Skip to content

Weathering Any Storm

January 14, 2017
               While I was praying and pondering what to write here today I got a phone call from a nurse I used to work the midnight shift with back in the early 90′s.  Yes, she calls often.  Her call prompted me to re-share the following again.  I am glad to report that she remains a dear sister in Christ to me after all these years.
*******************************************************************
       Greetings,
                 “A furious squall came up, and the waves broke over the boat, so that it was nearly swamped.  Jesus was in the stern, sleeping on a cushion.  The disciples woke Him and said to Him, ‘Teacher, don’t you care if we drown.’  He got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, ‘Peace!  Be still!’  Then the wind died down and it was completely calm.  He said to His disciples, ‘Why are you so afraid?  Do you still have no faith?’  They were terrified and asked each other, ‘Who is this?  Even the wind and waves obey Him!”  Mark 4: 37-41
                A Canadian friend and I were exchanging testimonies yesterday, so I thought I would also share this story here today:
                 Back in 1992 I was working as a Psychiatric Technician in a mental health facility.  I was at the nurses station charting when this HUGE patient came up and punched out the wire reinforced window, during a fit of rage.  There was glass and blood everywhere.  This guy was six foot eight and weighed over 400 pounds.  All the staff stood up and looked at each other first in disbelief and then everyone turned and looked directly at me expecting that I should be the one to do something about the problem at hand.
                 I stepped out of the station and into the hallway about 8 feet away from the troubled patient.  The psychiatrist asked the patient if he was alright, but got no response.  Then I spoke to the giant, asking him to calm down.  He raised his fist and took a big step towards me.  I asked him to think about what he was doing.  Again no response.  Then I said, “You are a big man and you could hurt me, but I am pretty big too and you are also going to get hurt if you want to fight.”  Again no response.  Then I stepped right up to him and whispered in his ear.  Immediately he calmly turned around and went back to his room.
                 The staff was dumbfounded and the psychiatrist who was a German Jew asked me, “Vat did ewe say to heem?”  I then faced everyone and said, ” I just told him peace, be still, in Jesus Name.”  The Doc did not know what to say at first, but a few moments later he actually said, “Jesus huh? I don’t understand it, but it worked. Good job Kirk.”  All the other staff just smiled and nodded in agreement.
                 During the clean up I was asked very probing questions about what happened and I just kept giving all the credit and glory to Jesus.  Several days later I worked a midnight shift and the nurse who worked nights questioned me about the incident.  After a couple of hours of conversation she asked Jesus to invade her life and she still serves Him to this day.  The name of Jesus is very powerful and He can calm any storm, be it weather or emotional.  Anyway, that’s just another day in the life of this long haired Jesus freak.
                 Love and ……
       Kirk Out !
From → Uncategorized

12 Comments
  1. I apologize for the formatting of this post. WordPress would not allow me to publish it with proper paragraph breaks. So I tried to make it easier to read by adding exaggerated indentations. I hope it helped.

  2. wongani mvula permalink

    Wow what an interesting memory,faith is needed ,had it been that there was no faith in you and in our Lord,I don’t know what this man would have done.Jesus did it for you and he is there with every time,anywhere and he loves us.

  3. Sue heumann permalink

    Jesus still calms storms!❤️ Love hearing Jesus stories…..

  4. Sue heumann permalink

    SMILE👏👍

  5. Sweet! Grace. Sweet grace!!!:) Reminding me of a Chicago cop who always gets to the dealers before the rest… gives ’em a chance to think, repent, come quietly. Often they do… in Jesus’ Name. Thanks Capt., glory to God 🙂 -Glenn

  6. Judy Baker permalink

    I remember that story ! Great story!! Shows what God’s Spirit can do with Jesus ! We all need to have this kind of faith and zeal for Jesus ❤️ You never know who is going to listen and become a faithful servant . Never be afraid to obey Jesus …He is with you and will never leave you. He is the Head of the preaching in the world and He is faithful !!

Leave a Reply

