Skip to content

Embracing The Moment

August 27, 2016
Greetings,
                         “After six days Jesus took with Him Peter, James and John the brother of James, and led them up a high mountain by themselves.  There He was transfigured before them.  His face shone like the sun, and His clothes became as white as the light.  Just then there appeared before them Moses and Elijah, talking with Jesus.  Peter said to Jesus, “Lord, it is good for us to be here.  If you wish, I will put up three shelters – one for you, one for Moses and one for Elijah.”  While he was still speaking, a bright cloud enveloped them, and a voice from the cloud said, “This is my Son, whom I love; with Him I am well pleased.  Listen to Him!”  Matthew 17: 1-5
                       In all my days I have rarely heard any commentary on the transfiguration, but I am going to give it a shot here today.  The main thing that I get out of this passage is that we should listen to Jesus first and foremost above all, and not The Law, or The Prophets.  Moses clearly represents the Law and Elijah the Prophets, but The Father said listen to my Son.  Sure reading and studying the Law and the Prophets in the Old Testament can be helpful at times, but our main focus should be on Jesus and the New Covenant at all times.  And wherever the Old Covenant and Testament seems to contradict Jesus we should always go with and obey the way that Jesus taught and viewed things.  The Father clearly said listen to Jesus, so that is exactly what I am going to do.
                        The other thing that stands out in this passage is Peter wanting to build shelters/monuments for Jesus, Moses and Elijah.  It seems like many in the “Church” always want to build a building/monument when they witness, or partake in, a move of God.  Please notice that Peter receives no answer to his proposition.  He is totally ignored by God.  When God reveals Himself to us and we witness a move of The Spirit, we should just enjoy and embrace the moment for what it is; instead of trying to figure out how to contain, sell and market it to and for others.  We should also allow those moments to pass so that we can press on forward into the next thing God wants to do in us and with us.  We are NEVER supposed to try and bottle, contain and sell the things that God does before and within us.  That would all but eliminate most products sold in “Christian” bookstores these days.
                        When we try to extend a move of The Spirit beyond its God ordained lifespan things always get weird.  The Toronto blessing in the 1990’s may have been a real Spiritual blessing and event, but trying to keep it going to draw bigger crowds was a huge mistake.  Worse yet was trying to turn it into a franchise in other locations.  When we focus on yesterday’s manna, we end up missing the next great thing God wants us to know and experience.  “His mercies are new every morning”, so please allow yesterday to pass so that we can fully welcome and embrace Him anew again each and every day and moment.
                    Love and……..
Kirk Out !
From → Uncategorized

19 Comments
  1. Once again I apologize for the formatting of this blog post. WordPress would not allow me to publish with proper paragraph breaks. However, I was able to insert extreme indentations at the beginning of each paragraph. Hopefully that made this post more reader friendly.

  2. “The Toronto blessing in the 1990’s may have been a real Spiritual blessing and event, but trying to keep it going to draw bigger crowds was a huge mistake. Worse yet was trying to turn it into a franchise in other locations.”

    Bro Kirk, I’m not convinced the Toronto Blessing was the real deal, but in any case, they are trying to repackage that here in my town of “Truth or Consequences, NM. (something in a name eh?)

    Anyway, I don’t have a good feeling about it, because they are bringing in the former “super stars” from the original Pensacola Outpouring as well as trying to capitalize on the Azusa Street phenomenon. No matter their intention, it appears to be just as you have said here, and it’s like a confirmation to me…I’m not getting that warm and fuzzy feeling about it. Not at all. The members are all excited, and apparently sincere and loving the Lord,and seem to be wanting revival, but..I don’t want them to be deceived. I don’t have a good feeling about the fiery young pastor that’s leading this either. I have not spoken out against him, I’m just praying and waiting for more discernment and for the Lord to give me more on this. However, the Lord is Sovereign………..but like you said, He want’s us to LISTEN TO HIM, not super stars or fancy, popular, preachers who are good at talking, but to HIM, King Jesus.

    • Scarlett, I am thankful to be used as a source of confirmation for you. A lot about this is money. They think more showmanship will bring bigger crowds and more success in the offering plates. What we all really need is the simplicity of CHrist, NOT a fancy show. I am glad you shared Scarlett. YOU are always in my prayers.

      • I agree. This going on and all the while the old plea for money, donations and tithes, using the old familiar text out of the Law to coerce money out of the people. I’m not against supporting the Lord’s true ministers, but church preachers, not so much. I’ve seen and experienced all too much of this type programming to be drawn or impressed. I wish I could gather with these people, and their apparent joy, but I just don’t feel led to support this “revival”,and what I feel has a tinge of falseness about it.
        I do so long for fellowship, one on one, but have just not been allowed to go back into that church setting. That said…alone for many years. Why, I don’t know exactly. It hasn’t been easy.You know, the last experience was so bad in the last church I went to, that it was as if the gifts of the Spirit the Lord was moving me into had a bucket of cold water thrown over me. But the Lord moved me into spiritual discernment to see what was really going on.
        Anyways, yes, of course you are so right Kirk and I appreciate that…as well as the very needed prayers.
        Lord Jesus bless and heal you in the area you need. I too have experienced abuse…just not in the same way, but with PTSD, anxiety attacks and serious depression for 7 long years before the Lord delivered and saved me. Some of the scar tissue was still there. The enemy has tried to bring that back on me, but the Lord has shown me to resist, resist and resist. Not easy, but is any of this easy when you want healing and to make Jesus first? No. It’s just worth it all. But we keep fighting and contending. I fall down sometimes but the Lord has been so good to pick me up again one way or another and set me on my feet again spiritually. We can do nothing without Him, just as He said.
        Amen Bro, prayers going out for you as well .

