Skip to content

My Near Death Experience…..2016 Update

November 9, 2016

Greetings,

“There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven:  a time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to uproot…….”  Ecclesiastes 3: 1-2

I almost died yesterday.  I was driving East on the interstate and I hit a patch of ice while going about 70 mph.  The car in front of me spun out and violently rolled over in the snowy median. In an instant I saw a white robed figure flash before my eyes and say “pick both your feet up.”  I spun out 360 degrees and my car stopped just off the left shoulder of the road.  The semi trucks beside and behind me just missed wiping me out.  It was a terrifying experience, but I remained calm and collected. My poor dog Rocky got tossed around a bit and was shaking, but when I checked we both were fine and without physical harm.

I immediately called 911 and then went to help the woman trapped in her upside down car.  I got her out and then the State Trooper and EMS arrived.  She was bumped and bruised, but seemed to be alright.  While Trooper Smith took my account of the incident I told him that I thought Jesus appeared to me and told me what to do.  His eyes got really wide then, but he affirmed that keeping both my feet up off the brakes and gas likely saved my car from flipping over and putting me at risk of death or serious injury.  We spoke for about 10 minutes and then he told me he wanted to know more about this Jesus who might have saved me that day. He then had to respond to another accident, but he asked if he could contact me at a later date.  I told him sure and gave him my phone number.

Trooper Smith called me about an hour ago and he had many questions about Lord Jesus.  I answered his questions and shared some of my own testimony of saving grace, abundant love, eternal truth and extreme forgiveness.  He then told me that he wanted and needed those things in his life.  Moments later he surrendered to the truth and love of Jesus.  He shared with me that he had been searching for Jesus for many years.  He had attended numerous “churches” over the years, but found no life in them.  He wanted relationship, but all they offered was “stale religion”.

Today Trooper Jeff Smith entered into full relationship with Jesus and I was glad to play a part in it; even though it almost killed me.  Now he needs real, simple, organic relational fellowship so he can be loved and grow in Christ.  Problem is he lives 100 miles from here. I have a few friends who live in his area that I can connect him with, and he knows he can always call me.  Now Trooper Smith is family.  He is our brother.  Please be praying for him?

Love and……

Kirk Out !

p.s.  It was not my time to die.  However, God used this incident and gave me a chance to plant some excellent seed in Jeff’s heart and mind.  I was also able to uproot some dead religion that had been planted in him by the traditional “church” system.  Jesus clearly prepared Jeff’s heart for this day.  I am glad my heart was prepared and in season also.  I sit here amazed at how Jesus still uses me in spite of my fractured life and many flaws.  All is grace, only grace.

p.s.s.  It is hard to believe that the events (detailed above) took place almost three years ago. I spoke with Trooper Jeff Smith again a few weeks ago  He calls me several times a year for encouragement and counsel.  Jeff reported that he is continuing to press deep into the wonders of Christ and that he has continued in free and open mutual fellowship house to house with the two families I had introduced him to two years ago and also with a new family who came to Christ when Jeff shared his testimony with them over dinner last year.  Four families is a nice size for simple fellowship.  It is amazing how the Lord uses our simple sincere sharing of the truth in love even in automobile mishaps and the oddest of circumstances.  When we allow The Spirit of Christ to be living and active in our lives miracles happen and folks get set free in Jesus.  All I can say is to GOD be the glory!

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Sue heumann permalink

    It will be soooo wonderful someday to hear all these testimonies from people you have met ‘along the way’ …… Expressing Jesus love to so many in need of Him! I’m thrilled to know you still, and now connected to so many others, too, who want to,spread Jesus love and share him w one another. Thank you, Jesus for this fuller life…..

    • Thank you Sue, it is sincere prayer both speaking and listening to the Lord that makes all the difference in our lives and the lives of others. When we surrender all and walk fully in communion with Jesus amazing things happen. Jesus is truly AWESOME!

  2. Mercy fulgencio permalink

    God is powerfully @ work to those earnestly seek Him…
    Let’s keep on being church 24/7 that
    many others may hear the good news and know Him.
    Shalom, ekklesia!

Leave a Reply

