Skip to content

My Chaos Was God’s Purpose

March 3, 2017

I would appreciate your prayers.  I am feeling VERY out of sorts today and am also having computer/online issues.  Because of that I am posting my report of my 2015 trip South.  I hope some find encouragement through it.

Greetings,

“13 Then Jesus came from Galilee to the Jordan to be baptized by John. 14 But John tried to deter him, saying, “I need to be baptized by you, and do you come to me?” 15 Jesus replied, “Let it be so now; it is proper for us to do this to fulfill all righteousness.” Then John consented. 16 As soon as Jesus was baptized, he went up out of the water. At that moment heaven was opened, and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and alighting on him.17 And a voice from heaven said, “This is my Son, whom I love; with him I am well pleased.”  Matthew 3: 13-17

My trip down South and back was filled with wonderful fellowship along the way.  However, the final leg of my journey home from Chattanooga Tennessee to Sturgis Michigan on Tuesday was wrought with ice, snow, wind and terrible driving conditions that led to one pretty chaotic and amazing day.

The weather forecast for Chattanooga Monday afternoon through early Tuesday morning was for freezing rain and ice.  So if need be I was going to stay there an extra night and leave Wednesday morning.  However, several pressing issues at home needed my attention a.s.a.p.  So I was hoping and praying that I would be able to depart early on Tuesday.  For some unknown reason the Holy Spirit told me to set my alarm for 8:30 am instead of 6:15 on Tuesday.  Over the years I have simply learned not to question such leadings.  So I was obedient.  First miracle… Chattanooga’s temperatures stayed in the mid thirties that night so the major ice storm was averted there. However, everywhere in every direction surrounding Chattanooga there was major ice and snow events.

I left wet, but not quite frozen Chattanooga at 9:15 am Tuesday.  The roads were fine even through the mountains on I-24 North.  Then just 15 minutes South of ice & snow covered Nashville, traffic northbound came to an abrupt halt.  It then took over an hour to travel three miles due to a multi car accident.  Then six minutes later when traffic just started flowing nicely again we came to another freeway stoppage. This time it took nearly two hours to clear several wrecked cars and two jack-knifed and twisted semi-tractor trailers from the roadway.  Second miracle…. If I would have left Chattanooga as planned at 7 am instead of yielding to a Spirit led time of 9:15, it is possible that I may have been involved in one of these horrific crashes

Just North of Nashville I stopped at a truck stop for gas and food.  As I went inside to the restaurant I passed an older grey haired and bearded man with a backpack.  I went to the bathroom and while at the urinal the Spirit told me to offer the man I saw outside a meal and a ride North.  So I fed Randy and he did indeed need a ride North to Chicago.  I told Him I could take him as far as Indianapolis and off toward snow covered Kentucky we went.  I attempted to engage Randy in conversation, but he was quiet and not talkative at all.  I asked him if he liked to listen to good rock music and he nodded yes, so I turned up my CD of REZ Band’s 1983 live “Bootleg” album.  The songs on this totally rocking CD are interlaced with sharing and testimonies from my dear Jesus People friends Wendi and Glenn Kaiser.  Both Randy and I spent the next hour slapping time and nodding our heads to the beat of this awesome Jesus music.  After the final song Glenn gave a short message and invitation to become a follower of Christ.  When I looked over at Randy I could clearly see that he was tearing up and beginning to cry, so I asked him if he needed to talk.  He said yes and we spent the next few hours discussing our lives and what we believed about Jesus and the Body of Christ.  Randy told me he had always hoped that Jesus was real, but when he visited “churches” and talked with “Christians” it always left a bad taste in his “mouth”, so he never pursued a relationship with Jesus or those who claimed to follow Him.  So I then shared my journey in Christ with Randy including my take on true fellowship and the Body of Christ.  Moments later Randy was praying out loud and surrendering his life to Jesus.  I did not ask him or tell him to pray, he just did so on his own without any coaching from me.  Third miracle… I would have never crossed paths with Randy if it were not for all the delays and obstacles I encountered this day.

