Skip to content

Always Follow The Spirit’s Leading Along The Way

August 25, 2016

Greetings,

“Now listen, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or to that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.”  Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow.  What is your life?  You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.  Instead, you ought to say, “If it is the Lord’s will we will live and do this or that.”  As it is, you boast and brag.  All such boasting is evil.  Anyone, then who knows the good he ought to do and does not do it, sins.”      James 4: 13-17

This passage is just packed with excellent and difficult admonishments.  Like don’t tell Jesus what you are going to do and just do it.  No check with Jesus first to see if it is His will, or your will, to do whatever needs to be done in the first place.  There are so many things we do in our daily lives that we do without any guidance or approval from The Lord, but that is not the most excellent way to do things, is it?  This begs the question,,,,are we really supposed to do ANYTHING out of mere rote and habit?  I don’t think so!  God should always be sought and allowed to interfere in ALL of our affairs. Many times while driving I pray for the Spirit to lead me in ALL of my day, and there have been several times (if not more) when HE told me directly to take another route.  Only later to find out that my normal route would have had me in the location of a major accident.  Better yet, on the new route that He led me to I have had amazing things happen, including folks getting rides and beginning a new or deeper relationship with Jesus.

What does this passage speak concerning our times of fellowship or “worship services”?  Should we really start at 11 am Sunday, pray, sing 3 songs, take up an offering, sing some more, hear a sermon and close with another song and a prayer???????  Week after week, year after year, decade after decade?  It is my assertion that being locked into that type of, or similar, pattern is just not God’s will.  Do we care about that?  Should we not rather seek God continually and then allow His will to invade and move us in the way HE desires us to go?  Even relational housechurches get into ruts like this, and I don’t think He is pleased about that at all.  Knowing what we are going to always do ahead of time I suggest is not a blessing, but rather a curse.  We need to be free in Him and allow His Spirit to lead us in all things great or small.

Then there is that last verse…If we know what is good and we don’t do it…we sin.  Yikes!  This tells me that I really need Jesus; because I sin often according to this verse.  But who doesn’t? Specifically, I know that it is good for me to check with Him before I do anything of meaning or substance on my own and if I do not, I boast, brag and sin.  Beyond that whenever He puts me in a situation to do something good for someone, and I do not do it, I sin.  Sin, sin, sin……..  What are we supposed to do???  It is quite simple really, surrender unto Him in all things and allow HIM to correct us on the fly along the way.  NEVER discount HIS Grace!  NOTHING should be set in stone. We should always check with Him concerning everything substantial that we do.  He is The Lord and we need to be following His will and not our own.  We are totally free to ask Him anything and everything.   Jesus is not a micro-managing, anal retentive, control freak.  HE just cares for us so much that HE is always there 24/7 to bounce our ideas off of.  So why not take full advantage of this great and ultimate resource in our lives?

Love and……

Kirk Out !

P.s. To Clarify, all it is really about is BEing in Him and allowing Him to flow through you in every moment.  That takes a surrender, but BEing in Him is a joy and not a burden.  If you feel burdened in your walk with Jesus, then it is time to re-evaluate everything; starting with your very own relationship with Him and all that He truly is, was, and will be.

P.s.s.  Jesus is supposed to be our Lord and King, but many do not even use Him as a consultant yet alone Lord.  Do we pray and seek His will as we ought to?  Many times HE is not even consulted on where to go to college, what career path we should take, who we should marry, where we should live, or how we ought to church.  I feel that ignoring Him in our decision making can lead us into peril instead of blessing.  Today I choose to surrender and yield to Christ every portion of my life and future.  How about you?

