Skip to content

Will You Please Listen?

August 21, 2016

Greetings,

You know what I hate?  I hate the first two questions people always ask you when they find out that you are a believer of some sort.  The first question is always, “Where do you go to Church?”, and the second question is always “Who is your Pastor/Leader?”  I hate the questions even though I have pretty good answers.  My answer to question one is “I don’t go to Church because it is impossible to go to what you are.  Because the Church is the people not the building or location.   You might go to the place the church gathers, but you cannot go to Church.   Read my T-shirt?  Don’t Go To Church….BE The Church!”  The answer to the second question is even easier…”I follow Jesus, because Jesus is the only true Leader in the Church!”  Most people agree with me when I spell it out that way, and the few that don’t get it just walk away.

I was in the grocery store last year and a lady who worked with me at our local Pregnancy Helpline asked me if our home fellowship was doing “The 50 day Spiritual Adventure?”  I said “No, we are all about the 365 days a year adventure”  We laughed, but I think I made my point, and yes she still talks with me and remains a friend.

I say all that to ask this one very important question…… Does a true follower of Jesus really NEED a Pastor/Teacher/Leader?  Seriously, think about that before you answer too quickly?  Because 1 John 2: 27 says this:

“As for you, the anointing you received from Him remains in you, and you do not need anyone to teach you.  But as His anointing teaches you about all things and as that anointing is real, not counterfeit – just as it has taught you, remain in Him.”

In context this passage is warning about antichrists and false teaching, but verse 27 is rock solid clear to me:  Jesus gave us His anointing and His anointing teaches us all things without the need of a human teacher.  The traditional church manages to tap dance all around this message, but there it is clear as day.  But doesn’t the Bible talk about apostles, prophets, evangelists and pastor/teachers?  Sure it does in a few places, but these giftings never replace His anointing and direct revelation.  If anything they are meant for confirmation of His anointing.  The real antichrist and false teaching is that you NEED these people OVER you and that you should trust them over and above His anointing.

“So Captain are you telling me that I can hear directly from God for myself?”  The answer is YES, absolutely!  So you better start listening to Him instead of traditional church doctrine and its teachers.  It may take awhile to develop a listening ear and heart, but I guarantee that His anointing is real.  You want to learn about Jesus?  Then just start hanging around other Christ followers who have and use His anointing.  Share what you think you are hearing from Jesus and your peers can help you determine what is of Him and what is not.  Do not be afraid of being wrong because that is how we best learn.  “My sheep hear My voice and obey.” said Jesus.  So listen, share and then listen and share some more!

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

p.s.  I am not saying that we don’t need each other in the Body of Christ.  What I am saying is that everyone in the Body is special and anointed and not just a select few.  I have been taught much by His anointing via and through other saints, both living and long dead.  I even read the occasional book other than the bible, but when I turn to others I am still really listening for Him, His voice, His message and His anointing in and through them.

 

 

From → Uncategorized

17 Comments
  1. Dan permalink

    A correct response to “take me to your leader” would be “let’s go to my Leader together now and both of us listen to what He has to say”.

  2. daryl permalink

    Very much agree,and have always been encouraged by that verse(1John 2:7).Concerning the need of apostles,prophets,evangelists,pastors,teachers ….it is my opinion that AT THE TIME when the Church was in it’s early stages,there was a need,and elders were appointed because Scripture was still in progress,and the teachings of grace were revolutionary,foreign and contrary, to the Jew certainly and Gentiles as well. With the completed Scripture and the indwelling Holy Spirit,there is not a NEED to be under some leader/pastor/teacher. The organized church generally misteaches the passage from Ephesians 4 in my opinion…that the gifts mentioned there are not spiritual gifts,but rather spirit-gifted men that are Christs gift to the Church. Can anyone honestly think that every pastor/teacher today is Christs gift to us?(especially when so many mix law and grace). They also give that passage a “local church” application predominately,though the passage is concerning the One Body of Christ.The purpose of those gifts were maturity…not to forever be under someone.

    • Daryl, thanks for sharing. The Holy Spirit from the moment it was given has always been good enough to guide and teach us the things of Christ with or without the scriptures. Both women and men can be gifted to help bring the church to maturity. BUt these giftings ALWAYS work from among the Body of Christ and NOT from any place ABOVE it. These gifts are to be used AS NEEDED within the Body and not as a full time gig.

  3. Yvonne prentice permalink

    Love what you are saying. For the past year we have been His body, the church, that meets at home usually we are between 8 to 12 people and it is so refreshingly real It is such a beautiful change from what I think feels like the difference between fresh baked, home made, apple pie – not perfect but so much more real and wholesome than frozen reheated apple pie of the traditional church service we attended. We share our lives with the ups and downs, we worship and pray, we eat laugh and even cry together and it is bliss to enjoy the presence of Jesus together. Thankyou for being s spokes person for authentic Christianity.

    • Yvonne, you honor me with those words and I surrender that honor to Christ alone. I am glad that you have found true fellowship and what it truly means to Be The Body of Christ. YOu are right..homemade is far superior to store bought. Thanks for sharing your portion here with us.