Just before we hit the South side of Indianapolis Randy asked me if he could be baptized now.  I said a quick prayer in my head and asked Jesus and Jesus said yes.  So I exited I-65 and found the first motel with an indoor pool.  I rented Randy a room for the night (Thank God for credit cards in emergency situations) and we changed into shorts and went to the heated pool together.  Minutes later I baptized Randy in Jesus name.  Fourth miracle…  It was near darkness outside, but the exact moment Randy emerged from the water the clouds parted on this grey and dreary day and the sun shone brightly for a moment and the refraction of the sun’s light caught the glass of the atrium the pool was in and the colors of a rainbow were broadcast on the wall nearest us.  It was amazing! After drying off and dressing in Randy’s room we both said our tearful goodbyes.  He did not have a cell phone or an address, but I still gave him my info anyways.

Then I raced to my car and took off towards home.  I Had exactly 3.5 hours to get from Indy to where I have my dog Rocky boarded.  If I was late I would not be able to retrieve him and it would have cost me an extra days fee.  To get there I would have to average about 80 miles an hour, so off I went.  The roads were clear so I had a decent chance of making it on time.  About an hour shy of home what looked like a three foot long 4X4 piece of wood flew off the flatbed semi truck I was following and it was heading right for me.  In a split second I swerved in an attempt to avoid the object.  Bad idea!  I then spun out over 360 degrees and violently hit the deep ditch on the right side of the road filled with over 2 feet of snow at 70 miles per hour.  I thought to myself…this is going to be bad, so I yelled out … please help Jesus!  When I came to a stop I was glad to be alive and unhurt. I could not open my door due to the depth of the snow.  I was about 20 feet off the road and in deep shit.  I had no money for a wrecker and no time to waste.  I needed help and asked for divine intervention.  I was able to begin slowly rocking the car back and forth in the snow.  I did this about 4 times and then gave it all the gas I had.  I nearly reached the shoulder of the interstate, but then slipped back down to the bottom.  This was simply an impossible situation to overcome.  However, on the very next attempt I made it back onto the road. That was definitely miracle number five on this very long day.  Plus I made it to get Rocky on time.  When I got home late that night I examined my car and the plastic bumper had 2 holes in it where the 4X4 hit.  The rest of the car was without mark or blemish.  Thank Jesus there were no fences, guardrails or roadside markers or signs where I went off the road.  That just might be miracle number six?

Don’t try to ever tell me that Jesus does not direct not only our paths, but also our very individual steps.  When we cry out to HIM.. HE intervenes!  Things like these have happened to me far too many times to call them coincidence.  It is great to be back blogging.  Thanks for reading.  Please pray for our new brother Randy?

Love and….

Kirk Out !

P.s.  I just found a 100 dollar bill in my coat pocket.  I have no explanation for this, unless Randy slipped it into my pocket yesterday.  Wow!  I am left speechless.

 

 

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. As you whispered in the ear of your psychiatric patient, “Peace, be still.” May His peace surround and uphold you, fill you and be your peace. And may our new brother Randy be held in Your infinite arms of grace now and forevermore.

  2. Everything is a tool in His hand to shape and mold us and our circumstances for His purposes and our best good. “Of Him, through Him, to Him are all things.” Rom 11:36

  3. Sue heumann permalink

    Christopher, as I read ‘Spirit led time of….’ In your blogpost today I stopped there. I’m counting on a Spirit led day today for you….though you FEEL out of sorts. Today he has also given us breath and LIFE so there must be purpose in it. Praying that for you and me today my brother. Just breathe and let Him flow confident of this very thing that he who began a good work in us will continue it…..today!👋✔️😘🙏

    • Thank you dear Sue! It really is that simple isn’t it? Where HE goes I will follow both internally and externally.

  4. Judy Baker permalink

    I remember this post. It was a great show of faith and guidance of our Lord Jesus. Shows if we listen to Him speak to us and obey, blessings abound !!
    Jesus’ Spirit is leading and helping people preach all over the world…you were blessed to obey and receive the blessings – many of them !!!!❤️
    Keep on with the good work Chris !!!
    Hope you are feeling better now.

Leave a Reply

