Skip to content

Mission Impossible?

September 18, 2016

Greetings,

“Jesus looked at them and said, with man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”…………Matthew 19: 26

In totally open and free, Spirit led home fellowship this past weekend we read through the entire fifth chapter of The Gospel of John. (Yes, we use our bibles all the time, contrary to popular belief)   Every person there had something very valuable to share that helped the entire passage come alive to all of us.  What struck me most was how Jesus asked people to do the impossible all of the time.  In John 5: 8  Jesus told an invalid to “Get up!  Pick up your mat and walk.”  Jesus simply asked this man to do what he could not do and when the man responded he could walk without further difficulty.

There are quite a few other instances of Jesus asking the impossible of people in the New Testament.  Like when He told the man with the withered arm to stretch out his arm and when He told Peter to “come” walk on the water with Him.  Friends, If your arm is withered you cannot stretch it out and no man can walk on water.  However, when Jesus told them to do these impossible things they could do them every single time.

If this is true then why do we always seem to doubt when Jesus seems to be calling for us to do the impossible?  Speaking for myself I think it is because I lack FAITH at times.  Sometimes I get so engrossed and wrapped up in the FACT of the obstacle, that I am facing, that I fail to have the faith necessary for Him to move it out of my way,…  so that I can then proceed to the places He has already pre-ordained me to be victorious.

The fact that I had PTSD hindered my walk for 17 years, but now I have the faith to overcome it. Staying in the fact of my situation and diagnosis robbed me, my family and our fellowships of many blessings, and in the end it cost me my marriage.  But now forgetting what is behind I strain forward towards what is ahead for me in Christ Jesus.  I now have tremendous renewed faith and hope again because of the ministry of Jesus, the Body of Christ and the tools I have gained from EMDR and other effective counseling.

“We live by faith, not by sight” (2 Corinthians 5: 7)  I no longer live by only what my human eyes can see.  Now, once again I live by faith in Christ and that is making all the difference in the world for me and those I love.  And even if you do happen to lack faith all you have to do is ask Jesus and He will give it to you when the time is perfect.  I now am facing all of my obstacles head on and with His help I am moving through them, instead of trying to go over, under, or around them.  Avoiding them is no longer an option for me.  No matter what impossible odds you may be facing, Jesus can get you through them to the freedom that is found on the other side.  Now with Christ I am doing the impossible every day and so can all of you!

Love and……

Kirk Out !

P.s.  These past several days Jesus has been freeing me up emotionally.  This is allowing me to give and experience intimacy in ways I haven’t been able to in years.  Please pray for Janet and I as we move forward together in our relationship?  I feel we really turned a big corner this weekend and we are both looking forward to great things in our future.

 

 

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

14 Comments
  1. Sue permalink

    Only Jesus! I see Christ being formed in you! He is showing you THE WAY‼️ And that means I’m finding my way as I follow Him, too! Oh how the body of Christ is beautiful. Christ is beautiful. “Show your self to me more and more, Jesus!”

  2. Tom Ball permalink

    “Do it.”

    I can’t.

    “I know you can’t. But, I can.”

    Will you do it through me?

    “I already have. Trust me so you can live into what I’ve accomplished.”

  3. Sue heumann permalink

    Thank you, Tom!! Can I post this on fb? Love it. Christopher, it goes both ways…….‼️‼️

    • Yes Sue, it goes both ways as a continual give and take ongoing conversation with Jesus and one another. God is not silent or non-participatory. HE is speaking and interacting every moment.

  4. Judy Baker permalink

    Love to see progress in the Lord – in every way!
    It encourages all of us. I see and feel Jesus’ s spirit very strong at times . Yes doubt can take it away..faith is a necessity. We must remove whatever is a stumbling block. Satan is very subtle and so devious. A master of disguises. Pray and search the scriptures for your answer. Jesus is calling …time is near . Don’t put off tomorrow what you can do today .. Put Him first . Always love your comments

  5. janet fowler permalink

    Christopher, I believe now that we will have a testimony, together. There have been many times that the obstacles take center stage, and I will admit, my selfish thoughts. I know Jesus can accomplish much more than my criticisms and judgements can. At heart though I just want you to be free and have joy. And I MARVEL at what Jesus has done in you recently. HE CAN do the impossible!

    I will also take this moment to THANK YOU JESUS for the turn of events today that relieved so much stress! I asked you to take care of it so you can use me, because I can’t be used when I’m focused on the problems or having a heart attack from the stress!

    And I thank you Lord for what feels like a new relationship!

    • Janet, both of us can testify that Jesus is awesome and HE still answers prayers. I am soooo glad HE placed you in my life.

  6. Dan permalink

    Very happy for your past testimony and the present one. All praise to Him Who works the impossible!

  7. "BK" permalink

    I love how important the aspect of FAITH is. That supernatural step that is taken by the small and great; educated and not; rich or poor; genius or a simple thinker……no one gets the ‘edge’. He is mutually available to us all. May not be saying this right, but for sure I LOVE watching Him move and grow within each one of us. Love, “BK”

    • I know what you mean BK. I Love seeing Christ moving in others, it builds my faith. And you are right, God does not show favoritism, we are on equal ground at the foot of the cross.

Leave a Reply

