Skip to content

All It Takes Is A Simple Turn

March 25, 2017

Greetings,

“Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus,.. Romans 8: 1

I quote this passage here today because I have some very dear friends who are very, very close to me that are having a whole lot of trouble walking in this simple truth.  They love Jesus, but are living in a perpetual state of self condemnation.  Because of this they feel they are unfit and unworthy to serve God or to be in relationship with those who are serving God.  This is exactly the lie that the enemy wants them to believe.

When we condemn ourselves for our shortcomings instead of receiving the grace that Christ’s sacrifice provided for all of us, we are playing God with our own lives and calling God a liar.  We are saying that the blood of Jesus did not fully cleanse us and that we know ourselves better than God does.  When we deny Christ in this manner it always leads us to be angry, hurt and resentful towards not only ourselves, but also towards God and others.

Whom the Son sets free is free indeed and we should not pass harsh judgment on ourselves and deny ourselves of His grace, mercy and love.  Sometimes I am very critical of myself and when I put myself in that frame of mind it always leads to me condemning me.  When I allow that mindset it also always leads me to withdraw from fellowship with others who are serving Christ.

Guilt and condemnation NEVER come from The Lord.  NEVER!  The only cure for self condemnation is to take our eyes off of ourselves and our shortcomings and to instead focus totally on Jesus and all He has done to set us free.  Then we must accept His unconditional love and grace, knowing full well that no one is worthy on our own merit and that we all need Him to be our Redeemer and Lord.

If you get anything out of this simple blog today let it be this:  NO matter how many steps we take away from The Lord, it is always only one small step back into His loving arms.  In fact less than a step, simply TURN slightly towards Him and He will embrace you with HIS Love, mercy and forgiveness.  He never leaves or forsakes us.  Not even when we choose to have a bad attitude concerning our own walk with Him.  It is by grace we are saved!  I know you give grace freely to others, but how about giving yourself some today?

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

22 Comments
  1. Sue heumann permalink

    I think I would be very hurt if someone chose not to take my gift to them. Surely this brings joy to both parties when a gift is received! Thank you, Jesus, for your precious gift of forgiveness and cleansing! May I, and we, continually show and offer this gift to others! And may they receive it gladly and never turn back!

    • Sue, thank you very much for sharing your gift with us here at this site. YOU are a grand blessing to us all sister.

  2. tom ball permalink

    Gospel truth in this blog post

    • Thank you for that confirmation Tom and I sincerely hope Gospel truth is found in all posts here.

  3. Dear Christopher,

    So very true! It is so easy to assume that a turning away makes the return an arduous journey with much effort and a great deal of huffing and puffing.

    Something that was recently opened to me is that, if God is omnipresent, that is, everywhere present, then we exist in a God soup. He is more present to me than any other being, more present to me than I am to myself, since He is even in the spaces between the cells of my body and within the very atoms that make up my cells. All creation is within Him. He is not separate from His creation. We need travel no distance to meet Him.

    Taking your point a step farther, not only is it a tiny turning to turn toward Him, we need not even do a “turn,” since all we need to do is change the focus of our attention to Him. I know this is what you meant, so am not correcting what you are saying, just emphasizing what you said.

    It’s a glorious truth that He desires us far more than we do Him. In fact, I believe that every turning toward Him is His nudging us in His direction, or, perhaps, His creating a vacuum which pulls us into the position where we face Him.

    Thanks for the post, as always, Christopher.

    Win

    • Wow Win! Thanks for sharing that…. Jesus is everywhere, including in us. There is no shadow of turning in HIM, HE always faces us and is the lifter of my head.

    • Win, that was a great reply. Thank you for sharing it! And to back up some of what you were saying, and emphasizing Christopher, I’d like to offer this:

      Romans 8:38-39 New International Version (NIV)

      38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,[a] neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

  4. I find that when I am reading scripture about the old Hebraic (sp?) Law, I tend to go downhill into self condemnation. The reason for that is simple: sin is sin. No tidying it up. Did I sin today? Yes. So by the Old Testament way of doing things, since I’m not Jewish, I may as well hang it up.
    But when I am reading the New Testament, I weep with overwhelming feelings of gratitude that God is a Merciful God, who sent His Only Son to die for ALL our sins. Mine too!

    I used to think it meant I just had to stay out of the Old Testament. I found out it means, for me anyway, that I need to remember I’m not Jewish! So when I read the O.T. I’m reading about a history of people I’m not at all associated with. The beauty is finding out that God isn’t as partial as I thought. He offers us the same complete Salvation as He offers the Jews. When it comes to salvation, we are all made equal and …

    ‘There is therefore now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus, who do not walk according to the flesh, but according to the Spirit.’ (Romans 8:1).

    • Thanks for sharing and welcome to the site “Nobody”. NEW Testament and NEW Covenant for us NEW Creations. Out with the Old in with the NEW.

  5. True. One does not put new wine into old wineskins, does one? 🙂 Thank you.

    • What is your name, because to me and HIM you are not a nobody? New skins and wine for me please?

      • The name is “nobodyz” meaning I am no one’s property, or “nobody’s”. I belong only to me and God. It was also a nickname I picked a long long time ago.

      • I understand my brother, no problem

      • It looks to me like you are posting as “oikoskrk” which doesn’t seem to be a name to me. However, it is the name you use here, and that is what I should use in respect to you.

      • My name is Christopher Kirk, but you call me anything except late for supper.

  6. Sue heumann permalink

    These posts really do help to change our focus, Win! Changing so quickly that it gets easier all the time to turn to Him. We know in His presence there is fullness of joy! Thanks for all the wonderful comments today!🙏😘

    • You most certainly have the gift of encouragement Sue. You are the best cheerleader I know and that is a very good thing.

  7. Judy Baker permalink

    So very true … am sure we all think we are not worthy…but JESUS offers to forgive us and forget all our sins . Yes it is by grace we are forgiven . Am amazing gift , accept it and truly follow Jesus …. it’s the only way …..❤️

  8. "BK" permalink

    Such a great post and comments! I spent much time in a group that quoted those verses in Romans saying, “nor any other creature [except me. I am the only creature that can separate me from the love of God.]…”. As I contemplated them one day driving down the freeway I came to that verse and did the usual adding of ‘except me’ when for the first time I heard the Spirit speak strongly, “It does not say that!” Huh? “It says NOR ANY OTHER CREATURE”. You are not big enough to separate yourself from Me.” I was absolutely shocked! Another HUGE blow to the killer of self condemnation. Great blog! Love, “BK”

Leave a Reply

