Skip to content

Fruit That Remains

August 31, 2016

Greetings,

Love must be sincere. Hate what is evil; cling to what is good.”  Romans 12: 9

Yesterday I had an excellent and interesting conversation with a dear brother online.  We were talking about my blog and he was very supportive and complimentary.  He even called my blogs “inspired”.  I really appreciated his comments because from the very beginning I have made the commitment to never ever write unless I felt HIS inspiration and anointing.  I do not want to just write for the sake of writing.  Because If Jesus is not in it, then I do not want to do it.  Period!  I simply write about the things He lays upon my heart, mind and Spirit.  If I am faithful and true in that, then I do not need to worry about whatever the responses or reactions may be.

This led to further discussion about fruit in the lives of Christ followers.  I am a very firm believer that true Spiritual fruit is borne and never MANufactured.  In my experience people end up coming to The Lord most often because they really know and appreciate the person who eventually leads them to Jesus.  It is the relationships that we forge, that have the biggest impact on the lives of others.  True ministry does not happen by following programs of evangelism or discipleship. Programs reduce the people we are trying to love and reach into mere numbers and dehumanizes the whole entire process.

I do not befriend people because they are potential notches on some sort of a spiritual belt  I reach out because His love compels me and I really do value friendship, deep lasting friendship. Developing relationships is what it is all about and that takes sincerity, love and time.  Programs do not work in the long run because eventually those reached by the programs realize that they were just another project in some sort of religious experiment.  Some people are leaving “churches” today because they discover that what they thought were true friendships are really nothing more than the results of some “church” outreach program.  Then once they are converted over time they just move up the assembly line from the position of recruit into that of the recruiter.  It is a sad thing indeed to realize that you were just part of a religious program and not a valued, treasured and sincerely loved friend in the first place.

So I do not use “The Four Spiritual Laws”, “Romans Road” or any other sort of prepackaged MANufactured plan of life or ministry.  What I do is depend totally upon the leading of His Holy Spirit in EVERY situation and having an open and sincere heart towards others.  I never look at anyone as a potential project. Because “love must be sincere” for it to make any real or lasting impact in the life of another.

It is worth saying one more time… True Spiritual fruit is borne and never MANufactured!  It comes from abiding deeply in the True Vine of Christ.

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

18 Comments
  1. “He even called my blogs “inspired”. Thinking the same thing, even before I read that portion. Without saying, you are an excellent writer, writing “truth”, so yes, I would agree with “inspired”. God does that kinda thing with His obedient ones. 🙂
    Keep on blessing, loving, and writing…just as you’re doing!
    And…be very blessed yourself!

    • Wow Scarlett, you really bless my heart. Thank you for your appreciation. I am blessed.

  2. Mercy fulgencio permalink

    Christianity is relationship, not a religion…
    And so we are Christ’s representative of His presence in this world.

  3. Sue heumann permalink

    This blog has inspired me more than anything else in a loooooong tome. I truly thank you for your heart and huge fast porion, Christopher. Mostly owing you has really put it in perspective….a trie Jesus lover. That I get blessings from….Whoohoot!

    • Sue, knowing you is also a true blessing in my life. Thank you for your love and great encouragement.

  4. lila1jpw permalink

    Got to confess that I forwarded this posting to an Anglican priest friend. She’s concerned for me because I’m leaving her congregation–where will I find fellowship in the wilderness, she wonders!

    • Lilia, praying for you and your anglican priest friend. You will most certainly find fellowship along the way. True heartfelt short conversations are far better than many hours sitting stagnant in traditional “church” services.

  5. Dan permalink

    Fruitfulness, as you’ve said, is not a formula. It is a result of connection to the Vine, in relationship. We can have relationships down here because we truly have an abiding relationship with the Author of Relationship. Nothing worse than feeling like you are someone’s project. Lord, please detox us from all alterior motives in our relationships!

    • Yes Dan, may the Lord bless us all with true undefiled relationships with other truth in love seekers.

  6. peterhorvatin3gmailcom permalink

    I know that this is really not a response to your post but I didn’t know how to contact you otherwise. I’m not that technologically savy so one of the things that I hope is that you could go to my blog, check out my posts, and leave some observations. My blog is truthsthatransform.blogspot.com

  7. peterhorvatin3gmailcom permalink

    Also, I would like to share and be brothers in the truth!

  8. Peter, I would love to get to know you. We are friends on facebook so we can chat there or you can email me @: oikoskrk@yahoo.com, or call me @: 269-221-1266. Where do you live my new friend?

  9. "BK" permalink

    Not alot of time to be online the past couple of weeks but i don’t want to go too long without at least checking in on the most recent portion of this blog. It reminded me of something I noticed in Galatians 5 once…..the things of the SPIRIT are FRUIT (birthed and grow in life) and the things of the FLESH are WORKS i.e. MANufactured. Amen, brother, “BK”

    • Thanks for checking in BK. You make a most excellent point from Galatians. We may plant and water, but only God makes people grow.

  10. Excellent truths Chris, Amen! Caveat is that individually and any group of us being imperfect while on this planet may fail in hearing/obeying the Spirit in loving relationship/s. BUT this is the call, the goal, the “walking in the Spirit” and absolutely the sincerity issue is THE deal, not programs!! Love you my friend! -Glenn

    • Glenn, thank you for your affirmation and for adding your portion of the Truth in Love to this blog post. I love you too my most excellent friend.

Leave a Reply