  4. Good word brother!

  5. firstthekingdom, thank you for that confirmation of the Truth in Love.

  6. Kevin permalink

    I’m really struggling with this, right now. Not because I disagree, but because I do agree and how people respond to it, as a result. For as much as people like to say they “follow the Bible” (which is a topic of its own), when you try to use the very scriptures people say they follow to help them see that church (the physical meeting place and activities that take place there) and church leadership, as we know it, are not found in the Bible, they are so immersed in the traditional/orthodox idea of what church is, that you are seen as one who seeks to lead people away from truth and they distance themselves from you. Little do they know that this is exactly where generations of believers have been led; led away from the truly Spirit-led life that God has always desired for His people. I make no claims of living a perfect Spirit-led life, but I believe that our religious systems of today do more to hinder that life than help it.

    Something that has really stood out to me in recent months, is that the resistance and persecution the early Church faced was not at the hands of the unbelieving world, but the religious world. When Jesus said “in this world you will have trouble,” in John 16, He was saying it in the context of a warning to His disciples that “the time is coming when anyone who kills you will think they are offering a service to God. They will do such things because they have not known the Father or me” (John 16:2-3). Jesus wasn’t warning the disciples about the unbelieving world’s response to the preaching of the gospel, like is taught today, but response of the religious world and systems of the day; a religious world and system that looks very similar to our own, in many ways.

    This gives me comfort (and check me on this, because I am not above misunderstanding), because just as Jesus encouraged the disciples, telling them in John 15, ““If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated me first. If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own,” we also face resistance by the world today. Perhaps not to the point of death, at least in the U.S., but resistance nonetheless. Someone may push back and point out that Jesus specifically says “the world,” rather than the Jews, or the religious, which is true. However, if we keep reading, Jesus goes on to say at the end of chapter 15, “But this is to fulfill what is written in their Law…”. According to Strong’s He is referring to the Mosaic Law. So it seems that Jesus is specifically equating “the world” with the religious world, rather than the non-religious world. If I’m understanding this correctly, I find comfort in it. It makes me sad, but it helps knowing that this is exactly what Jesus said would happen.

    • Kevin, I feel I see this the same as you do. Problem is the modern traditional/institutional “Church” is part of the world system and operates according to its structure and rules. Instead of being led by the Holy Spirit The ‘Church” uses the world’s military model of Leadership and human chain of command. And also the world’s business model of Pastor as CEO and fund raising. The modern “Church” runs like a business instead of a Spiritual family. They love their building/Battleship and will wage war against anyone who rocks their big boat. The true faith will follow anyone who has Christ’s anointing in the moment, while they only follow the ones who they have given earthly power to rule them like a Pastor. It makes me sad that the vast majority of believers are duped by this world system and that they follow it and defend it until their ruin. All we can do is pray and selectively interact with them as the Spirit leads us. Religion hates relationship, because relationship exposes religion for the horror it really truly is. Thanks for sharing Kevin. I appreciate your heart.

    • "BK" permalink

      Kevin, I appreciated your response (and the blog and all the responses). So very few people realize the biggest persecution comes from religion, especially the religion of Christianity. I have been thrown out of houses (literally….with my clothes still in the washer and had to leave to a laundromat to finish the load 🙂 ) because as we had a ‘Bible’ discussion I kept saying, “Wait! It doesn’t say that!” Then we would read the verses verbatim and they’d add the other words of twisting. I’d say, “But you added those words. Let’s read it again….”. I was nice but got thrown out lock, stock and barrel anyway. The end of the story is several years down the road he did apologize. The blend of government and religion is exactly why I am uneasy when a ‘Christian president’ comes into power. It is my belief if persecution does come to us it won’t be from Muslims, it will be from the religious system we won’t bow to. Anyway….great stuff! It is good to be free. Love, “BK”

      • Thank you for your response BK. YOu are right systematic religion brings about the worst persecution of any type. And when you speak against their idols and sacred cows you will receive their wrath. My abusive father was at his worst when he was being religious. He was never a member of a “church”, but he read the bible and twisted its meaning to attack me when I attempted to share Jesus with Him. Our last fight happened when I nearly 14 and I tried to share the true Gospel of Grace and Love with him. He stomped and covered his ears and screamed his judgmental words at me. Then he hit me upside my head with a shovel and left me for dead alongside the highway. When I regained concusousness I was alone and would never live under his roof again. I did not see him again until I was 18 and all he wanted to do was argue scripture and religion even though he never repented or acknowledged his abuse towards me or my mother. He went to his grave unrepentant. On his deathbed I washed his feet and forgave him, but he continued to deny any wrongdoing whatsoever on his part. Religion argues and covers up, relationship converses and uncovers.

      • Kevin permalink

        Thanks for the responses, guys. It’s always nice to know we’re not alone in this.

  7. Perfect Word!

    • Christ alone is perfect yet He still speaks through this imperfect vessel. Glory to Christ alone.

  8. It is the difference between Logos and Rhema!
    What we need more than anything is to be continually in tune with His Indwelling Holy Spirit so that we receive Daily His Rhema… His Fresh Word for each new day.

Leave a Reply

