Skip to content

The Answer In The Sky

March 5, 2017

Below is the report of last years trip South.  I am feeling a bit better today, but still out of sorts and lacking.  If Jesus can use me with all my problems and shortcomings I am certain HE can and will use you too.  These reports are just evidence of that fact.  I hope they bless someone out there today.

Greetings,

“Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth.”  Genesis 9:16

This year’s trip South was very eventful and rewarding in a great number of ways.  I spent the first night in North Georgia with Michael M and his family.  Michael has been involved with housechurching for quite a few years both in the states and overseas in Israel and the South Pacific.  We have been butting heads online for over 10 years now because I feel he is too Jewish and legalistic in his view of scripture and he feels I have a “low view of scripture”.  However, face to face it all worked out fine and Michael was a very gracious host.  He still values the Law and I value the New Covenant over and above the Old.

Early the next morning I headed South towards Florida and I had to stop for gas just South of Macon Ga.  As I was filling my tank a glorious double rainbow filled the Eastern sky.  Then I noticed another gentleman nearby who seemed enthralled with the rainbows.  I then felt the Holy Spirit nudge me to start a conversation with this man.  I then told this man that the rainbow was God’s sign unto all men that HE would never send a devastating flood upon the entire earth again.  We then conversed back and forth for about ten minutes and then Marvin asked me flat out how he could be saved.  We then prayed and Marvin asked Jesus to fill his heart and take over his life.  This left us both in tears and we embraced before saying our goodbyes and getting back on the road.

I spent the next 5 nights with a dear childhood friend, I have known for over 40 years, and his wonderful family.  Dave E. is now serving the Lord as a funeral director and has been sharing Jesus openly with his clients for over 3 years now with much fruit and success.  Dave and I spent some of our teen years on fire for Jesus in what we called the AFL-CYO or the All For the Lord Christian Youth Outreach.  A group of teens in love with Jesus and one another.  Our totally open and free, Spirit led gatherings laid a solid foundation for what I would later simply call home fellowships or house churches.

While I spent my nights with Dave, I was also spending days with my dear nearly 94 year old Aunt Marie.  We enjoyed rich fellowship as we played endless card games with each other.  Aunt Marie is my favorite person in the world and I am quite certain I would not be alive or serving Jesus if it were not for her effective prayers over my entire life.  If I have ever been in the presence of a true saint it would have to be Marie and I treasure every moment I get to spend with her each year.

I also had the pleasure of visiting with several home fellowships on the Gulf coast while I was there.  These are “churches” I have helped start or have encouraged over the past 15 years.  In a bit of a surprise I felt prompted by the Lord to visit “The Refuge” semi-traditional “church” on Sunday morning.  This is the “church” my cousin Lonnie is helping to plant.  While the “worship” band was playing I was given a clear prophetic word for this congregation.  In gentleness I gave this word about “not despising the days of small beginnings” and always allowing Jesus to lead His Church and following no other man other than Christ.  Right after giving them this word from the Lord their pastor stepped forward in tears and turned on the powerpoint presentation….. and right there in black and white in big bold letters was the title of the talk he intended to give that day…. it simply read..”Do not despise the days of small things.”  It was dead silent in there and everyone could feel the Spirit as if it was electricity.  We then closed in prayer and all left encouraged and challenged by what had just occurred.  The young pastor took my phone number and we have spoken several times since that amazing day.  Lonnie and I met for breakfast on Tuesday and he apologized for misjudging me several years ago after I visited the Refuge and I reported in my blog how it was much better than the average traditional “church”, but it still had one foot in Babylon and one foot in the Lord.  He broke fellowship with me over my choice of words back then, but now freely admits I was spot on.  Today the Refuge is focusing on feeding the poor and hungry in their community and I praise them for that much needed ministry.

Next on my way back home to Michigan I spent 2 nights with my old college friend and dear brother Doug O.  Doug has long been a great source of encouragement to me and this blog page.  We had some fun and encouraged one another greatly.  That is my trip in a nutshell.  Please be praying for Marvin our new brother in Christ?  It was once again an amazing trip.

Love and……..

Kirk Out !

P.s.  I almost forgot…. I also met with David F. in Ocala for coffee and quick fellowship on my way back North.  He seemed like a very precious fellow. David, I hope to have more time together next year.

 

 

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Judy Baker permalink

    It’s nice to hear and be encouraged of your experiences. The Holy Spirit is alive and well in these last days. We need to apply our selfs in the Lords work. Holy Spirit sent by Jesus is awesome !

  2. Dan permalink

    “One foot in Babylon…”. That’s awesome! What’s even more awesome is that he finally received the rebuke. Way to be faithful to the word of the Lord! Sounds like you had a very enjoyable and fruitful trip. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

