Skip to content

Neither Heaven Nor Hell

August 13, 2016

Greetings,

“…..  They broke bread in their homes and ate together with glad and sincere hearts, praising God and enjoying the favor of all the people.”  Acts 2: 46-47

We just finished having some totally sweet fellowship here in my home this afternoon.  My place was packed and we had some great participation from all who gathered here.  We ate shredded Italian beef, mashed potatoes, green bean casserole, cheesecake and snickerdoodles.  That sure beats a wafer and a thimble full of grape juice any day in my book.  We sang original songs to the Lord and were blessed with 3 guitars and 4 guitarists.  It was just a very awesome time together!

During our free and open, Spirit led conversation we touched on several topics including God’s unlimited patience with us, the difference between the wide and narrow gates and a bit on heaven and hell.  I shared about how heaven and hell have never been a big part of my personal theology. Jesus began speaking to me when I was a child and that was a topic I don’t remember ever coming up much at all.  I am not a follower of Jesus because I am afraid of hell or lured by heaven.  I follow Him simply because He is True and He loves me.  The Lord has used me numerous times to help lead others to Him, but I am happy to report that I have never used the threat of hell as leverage to win a single convert.  The promise of heaven is not something I use to coerce others towards the faith either.  All I do is speak is speak the truth in love and allow The Spirit to do His work.

I follow Jesus because He is real and He has proven Himself to me over and over again in this life. However, I do tell people of His grace and mercy and of the numerous times He has brought healing to me in many forms.  He was with me as a child holding me and comforting me as my earthly father raped and abused me.  As an adult He has helped through a maze of emotions these past 17 years dealing with the PTSD and horrific flashbacks caused by the childhood abuse.  When I was 24 He literally raised me from my deathbed completely healing me of degenerative kidney disease and having only 6 months to live without a transplant.  I know Him because I have experienced Him in a very real and authentic way.  My faith has come from hearing Him up close and personal and for this I am extremely thankful.

Please take time to ask yourself a simple question…. Why do I follow Jesus?  Spend some time on that and see what you come up with.  The answer might just surprise you.  Spend some quality time with Him and ask Him ANY questions that you can think of.  Have a conversation with Him and just see what happens.  I know that some Christians rarely approach Him in this manner, but I have been conversing with Jesus in this simple way for 50 years now and I have NEVER been disappointed with His answers.

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

12 Comments
  1. Swiss Hart permalink

    The Kingdom of God is within, we just need to make an appointment…

    • I hear you Swiss and if you haven’t made an appointment walk ins are welcome. Today is the day of salvation.

  2. Tom Ball permalink

    What a solid, uplifting, encouraging blog post! Love it when Truth lovingly draws people toward Jesus. This did my heart good.

  3. Sue heumann permalink

    I wrote this a.m. But forgot to push ‘post’…..but I love this question. He is the lover of our soul……after all the books are said and done, it all boils down to Jesus love for us and what that love entails….. fathomless blessing in our lives.
    I’m so glad that Jesus loves me and will be with me forever!!! Wow!

  4. Sue heumann permalink

    Let’s party for His love!!!!!

  5. "BK" permalink

    Wonderfully encouraging. Interesting….in all his writings Paul never once mentions ‘heaven or hell’. Love, “BK”

  6. I Follow Him because I Love Him…
    And I Love Him because He First Loved me with an Absolute Amazing Undescribable Everlasting Agape Love!
    Amen!

Leave a Reply

