Skip to content

Rape, Kill, Pillage, And Burn!

March 23, 2017

Greetings,

“So I say live by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the sinful nature.  For the sinful nature desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the sinful nature.  They are in conflict with each other, so that you do not do what you want.  But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under law.  The acts of the sinful nature are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like.  I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God.”  Galatians 5: 16-21

As someone who has worked as an addictions and mental health counselor for over 27 years and also personally struggled with mental health issues (PTSD & Major Depression) for over 18 years; I can say this with confidence:  everyone is only like 3 seconds away from committing acts that can lead to being committed, jailed, institutionalized, or placed in a psychiatric unit.  Think it can’t happen to you?  Well, think again!  I know what irrational, “crazy”, sinful and illegal thoughts cross my mind on pretty much a daily basis.  And I know that if I entertain these thoughts for more than a few seconds I could rape, kill, pillage and burn with the worst of them.

Is that shocking?  I don’t think so.  I believe that everyone has fleeting thoughts that are irrational at best and criminal at worst.  What we do with these less than pure thoughts right when they hit us will help determine whether our course of action is controlled and Godly, or diabolical and evil.  What we do in the initial 3 seconds of having these thoughts will make all the difference in the world where it comes to our behavior.

The key is this:  “We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” ( 2 Corinthians 10: 5)  I know I use this scripture a lot, but it really applies to how we live our lives everyday.  When I allow the Holy Spirit to guide my every thought and action, I end up having much better days than if I ignore the Spirit’s leading.  When I surrender my heart and mind to HIM I am fully able to manage all my thoughts and make them obedient to Christ.

So 3 seconds, that does not give us a very wide margin for error does it?  However, His grace is always extended and He will help us every step of the way.  When we freely choose to actively manage our every thought with the Spirit’s guidance better things happen than when we try to go it alone.  Being Spiritually vigilant in all matters, and especially in our thought life, pays eternal dividends beyond what I am even able to imagine.  But, if keeping close track of my thoughts keeps me from sin, handcuffs, straight- jackets, prison, and psych units; I will gladly make that choice everyday.

Love and……

Kirk Out !

p.s.  I speak from real life experience.  I have been in psych units first as an employee, then years later as a patient.  It sure is odd being on the other end of the keys.

 

 

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

16 Comments
  1. Sue heumann permalink

    Amen for scripture that God has given to lead to the right course of action. Amen to the Holy Spirit leading in all areas of life. Amen to bro’s and Sis’s who comfort, encourage, exhort, bear one another’s burdens, etcetera……..God has given us tools. May we use them when tempted. Praising him for alternatives to bad choices. Three seconds. Wow. It can be enough….‼️🙏👍

  2. Judy Baker permalink

    Excellent advice …those with short tempers, filled with anger really need to think twice and apply the Bible’s message. This affects all people especially those in the family. People need to put the Bible on the end tables coffee tables nite stands read some and discuss what you have learned. Pray for HolySpirit to help you understand first. Arrange to have a Bible discussion at someone’s house and invite your friends and family .
    Jesus is real and loves us – forgives – ready to teach us the way to walk. On earth we will have many burdens … give them to Jesus and Trust in Him with all your heart. He will never leave or abandon us.

    • Yes Judy, Jesus is truly our Peace in the midst of the storms that affect our lives.

  3. Hi Christopher,

    Thanks for your posts, Christopher. They always challenge and inspire me.

    I agree, from long personal experience, I know the reality of “The heart is desperately wicked.” Though I never faced what you did and do, I know that I have been betrayed by myself so many times over my lifetime. I tried all kinds of things-psychiatrist, fasting, praying, going to church, being involved in church, getting up early and “spending time with God,” quoting scripture. I did the whole 100 yards. But it was an up-and-down experience Sometimes I rode the high of victory, but knew from experience, that I would crash and burn.

    When He introduced Himself to me, things changed. He came in an inner voice that said, “You believe in Jesus.” And, suddenly, in the midst of my very worst time, I did.

    Since then, resistance “works.” Now, speaking a scripture against my temptation makes the tempter flee. Sometimes I want to yield and find myself crashing once again, but that just keeps me humble and reliant on Him. Now I know that it is not me, but Him; not my effort but His victory.

    Recently, Romans 6:14 became alive for me: “Sin shall not be master over you, for you are not under law, but under grace.”

    To me, it says, “If you live under law, trying to keep commandments, then you are bound hand and foot by sin. If you live in the reality of grace, then you are free from the tyranny of sin. In fact, the whole of Romans 6 is that very freedom. In the past, I was living by law, even keeping the seventh-day as Sabbath. Only when He interrupted my life, turned it upside down, did my life change and freedom from sin became a reality. To the praise of His glorious grace which He lavished upon me in His Beloved. Amen!

    Blessings,

    win

    • Thanks Win, learning to live Loved and in HIS Grace moment by moment is what it’s all about.

  4. tom ball permalink

    What to do in those initial moments when we first notice the content of our negative thoughts? Instantly begin singing a hymn (silently if necessary, but out loud activates more sensory input). The music and verse content activate parts of the brain different from that part housing the negative thoughts. As we sing, that part of the brain sort of takes over and the negative thought subsides. Repeat as necessary.

    • Thanks for sharing Tom, you are right singing Spiritual songs does help redirect the mind in a positive way.

  5. "BK" permalink

    So excellent, Christopher. My testimony is as is yours and Win’s. I WAS a slave to sin & unrighteousness but now I truely have CHOICE. 3 seconds, amen. Love, “BK”

  6. Rich Chamberlin permalink

    I like your 3 second time frame! In my practical experience we can not control our thought ( take captive) until AFTER we are aware we have them, Then it is a quick process of accepting or rejecting, as nature of each thought is clear indicator of which of our natures it comes from, and choice is clear indicator of WHO is in charge. Not saying I am good at it, but practice makes perfect. God bless.

  7. Dan permalink

    When I am saturated with the Presence of the Holy Spirit, I find that I have a “longer fuse”. There is power far beyond my resources to resist the unthinkable when I am filled with Him and surrounded by Him. When I step out of that place of Spirit filling, watch out!! All bets are off! I like to start every morning by making sure my wife and I are filled up and then the same at bedtime. Through the day, snacks of His Presence maintain the power grid and keep the spiritual deflector shields up. For me, living by the presence and power of the Spirit does a far better job of putting down the fleshly desires than the utilization of law.

  8. Judy Baker permalink

    Mathew 4:10 Jesus said to him (devil) ” Go away Satan for it is written it is Jehovah your God you must worship and it is to him alone you must render sacred service.” Then the Devil left him.
    So when I hear thoughts in my head about “sin” I say “GO AWAY SATAN !”” And I say “YOU ARE A LIAR AND the father of the lie. ” John 8:44. The bad thoughts stop ..
    proverbs 18:10 The name of Jehovah is a strong tower . Into it the righteous one runs and receives protection. When I am afraid ..I say “Jehovah, please help me in Jesus name.” Out loud or in my mind.
    My grandmother taught me the Lord’s Prayer and a. child’s prayer …always praying through Jesus. When tempted say ” Get behind my back Satan . I belong to Jesus.” Thank God for grandmothers who teach small children as they never forget what they were taught ..Thank God for sending His Son to give his life as a ransom for all of us ….His HOLY SPIRIT TO GUIDE US …..

    • I thank God every day for placing my soon to be 95 year old “Aunt” Marie in my life. My Mom surrendered to Jesus when she was about 40, so Marie was the only Godly influence in my life when I was a child. Without her guidance and prayers I am sure I wouldn’t be here today.

Leave a Reply

