Skip to content

Do You Hear What I Hear?

September 8, 2016

Greetings,

“We must pay more careful attention, therefore, to what we have HEARD, so that we do not drift away.  For if the message spoken by angels was binding, and every violation and disobedience received its just punishment, how shall we escape if we ignore such a great salvation?  The salvation, which was first announced by the Lord, was confirmed to us by those who HEARD Him.  God also testified to it by signs, wonders and various miracles, and gifts of The Holy Spirit distributed according to His will.”  Hebrews 2: 1-4 (Emphasis mine)

My dear friend Robert Smith shared this passage in home fellowship here one Saturday and I would like to share it again with you here today.  It is a very powerful warning to not just pay attention, but to pay MORE CAREFUL ATTENTION to THE message of Christ, so that we do not drift away from Him and the Truth in Love.  Some sects preach and teach that we cannot drift away from Him, but this passage makes it quite abundantly clear that we can in this life, if we do not totally focus upon Jesus and His life giving Gospel of Truth and Love.

I want to point out and highlight that HEARING is extremely important for those who follow Jesus.  It is all about hearing from Him the message of Truth in Love.  PLEASE NOTE: That no where in this passage does it talk about what we READ in the bible, no it talks about what we HEAR from Him, angels and other followers of Christ.  Reading and hearing are NOT at all the same thing.  In the Gospel of John Jesus says that, “My sheep hear my voice and obey”.  Even if you read the bible a thousand times over, it is not equal to or the same as hearing directly from Christ Himself.  I say yes we can hear Him quite often while reading the scriptures, but we can also read without EVER hearing from Him.  Romans 10:17 says “Faith comes from HEARING the message…”  And Hebrews 11: 6 says that, “without faith it is impossible to please God.”  We ALL need to hear directly FROM Jesus and not just read things ABOUT Him.  I hope my heart is being heard clearly here, because I am not at all anti-bible.  I am just saying that Jesus is much more important than the book about Him.  In order to truly hear and comprehend His message in full, we must hear the Voice of Christ in our heart, mind and Spirit.

I do not ever want to ignore His great salvation and all that it means to us both individually and corporately.  He redeemed ALL THINGS and I want to use and enjoy the entirety of His great and awesome salvation in the here and now as well as for all eternity.  The gifts of The Holy Spirit have been distributed widely to MANY according to His will.  In fact I have never met a true follower of Jesus who did not have gifts they could use to bless Christ and His Body.  I fully and completely support every member ministry, because just having a gifted few people lead many spectators is NOT His will for us in Christ at all.  In fact when we gather in His Name everyone should get to contribute and share. (1 Corinthians 14: 26)  We all need to live out His salvation to the fullest in this life because when we do that, He is lifted up and then He draws all others to Himself.  If you want to talk about true Church growth?  Then start there! Programs don’t work, but living abundant lives while hearing Christ sure does.

Love and……

Kirk Out !

 

 

From → Uncategorized

11 Comments
  1. Swiss Hart permalink

    Let him who hath ears, let him hear! Let’s continue to worship Him in Spirit and in Truth, amen! Bless you, Chris! Thank you!

    • Yes Swiss, right on sister! I am blessed! Let’s all continue to listen for HIS voice. Thanks for sharing Swiss.

  2. Sue heumann permalink

    As I walk this doggie we’ve recently acquired I sing the song you wrote, I want to listen to you, Lord……etc……as I sing it daily, it reminds me that even these right words are not enough, it needs to be a hearts desire! Listening, quietly humbling myself to hear WHATEVER you might ask of me, or direct me…. It’s different than just singing something, or NOT doing something rigid I used to do, it’s really positioning my heart in a place of waiting to hear from my friend, Good Shepherd, Guide and God. Being in an attitude of expectation, too…knowing that He has his eye out for me….. Pam 42:11. Thanks Christopher. Reading ‘Finding Church’ finally, and it’s pointing me in this same direction!👍

    • Sue, I am so glad that song blesses you. I wholeheartedly agree that we need to place ourselves where we can best receive and hear from Christ. That has a lot to do with the attitude of my heart and mind. Our God is NOT silent. HE speaks continuously, but the trick is we need to be actively listening for HIS Voice. For me that means putting aside things that are a distraction to me and focusing in on HIS heart and message. Thanks for sharing this Sue. You bless me!

    • Oh, and His Voice! smiles, thank you!

  3. Judy Baker permalink

    Indeed I do need to pay more CAREFUL ATTENTION TO THINGS I HAVE HEARD JESUS SPEAK …in my mind I hear his words …I want to share them with anywho are interested…then Satan uses every worldly thing against me- I know this is the truth beyond doubt. It’s in my heart and soul. Life gets in the way at times and my own self worth. It’s not what we do- it’s Jesus with us who does it and I cannot do a single thing without him. I hear the words “TRUST IN THE LORD WITH SLL YOUR HEART AND DO NOT LEAN ON YOUR OWN UNDERSTANDING .” Proverbs 3:5,6 I agree wholeheartedly . I am learning more and more to lean on him. Thank you Jesus for using ones here on earth and angels to help us do your will . Thank you Brothers and Sisters for sharing in the Good News. I love you all. ❤️

    • Thank you for sharing Judy. “The Spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak” Christ calls us all out of the world and our personal comfort zones. I see HIS Light in you Judy and appreciate your witness.

  4. Dan permalink

    I can’t help but want to be where He is. To Who else can I go? What other place would I want to drift to? Outside of Him there is nothingness. Meaninglessness. I am hopelessly and helplessly addicted to Him, to being with Him. Whether He is speaking and I can’t write fast enough to keep up with Him or whether He is quiet, good friends just enjoy the proximity, comfortable with even silence. We are intertwined. He in me and I in Him. Forever united spirit with Spirit. Cut me and I bleed Him. There is no conception of a life lived, a world without Him. This is the story of my life. He is my Highway. There is no exit ramp. It is a very great salvation indeed.

    • Dan, thank you for that glorious and wonderful description of a life lived totally dependent on Christ. That is the only life I want to live.

  5. "BK" permalink

    Ken & I are reading through Revelation right now and what we noticed in chapter three seems to go along with this. It says to be watchful (vs2) and then to remember HOW you have received and heard…. . It struck us that it doesn’t say to remember WHAT you have heard, but HOW, and to return to that. It seems it is tied with WATCHING…..what???? Our conclusion is when we first come to Him we enjoy watching for Him, watching the Spirit so much…..until doctrine and dogma begins to replace that and our light slowly ebbs. So, He admonishes us to return to that watching of the Spirit because THAT is how we received. Through the eyes of the Spirit, not the lessons of religious dogma. Wordy, I guess….sorry. It’s so hard to put into words those times of ‘lights turning on fellowship’ like we had this morning. Love, “BK”

Leave a Reply