    • I don’t mean to interrupt the thread, and I am clearly not trying to usurp anyone; I’m not a bible scholar, but I do get it that Father Yahweh did say Listen to Him, (Jesus). He didn’t say listen to them:, (Moses and Elijah).

      • Thank you for that word of confirmation and clarity Scarlett. I wholeheartedly agree with you.

  3. PS: Kirk, your WordPress formatting issue might be solved by simply changing themes…which is easy and brings along all your previous posts so that nothing is lost. I’ve done it, and that’s one thing that WordPress seems to do well.

  4. Scarlett, you “church” experience is far too the same as many others have experienced and far too often. I deeply appreciate your prayers. LIke you said my struggles are not easy, but they are worth it if they bring me closer to Christ and HIs Body.

  5. Zelos permalink

    “In all my days I have rarely heard any commentary on the transfiguration…
    (True, ‘sermons’ are generally very shallow, yet in written material, commentaries, dictionaries, theology books there is plenty written on the transfiguration)

    … but I am going to give it a shot here today. The main thing that I get out of this passage is that we should listen to Jesus first and foremost above all, and not The Law, or The Prophets… (What you said is ‘not’ said in the passage. No where does it imply or say we should ‘not’ listen to the Law, nor ‘foremost’ Jesus – over His own OT/NT Word. Rather the Trans. affirms Jesus ‘also’. Jesus also exhorts teaches, affirms and confirms the OT. It is soon revealed later that Jesus explains and ‘is’ the Word. The trans. and the appearance of the two has nothing to do with saying Moses or Elijah are not as important anymore, this actually this affirms Moses and Elijah, and thus ‘verifies’ Jesus as being able to speak with the ‘same’ authority)

    …Moses clearly represents the Law and Elijah the Prophets, but The Father said listen to my Son. Sure reading and studying the Law and the Prophets in the Old Testament can be helpful at times, but our main focus should be on Jesus and the New Covenant at all times. And wherever the Old Covenant and Testament seems to contradict Jesus we should always go with and obey the way that Jesus taught and viewed things. The Father clearly said listen to Jesus, so that is exactly what I am going to do” (Jesus is THE LORD, so as the Word of God speaks and The Word is The OT, so it is Jesus who speaks in the OT, ‘they’ are GOD. There is no contradiction, maybe only a lack of understanding, most likely a lack of understanding of the Old Covenant and how it was ‘fulfilled’ in the New. God never changes, and the OT God is the New Testament God, Yeshua Yahweh)

    • Zelos, thank you for sharing even though we don’t agree 100%. Jesus is The Word, not any portion of the scripture old or new.

  6. Hi Christopher,

    I’ve thought about your conclusion before in relation to writing for other people what seems to me to be a revelation of some truth to me. You write these wonderful posts as do a number of other people. Between the revealing and the making of temples, writing is a much less permanent and less concrete thing, but I’ve puzzled over whether to do it or not based on similar ideas as are here in this post. How do you decide whether to post something to the blog for other to read?

    Thanks and blessings,

    Win

    • Great question Win! I pray about it and run it past a dear brother and go with the witness of the Holy Spirit Win. It really is that simple. I am also open to correction and other points of view here. IMHO everything is open to question and re-evaluation, even the scriptures themselves. I hope this answer helps Win?

  7. Jonathan Lindvall permalink

    Franchising yesterday’s manna: Wow! These are some powerful mixed metaphors. Living with Jesus in the moment is the essence of “resting in Christ.” Some edifying, provocative thoughts here.

    • Jonathan, thank you for your affirmation of these thoughts and musings. Resting in Christ in the moment is a major key of being a true disciple and brother.

  8. Dan permalink

    The Father’s answer to those who have had encounters with His Son and then desire to build a building is “Listen to Him”. If they truly listened to Jesus, they would not hear Him telling them to build a structure of brick and mortar. He is not into that. Instead, they would be hearing Jesus say to partner with Him, as wise master builders, to build a spiritual house of living stones.

  9. Zelos permalink

    The written Word of God is living and is Gods Word, when Jesus came down He revealed The already written Word in The flesh, its that simple. Otherwise love all your posts, and you make hundreds of great points Mr Kirk. Luv ya man.

  10. Thank you Zelos, no one agrees 100% all of the time. Thanks for the affirmation too. Love you too man!

Leave a Reply

