Skip to content

The Definitive Word?

November 23, 2016

Greetings,

Jesus said:

“I have much more to say to you, more than you can now bear.  But when He, the Spirit of truth, comes, He will guide you into all truth.  He will not speak on His own; He will speak only what He hears, and He will tell you what is yet to come.”  John 16: 12-13

There we have it!  The definitive word, right from the mouth of Jesus Himself…. It is The Holy Spirit that guides and leads us into ALL TRUTH.  This is why I say and stress that we must be Spirit led and NOT bible led.  Taking these words of Jesus into full account and consideration how can anyone say anything different?

The Spirit of Truth is above the bible there is just no other way around that truth.  Now when the Spirit is leading us into this truth, the place He leads us perhaps most often is the bible. The Spirit can and does lead us in the scriptures and that is as it should be.  However, the bible does not always lead us back to the truth of The Spirit.  Because without The Spirit’s illumination the bible is nothing more than dead letter.  “For the Letter kills, but the Spirit gives life.”  The vast majority of traditional/institutional “churches” out there claim that the bible is their final or sole authority in matters of faith and practice.  Yet they deny, in practice, the Priesthood of all believers and settle most often for the Priesthood of one “man” in their congregations that they call their Pastor.  Plus they deny many if not most of the gifts that the Holy Spirit gives individuals in the Body of Christ.  When they limit or deny the Holy Spirit’s empowerments like that they can always back it up with their version and interpretation of scripture.  Jesus came so that we could be free in the Spirit and led by Him and no longer be in bondage to the written word and Law.  Being bible led places limits on the Holy Spirit’s leading and in fact denies us of the full and free Gospel of Truth that is abundantly found in the Spirit of Christ alone.

This brings us to one very great and important question…..  Would the Spirit ever tell us to do something that goes directly against Scripture?  Please step back, say a prayer, and ponder that for a minute?  The answer is YES He can and does at times.  Now, read Acts chapter 10 verses 9-16.  In that passage the Lord directly tells Peter three times to kill and eat what scripture had previously called unclean.  Peter was told in no uncertain terms to violate what was written in the scriptures.

So I choose to yield and submit to The Spirit’s leading in all things, biblical or otherwise.  At least I do on good days.  More human words here will not prove this case any better than what Jesus, Himself, has said about this matter.  God, The Father, The Son Jesus, and The Spirit reign supreme.  I refuse to follow or bow down to anything or anyone less than God Himself.  I will choose direct revelation from The Spirit over and above secondary revelation from a book about Him on any day.

Love and …..

Kirk Out !

 

 

From → Uncategorized

12 Comments
  1. Sue heumann permalink

    The story is so sad that we rarely hear about the priesthood of all believers and community, instead we hear of individual relationship with God all the time. It’s good, too, but the community it is,what we need ….one anothering, living out Christ together. Thankful the my sole authority is Christ, and what he did say in the Scriptures I want to keep all, not ignoring the hugest thing!…how to express him together! Thanking the Lord today for so much new I’m learning!

    • Yes Sue, you are truly His disciple. It is all about growing in and learning His Truth in Love.

  2. One more layer of error is peeled away. Bless you for the clarity of thought which has been given you for us. It is a paradigm shift for sure, but a welcome one.

    Blessings,

    Win

  3. captain your dancing on daisies brother

  4. Sue heumann permalink

    Fun!

  5. Hi brother. Just a note regarding your thinking on this. In John 6:63, Jesus said, “The words I speak to you ARE Spirit and they are life.” The two just can’t be separated. “What God has joined together, let no man separate.” I just watched a movie on Wm. Tyndale. That was the time when the “Holy Mother Church” refused to allow God’s word to be disseminated to the so-called “Laity.” I think those days were called, “The Dark Ages” for a reason. He was burned at the stake for translating the scriptures into English. No doubt, it was the Holy Spirit in him that compelled him to defy the “church” in order to get the Word of God to the “plow-man,” as well as the “clergy-guy.”

    I’ve discovered the use of the scriptures as the springboard, the fulcrum, the flashpoint, of a meaningful, and spirit-filled prayer life. George Muller wrote this regarding the use of the Word of God in his own prayer life:

    “Formerly, when I rose, I began to pray as soon as possible. But I often spent a quarter of an hour to an hour on my knees struggling to pray while my mind wondered. Now I rarely have this problem. As my heart is nourished by the truth of the Word, I am brought into true fellowship with God. I speak to my Father and to my friend (although I am unworthy) about the things that He has brought before me in His precious word.

    “It often astonished me that I did not see the importance of meditation upon Scripture earlier in my Christian life. As the outward man is not fit for work for any length of time unless he eats, so it is with the inner man. What is the food for the inner man? Not prayer, but the Word of God…”

    Have you ever read, “Life Together,” by Dietrich Bonhoeffer? He had quite a bit to say, as well as G. Mueller, on using the scriptures as the words we “speak back to God.”

    Here’s a little example of praying Ephesians: “Thank you God for blessing me with all the spiritual blessings in the heavenly realms in Christ. Thank you that you have called me to the “Son-Place,” and placed me in the love you bear toward your Beloved Son. Enlighten the eyes of my heart Father, so that I would know what is the hope of your calling and what are the riches of the glory of your inheritance in the saints.”

    Blessings,

    Clark

    • Thank you for sharing Clark. I find what you said here congruent with my heart on this matter.

Leave a Reply

