Skip to content

A Very Deep Sense Of Knowing

August 23, 2016

Greetings,

“His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our KNOWLEDGE of Him who called us by His own glory and goodness.  Through these He has given us His very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the divine nature and escape the corruption in the world caused by evil desires.  For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge, and to knowledge, self control; and to self control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness, love.  For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your KNOWLEDGE of our Lord Jesus Christ.”  2 Peter 1: 3-8

Wow what great words!  Jesus has given us EVERYTHING we need for life and godliness.  Sure we still will face troubles and obstacles in this life, but in Him we have all the power, love, support and tools we need to overcome our momentary woes.  With our knowledge of Him we can press on through the problems and into the solutions.  However, the knowledge spoken of in this passage is NOT that of a mere intellectual ascent.  What it is all about in the Greek text is knowing Him as in TOUCHING Him, through actually experiencing Him and His touch in our daily lives.   This is not about mere book, bible or head knowledge.    It is about intimately walking with and knowing Him in our heart, mind, and most inward places.  I know I say it a lot, but it is all about knowing and responding to His Voice.  His sheep hear His voice and obey.  (John 10)  Think of your closest friend and how you relate to and know them, then multiply that by infinity.  He wants to walk with us and be with us, and lead and guide us, moment by moment each and every moment of every single day. If you have not experienced this type of deep relationship with Jesus I suggest that you seek, ask and invite Him to invade your life to an even greater degree than He already has.  Jesus wants to reveal Himself to all of us in this manner.  He is fully extending Himself to everyone and we need to just take one small step in His direction and He will meet us right where we are, and His love will bridge any distance to envelop and fill us with the power of His touch.

Jesus never promised us that everything we go through in this life would be joyful and easy. However, He did say He would be with us every single step of the way.  I know what it is like to have a lengthy affliction or problem and to suffer.  I also know what it is like to pray and ask for freedom from my woes.  Sometimes He totally lifts my burdens from me, other times He does not.  I do not know why.  What I do know is that I am still here even though I have faced death numerous times in this life.  I am coming to understand what perseverance means.  I do know that He is totally with me in every aspect of my life and these days that has become enough to get me through even the darkest of times.  It is my hope that all of you will discover and know Him in this very deep and intimate manner also.

Love and …….

Kirk Out !

 

 

From → Uncategorized

12 Comments
  1. Amen, my brother! ❤

  2. Thank you for that affirmation Michael

  3. Tom Ball permalink

    Wonderful passage.

  4. Sue heumann permalink

    Beautiful! The GOD of the universe wants us to KNOW HIM INTIMATELY. . . . let me mull over that FOREVER………

    • YES Sue!!! God wants us in His life. HE is NOT some self absorbed loner, but rather a gregarious lover of us all. Thank God!

  5. Sue heumann permalink

    Love your description Christopher🎉‼️😍

  6. Gary Zanow permalink

    Amen, Chris.

  7. Dan permalink

    There’s nothing like His voice. Nothing. When it comes, there is a tone and tenour that is only His. You just know it’s His voice. Immediately my raging soul and disturbed spirit take notice and listen as “EF Hutton speaks”. It is always perfectly what I need to hear. I am always mysteriously put to rest after He speaks. His voice really is food to my inner man.

    • That’s right Dan. There is no substitute for HIS Voice. It always calms any storm I may find myself in and when HE speaks I am filled with an amazing peace that transcends any problem or situation.

Leave a Reply