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

12 Comments
  1. This is all very true and wise Brother Chris. And something we need to take careful heed of. Your message was very timely for me this very day, as a very strong spirit from the enemy via my neighbor, has manifested against me in a very pushy sort of way demanding action, controversy, debate. communication and argument right now! Trying to push the door open and fight with me.
    I am refusing to cave in to this and allow it, and have secluded myself, peacefully, as the Lord has shown me before that when spiritual warfare arises, (and it will), to do NOTHING until I have prayed and inquired of Him as to the course of action He wants me to take. And bless God, He is. I am so grateful that He even showed me ahead of time this attack was coming, and to wait upon Him to work it out according to His guidance.
    Not saying I couldn’t use some prayer…though 🙂

    PS: Why is it when you humble yourself and try to get along peacefully with folks, they invariably take it for weakness? Well, as if I didn’t already know…the enemy is just a bully and will use whoever is available.

    • Scarlett, I am certainly praying for you and your current situation. The enemy is a bully and thrives on confusion and strife. The enemy hates peace and will always rail against it, but we win because our Lord is the Prince of Peace. Hang in there dear sister!

  2. Thanks so much for praying for me…I will hang in there bro. It’s never a fun thing when we get 2×4’d by one of these poor individuals, but after all, we must remember they are just obeying their master and their impulses. It’s only a test, and yes, we will win because our Lord Jesus Christi is our champion. And He never loses.
    Grace and peace be multiplied to you my friend…

    • No problem Scarlett I Love to pray and commune with our Lord. HE has you covered in HIS divine protection and grace.

  3. What the Lord Jesus has impressed on me this morning when I inquired of the Lord why I am in this God forsaken place.
    . Amazing is truly what He is. What a privilege to be a child of His.

    Conquest of the Land

    20“Behold, I am going to send an angel before you to guard you along the way and to bring you into the place which I have prepared. 21“Be on your guard before him and obey his voice; do not be rebellious toward him, for he will not pardon your transgression, since My name is in him. 22“But if you truly obey his voice and do all that I say, then I will be an enemy to your enemies and an adversary to your adversaries. 23“For My angel will go before you and bring you in to the land of the Amorites, the Hittites, the Perizzites, the Canaanites, the Hivites and the Jebusites; and I will completely destroy them. 24“You shall not worship their gods, nor serve them, nor do according to their deeds; but you shall utterly overthrow them and break their sacred pillars in pieces. 25“But you shall serve the LORD your God, and He will bless your bread and your water; and I will remove sickness from your midst. 26“There shall be no one miscarrying or barren in your land; I will fulfill the number of your days. 27“I will send My terror ahead of you, and throw into confusion all the people among whom you come, and I will make all your enemies turn their backs to you. 28“I will send hornets ahead of you so that they will drive out the Hivites, the Canaanites, and the Hittites before you. 29“I will not drive them out before you in a single year, that the land may not become desolate and the beasts of the field become too numerous for you. 30“I will drive them out before you little by little, until you become fruitful and take possession of the land. 31“I will fix your boundary from the Red Sea to the sea of the Philistines, and from the wilderness to the River Euphrates; for I will deliver the inhabitants of the land into your hand, and you will drive them out before you. 32“You shall make no covenant with them or with their gods. 33“They shall not live in your land, because they will make you sin against Me; for if you serve their gods, it will surely be a snare to you.” Exodus 23

  4. Sue heumann permalink

    Praying for you today, Scarlett! God is leading you sweetly!!!

    • There you go again Sue, using your Christ-given gift of encouragement. Totally groovy!

  5. I am amazed and greatly humbled by so many Christians greater than I for sure, that grace these blogs with words and prayers of encouragement. Thank you all and may the Lord Jesus bless you.

    I don’t always, or even usually …know how to handle a difficult situation, but the Lord has to remind me of my place, not to worry about it, but whatever it is….to lay it down before Him and let Him deal with it. To trust Him to work it out no matter what is going on.

    • SCarlett, you are my sister and equal sibling peer here. NO one is greater than anyone else here. All we are is beggars telling other beggars where to find the Bread of life. Love you sister!

  6. Sue heumann permalink

    Ditto, wow, yes, equal! What. Tremendous thing! Everyone has something from the Lord….what a beautiful way to show the body of Christ, is t it? So different from the world!!! Praises!

    • Thanks for sharing Sue. If we are not different from the world we are not truly following Jesus.

Leave a Reply

