us to perform, produce and make things happen.  No, we are to abide in Him, and by simply BEING in Him the true fruit of the Spirit will be born through us. Trying to make things, even Godly things, happen is counter-productive.

Did you ever notice how often the word “Selah” occurs in the Psalms?  It is in there a lot, and it means to pause, be refreshed and reflect.  It is about BEING still and knowing HE is God.  After all He created us to BE human Beings and NOT human’s doing.  HE who began a good work in us will complete it.  It is not about us DOING anything except surrendering and allowing Jesus to do good and excellent things in and through us.  ”The one who calls you is faithful and He will do it.”

Tomorrow I am going to hang out and chill with some other like minded believers.  I have no agenda whatsoever and I do not know what I am going to say or do when we gather.  I trust that Christ in me will take care of all that, and it should be that way in all of my life’s interactions. There is no need to stress and prepare whatever words or actions I may bring to any gathering or situation.  If I surrender to and abide in Him, His truth in love will just flow through me and accomplish whatever He intends to accomplish.  It is not my role or job to DO anything, except BE in The Spirit at all times.  Like my tee-shirts say, “Don’t Go To Church…BE The Church !”  We all need to stop striving and start BEING.  At least that is what is on my heart and mind today.

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

10 Comments
  1. My Dear Brother,

    Your sentence, “He created us to BE human Beings and NOT human’s doing,” should be written on everyone’s forehead! How is it that we have come to believe or at least act as if, God wants work out of us-slaves? He who speaks and it is, does not need worker ants, He wants fellowship, camaraderie. He’d rather sit at a table with us for three hours than have five minutes of work from us. This is a hard lesson to learn, though, for so many.

    Thanks for reminding me again of His priorities.

    Blessings,

    Win

    • You’re welcome Win and thank you for adding your portion of the Truth in Love to this important message.

  2. Judy Baker permalink

    We all need a closer relationship with Jehovah and Jesus …we are created imperfect from birth and the world is full of sin. So more time is needed in fellowship with Jesus…I agree. I like the early morning hour to spend alone with him. It’s a great start to a great day. Also I keep my thoughts and prayer to him all day long ….I cannot do a thing without him . Nice to see other people do the same thing..

    • It’s true Judy….without Him we can do nothing. I like the hymn, “Just A Closer Walk With Thee.” I NEED Jesus. So all day long I choose HIM over and over and over and over again, and try to avoid distractions.

  3. tom ball permalink

    There is a slim paperback book titled “The Tyranny of the Urgent” which discusses this very topic. More Being… less Doing. Works for me..

    • Thanks for adding to our positive conversation here Tom. Sounds like a good little book.

  4. Sue heumann permalink

    i think all my life I’ve sensed pressure to ‘do’ and not necessarily ‘be’. It’s a reversal that takes detoxing and remaking. Thankfully there are those out there the Lord has provided to aid in these steps. Thanks for being those kind of people on this blog……
    We need one another! A great ride and Journey though difficult, and it’s great to not have to walk alone! Let’s BE his church, body, ekklesia, not Do church. Done.✔️
    Remake, renew, refresh, and revamp me Lord!

    • Sue, it is my great pleasure to be on this journey with you my dear sister. YOu are a grand benefit to HIS Body and I appreciate you so very much.

  5. "BK" permalink

    Christopher, what really caught my interest in this (besides the wonderful blog itself!) is that the Lord gave me the same scripture the same night while we were in Salt Lake City to share in the morning with the saints there. The emphasis there was that we are always faced with ‘solutions’ to help us with our stress (usually some kind of pill or another) and Jesus invites us to come to Him and learn from Him to counteract all this unrest….and just BE. Be in Him Who He intended and created us to be. So cool to have the same verses at the same time. Again the ‘blood’ of His Body flows throughout! And yes, so excellent to walk it WITH all of you. Love, “BK”

    • Wow BK, that is amazing. That we can actually be in lockstep with each other while 1700 miles apart. The Spirit is REAL and so is our connection in HIM.

Leave a Reply

