Skip to content

What Would Jesus Do?

October 26, 2016
Greetings,
                 “To this you were called, because Christ suffered for you, leaving you an example, that you should follow in His steps. ‘He committed no sin, and no deceit was found in His mouth.’  When they hurled their insults at Him, He did not retaliate; when He suffered, He made no threats.  Instead, He entrusted Himself to Him who judges justly.  He Himself bore our sins in His body on the tree, so that we might die to sins and live for righteousness; by His wounds you have been healed.  For you were like sheep going astray, but now you have returned to the Shepherd and Overseer of your souls.”  1 Peter 2: 21-25
                 The WWJD bracelets are easy to wear, but the life is difficult and very hard to live at times.  Jesus left some pretty big steps for us to follow in.  The New Testament is not filled with as many references to being Christ-like as many would have us believe.  However, this passage is pretty straight forward though and does not give us very much wiggle room.  Jesus is our example and the way of Christ is that of no sin, no deceit, no retaliation and no threats.  Oh, and let us not forget the suffering. Everyone wants to overlook the suffering.  This is exactly how and why we are to make our calling and election sure. (2 Peter 1: 10)
                 The way of Jesus is not pretty or easy, in fact it is downright ugly and difficult at times.  Jesus wants us to pick up OUR cross daily and follow Him.  For those who refuse their own cross, but still try to claim His cross in their life I would say this: “No cross, no death, then NO RESURRECTION!”  He wants us all to die to self and instead live for and in Him.
                 But, EVERYONE sins you might say.  True, but not everyone turns their heart towards relationship with Jesus.  If we are in true relationship with Him, He will then cover our sin with His blood sacrifice and we are clean and free; IF we are wholeheartedly surrendering our lives and sin unto Him.  However, if we hold back and continue in a sin; I feel that is a extremely dangerous path to choose.  We might still be forgiven in His eyes, but the collateral damage that comes with that sin cannot be avoided and it can leave a huge path of destruction in its wake.  This is my belief and experience, but we all have to work out our salvation in our own way and time.  Without Jesus though, we are all hopeless and lost. Thankfully He always meets us at our exact point of need and His love, grace and mercy are always extended and within our grasp no matter what we might have ever said or done.  We are never too late or too far gone for Jesus to forgive and reach us.
                 I was going to write more, but I feel Him saying I have written more than enough for today.  I will now take Him at His Word and bid you all a fond farewell.
                 Love and ….
       Kirk Out !
               P.s.  BTW, my best answer to W.W.J.D.? is “Clear The Temple Again!”
From → Uncategorized

11 Comments
  1. Once again I apologize for the formatting of this blog post. WordPress would not allow me to publish it with proper paragraph breaks. However, I was able to insert extreme indentations at the beginning of each new paragraph. Hopefully that makes it easier to read for everyone.

  2. Wonderful post. Usually when people say, “What would Jesus do?”, they mean the Jesus they have constructed for themselves.

  3. tom ball permalink

    Clear exhortation, Chris. On target!

  4. Good topic, Chris. I never liked the “What would Jesus do?” question, since Jesus is Jesus and I am His kid. So, He turned water to wine, walked on water, and was transfigured. So, should I turn water to wine, walk on water, and somehow get transfigured? Only if it is somehow in the Ephesians 2:10 good works Jesus has planned in advance for me. So, I like the following question so much better, “What would Jesus have me do?” To me the only way that the original “What would Jesus do?” question works for me is if I realize that overall, Jesus did three things: Walked in agape love, did what He saw the Father doing, and spoke the words of the Father. I think this gets me a lot closer to the Ephesians 2:10 good works He has planned in advance for me than my trying to somehow imitate the exact things He did. — Scott

    • Good point Scott. I worked with teens during the WWJD craze and they called it Water Whiskey and Jack Daniels.

  5. "BK" permalink

    No cross, no death, no resurrection. Powerful words and so true. I was talking to the Lord the other day about someone who no matter how much love I walk in towards they seem to come back to despising me. Sigh…..yeah, I was complaining to Him about the pain that is. He answered me, “Yes, I understand. The majority of My creation does that to Me. I love them SO MUCH and most still reject Me. All you have is one.” Yep, cross, death but resurrection indeed! Freedom again from self-pity that can just swallow you! I guess if I was going to sum up WWJD it would be ‘follow the Spirit’, which is just different words for what was said here already. Good post, Christopher. Thank you for your faithfulness. Love, “BK”

    • Thanks for sharing BK. I Have a few people like that in my life too. NO matter how well I treat them and bend over backward they still despise me. Well, not so much me, but what I believe and stand for. However, I take solace in knowing that God fully understands these situations.

Leave a Reply

