Skip to content

The Spirit Of Life Or The Letter Of Death?

September 22, 2016

Greetings,

“Such confidence as this is ours through Christ before God.  Not that we are competent in ourselves to claim anything for ourselves, but our competence comes from God.  He has made us competent as ministers of a new covenant- not of the letter but of the Spirit; for the Letter kills, but the Spirit gives life.”   2 Corinthians 3: 4-6

As I see it our competence comes directly and completely from God alone via The Holy Spirit.  It does not come from extensive study, skill, or knowledge of the bible and it definitely does not come from position or title.   In these matters our hearts are much more important than our heads.  He who studies the most does not win in matters of relational ministry and gifting.  No, what really matters is how much we surrender our hearts and very beings unto Christ.  It is not about being smart or intelligent, it is about being teachable, humble and gentle in heart.

We are ALL called to be ministers of The Spirit and NOT the Letter.  We are also called to the ministry of reconciliation and that requires relationship…which is empty without the Holy Spirit.  Being in The Spirit is much more important and vital than how much of the Letter we can jam and cram into our brains; or throw at others who may be seeking Christ.  In society today and in the “Church” at large knowledge is exalted and desired, but God always looks at the state of our hearts.  It is not about what you know, it is about WHO you know and to what extent you allow Jesus to flood and overtake your whole life and entire being with His Supernatural Truth in Love.  When I share Jesus with people I want to share love, life and liberty.  So I share as His Spirit leads me with gentleness and compassion.  I do not want to share the Letter with others, because that only kills and brings Spiritual death.

The Letter of The Law means death and destruction.  When I share the truth in love I want to be Spirit led even in the scriptures that Jesus may desire me to use.  It is entirely possible to memorize thousands of verses and still not truly know what they really mean or how Christ can set someone free.  There is always great tension where it comes to The Spirit verses the Letter and we need to be very discerning or we can lead others away from Jesus rather than to Him. Doesn’t that just describe much of the modern “Church”?  Knowledge puffs up, the Letter kills, but The Spirit always gives life.

Love and ….

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

13 Comments
  1. Tom Ball permalink

    Pretty on target.

  2. Amy Levine permalink

    Awesome Kirk! Oh how we need to give Him the preeminence & know all things come from Him. It only takes a moment to gaze at Him & see our desperate need for His life! So when we do share it is life giving. Yes, the Spirit gives life & along the journey we are being conformed into His image especially during the difficult times. Law has a way of squeezing it’s prey into a mold but once again we must look away & run toward Christ where mercy & truth have kissed. (Psalm 85:10)

    • Amy, thank you for sharing here today. HE is the Potter and I am the clay and HE shapes me with HIS own hands and not by some legalistic impersonal mold. I am grateful just to be in His hands and I willingly surrender to being reshaped in ANY manner at ANY time.

      • Amy Levine permalink

        Yes dear brother! Thank u again 4 that article that truly searches the heart & divides between law & grace! Thank u 4 u openness & hunger for Him & Him alone. In a world that is filled w much dichotomy, we can see more clearly our most Blessed Lord Jesus! May our eyes continue to be opened to His life that dwells in us. AjL

  3. "BK" permalink

    This touched me as I read it, Christopher, in light of my ponderings this evening. I have had some real experience the past few days in regards to the book of Revelation….its written words; and the understanding of those written words…different than any I have taught or heard up to now.

    I was pondering, thinking “Ok, so I should read slowly and carefully now; comparing scripture with scripture as I go, in order to be sure I understand what is written. What it all means. Where I am in my walk; where the world is in respect to it all.” And then it occurred to me, again for the first time in such an emphasis. Revelation is NOT a book to unravel the future with. It is a book of the revelation of Jesus Christ….IN ME. What I understood these past few days is because MY EXPERIENCE corresponded to what I was reading and THAT made it come alive in a way it never had before in spite of all my years of study and searching the scriptures. It made it more impossible than ever for me to read it in the light of an ‘end time message’. It’s not end time, it’s NOW TIME in my walk with and in HIM. That’s the difference between reading the Bible as a ‘how to’ book and in reading it as the Spirit is gushing life and understanding from its words. I know it all seems so irrelevant, but to me it IS HUGE. The difference between the silk apple that looks so real but is so dead, and the real apple that may have blemishes and a bruise here and there but squirts sweet healthy juice as I bite into it.

    I’m cautious in writing or responding to ‘Spirit vs written word’ articles because of the ability to cause stumbling in either direction. I see why Paul says to avoid questions that gender strife. Yet they are words that NEED to be spoken. And so I commend you on your passion and also your carefulness to speak or write about it when the Spirit leads. It certainly corresponded exactly to where I was tonite. Even if I found it almost impossible to put into words. Sighing, but in a thankful Spirit, “BK”

    • Thank you for sharing that BK. The reason we have the scriptures is so HE can speak to us through them and reveal His heart and plan of redemption to us all. The Spirit of Christ speaking and our hearing are key to HIS revelatory process within us.

  4. Again, thank you for that affirmation and encouragement Amy. May we all turn our eyes and hearts towards Jesus and gaze upon Him with love and adoration.

  5. Sue heumann permalink

    This morning reading these thoughts from everyone is encouraging to me. Christs Spirit is leading us now, the Bible has truths for us. We are thankful for both‼️🙏 I do believe the humble teachable spirit is so important to use either! That is our part and it isn’t always evident in us. That is my prayer today…..and that Christ in us can cause us to discern truth for our walk today.

    • Great comment and most excellent prayer Sue! Christ in us, is The Hope of Glory. In Him we have hope to move forward and carry on no matter what we may be facing.

  6. Mercy fulgencio permalink

    Same question to ask., are you a disciple or a devotee …?

  7. Mercy fulgencio permalink

    Same question to ask., are you a disciple or a devotee …? A religious or a spiritual ?

    • Great questions Mercy. People in the Babylon system are taught be be pew sitting tithers and not much more than that. So your question would likely confuse them.

Leave a Reply

