Skip to content

When Jesus Calls

January 16, 2017

Greetings,

“As Jesus was walking beside the Sea of Galilee, He saw two brothers, Simon called Peter and his brother Andrew.  They were casting a net into the lake, for they were fishermen.  ”Come, follow me,” Jesus said, “and I will make you fishers of men.”  At once they left their nets and followed Him.  Going on from there, He saw two other brothers, James son of Zebedee and his brother John.  They were in a boat with their father Zebedee, preparing their nets.  Jesus called them, and immediately they left the boat and their father and followed Him.”  Matthew 4: 18-22

Just a short and simple blog today.  What I see in this passage is that when Jesus calls our response needs to be “immediate” and “at once”.  It doesn’t matter what we are doing at the time or who is with us.  When Jesus speaks to us we need to drop everything else we are doing and respond to Him in that very moment.

I have to admit that I am not always good at responding exactly when He calls.  Sometimes I am far to involved in what I am doing and I choose to put Jesus on hold.  Not a smart thing to do, but I am willing to admit it and work on changing my ways even more.

I really should know better because there have been many times when I did respond in the moment that He called to me.  Then later the circumstances confirmed that I made the right choice.  There have been several times that while driving I heard Jesus tell me to “Turn right now” or to “take another route”, only later to find out that there had been a terrible accident on the road I was taking before He spoke.  It may sound too simple or spooky Spiritual, but this is really the way He works in our lives at times.

I have learned through experience to respond immediately to His voice, even though what He says may seem insignificant in that moment.  I have told this story before, but I think it really fits here right now too.  While I was in college after a Resurrection Band concert I had promoted that night I made a food run for the guys who helped haul equipment.  I was in the Burger King drive thru waiting to order 5 whopper meals when Jesus spoke to me and said order a 6th meal.  It was only four bucks more so I did so and was obedient, not knowing why The Lord wanted me to change the order.  When I got back to the dorm I set the 6th meal up on top of the bunk bed while the five of us ate ours.  Five minutes later a guy named Tim stuck his head in the room and jokingly asked where his meal was and I was able to point to the top bunk and say, “it’s right up there.”  He ended up eating with us and when the conversation turned to the Lord, 20 minutes later Tim fully accepted Jesus to be his Lord and Savior.  That’s right, because I was obedient to the voice of the Lord at the BK drive thru someone got born again.

It is very important that we are faithful in the small and seemingly insignificant things.  Because ” We know that in ALL things God works for the good of those who love Him.” ( Romans 8)  EVERYTHING MATTERS!  We need to practice and learn to hear His voice because He doesn’t always shout or put it up on a billboard.  Responding to His voice in a timely manner could mean the difference between life and death.  ”His sheep hear His voice and obey.”  We need to always be totally open and available to Jesus whenever He may choose to call us.

Love and ….

Kirk Out !

P.s. I guess it turned out not so short or simple

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

17 Comments
  1. tom ball permalink

    I used to hav a thing I called “Instant obedience”, meaning when I got an “impulse” from the Holy Spirit, I was simply to go with it, instantlyl, without thinking it through and making a decision. I need to get back to that.

    • Tom, I understand exactly what you are talking about and it is the best way to respond when HE calls. Thanks for sharing today Tom.

  2. but we get comfortable, who wants to jump out of that box?

  3. Judy Baker permalink

    Good lesson for all of us . Think about seeing Jesus walking calling us to go with him …we would leave everyone and everything to follow him in person .
    We need to do the same now . Jesus is with us in Holy Spirit. Mathew 28:19,30 . I have seen many miracles going door to door and in the park . Amazing how even the angels are with us whispering in our thoughts “ask if anyone else is living in back . say I’d like to talk to them.” And that someone would say ” Yes, I have some questions to ask about the Bible. I would like to meet with you !”
    I knocked at the door of a rented MH. No answer . Then a thought came to go to the back door . A man
    answered looking rough & said ” I was just praying for God to send someone to help me. I was going to
    Kill myself today. ” I talked to him and we called a brother to come and encourage him.” So many times it’s Jesus and the angels saying turn here and go there.. it is Jesus. We could not do a single thing without his Holy Spirit and guidance!!!

    • Judy Baker permalink

      Mathew 28:19,20

    • Great testimony Judy! When we surrender HE will direct our paths and tell us where to go and what to do. Jesus is awesome.

  4. Gary Zanow permalink

    Amen, Chris! Good words.

  5. Sue heumann permalink

    Tell me the stories of Jesus!! 👍👍👍👍👍

  6. Sue heumann permalink

    Love this…..reminding myself to be sinc w the Holy Spirit ALL DAY LONG…TIS WOULD BE THE MOST FULFILLING OF DAYS. We do get comfortable and in our routines….but consciously keeping Him in mind ….a great goal for this new year.

    • Yes Sue,as it is written “Take captive every thought and make it obedient to Him.”

  7. "BK" permalink

    Instant obedience….yes! I remember when I was 19 (I’m 65 now) I was thinking of the account of when Philip saw the eunuch reading in Isaiah and the Spirit told him to join himself to the chariot. The story says Philip ran over there. That SO touched me! I told the Lord I wanted to be that sensitive and obedient. As I prayed the Spirit swept over me and I had a vision of a girl I went to high school with but had not seen since graduation. She was sitting in her bedroom, looking at a picture of Jesus with bandages on her wrists, having tried to commit suicide. The Lord told me “I want you to go to her house and tell her I have heard her cry and love her.” Wow….you’d think I’d just run right over, right? Nope. It was two weeks before I even looked up her address and another week or two before I finally ‘got the courage’ to go to her door. Then I chickened out. Instead of doing as the Lord said when she opened the door I told her “Hi, I’ve been thinking of you…..” and she invited me in. She began to tell me how depressed she’d been, that she’d try to commit suicide (yup, bandages still there), even the picture of Jesus I had seen…..I am just shaking my head as I type. So I told her AFTER THE FACT what had happened and delivered the message. Yes she was touched and yes she came ‘to church’ with me but it just never really stuck. Instant obedience? Oh, Lord Jesus, let us get better and better at it, with more and more confidence to share You and follow You. Lots of memories on this one! Thanks to all, “BK”

    • BK, thank you for your transparency. Sure we all miss it at times, but His Grace is always giving us more opportunities to shine for HIM.

Leave a Reply

