Skip to content

Unity? We Are One In Christ!

August 9, 2016

Greetings,

“How good and pleasant it is when brothers (and sisters) live together in unity!  It is like precious oil poured on the head, running down on the beard, running down on Aaron’s beard, down upon the collar of his robes.  It is as if the dew of Hermon were falling on Mount Zion.  For there The Lord bestows (commands) His blessing, even life forevermore.”  Psalm 133

That is one of my favorite passages in all of scripture.  It is short, but full of great meaning.  (Just like my best friend)  The concept of unity in the Church is something that is extremely difficult to find these days.  When I look for unity in the “Church” my view is obscured by the mass variety of denominations out there.  To denominate means to divide, which is the opposite of true unity. Battle lines have been drawn over doctrines and practices and the Church suffers over it, and in turn our witness to the world is constricted and damaged.  Add to this the largest division in the “Church”… the Clergy/Laity divide and what we have left is a far cry from any sort of true unity.

I know of many relationship based housechurches and relate to dozens more that really attempt to live out the type of unity spoken of in Psalm 133.  When we come together we do so as mutual peers and siblings in The Lord and not with any divisions and pecking orders that esteem some members over and above others.  When we gather Jesus is fully recognized as our only Head and we rely on The Holy Spirit to direct every member to speak and function as HE wills.  In this way the whole Body builds itself up in love as each part does its work. (Eph. 4:16)

Because we surrender to this type of unity every member benefits and The Lord does indeed bestow upon us His blessing.  To be able to walk in His blessing together is an awesome thing and because of this He allows us great freedom in seeking Him from a massive variety of perspectives. When you have unity converging with blessing…  He then grants us much liberty and diversity and because of this the fear of error and heresy melts away into great peace and love.  Any possible question can be asked when we gather together and without worry of one’s faith being called into question.  Because if we can’t ask the tough theological and practical questions in an open, free and Spirit led gathering, where will they ever be asked, if at all?

When followers of Jesus decide to divide instead of working all their differences out on the threshing floor of open and free fellowship we all lose.  Jesus is supposed to be lifted up, but I say we let Him down when we chose not to unite on the simple basis of His great love and ultimate sacrifice.  I fellowship with people of diverse theology all the time and when we disagree instead of walking away from one another, together we turn to Jesus and allow our differences to be put aside (for the time being)  for His greater purpose.  For if we agree that Jesus is our Lord and Savior… who shall separate us?

Love and……

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. Sue heumann permalink

    My daughter is going thru a possible relationship breakup…I think…and asked me to share this which encouraged her so much…is there a space limit? It’s long!!…..she has been with this group of friends for years now, and it’s a wonderful display of Ekklesia….”
    “Steph said on our way home, that my prayer was so very real..thst re salt spoke to her or something. I was bawling my eyes out, because the love that my friends have here for me, requires me to be vulnerable and open up and tell my REAL heart. To say what’s hurting in my life, what’s actually going on, what’s good in my life, etc…..EVERYTHING. I wish everyone had friends like that. It would then be a church. But that is what you have to work for. You have to look so deeply at a person when they are speaking to you, and look past WHAT they are speaking ABOUT, and hear their heart. That’s what I want for you and dad. Care so deeply for someone and their well being, that you end up not even caring what they know or don’t know, or what they wanna talk about or what they don’t wanna talk about. You just care about them. That’s how you get close enough to each other to build a true church, and then you walk with each other through everything. Steph, Ethan, Sarah, Bryan , and I have our church, because we could walk away from each other so frustrated with one of us, and then when one of us isn’t there, be like “dude, what’s going on with so and so? We need to pray for them right now.
    Love for each other’s well being, spiritual and physical, is the binding ingredient. Take it from me who has experienced it and is still experiencing it. It is exactly like brothers and sisters. You can be mad at each other, and still be together and help each other. Because why? Because you love each other.
    We also often disagree on view points. Beliefs within our Christianity. Beliefs within our Christianity are not what binds us together. I cannot stress this enough. It is the love that we have for each other that comes from inside. From Christ. Bob had something to say that he thought was important enough to stop me and say it. The fact that he wanted to tell me something that was important to him to say to me, is what touches and moves me so much.
    Ethan had things to say, and was adamant that he say them, and so I remember this. He is adamant that I need to be sought out and found by the man in the relationship. Steph didn’t have much to say this time but by the way she was looking at me, she was hurting so badly for me. Bryan hugged me and let me lay on him while we were sittin on te couch outside on the porch. And he hugged me for so long. Sarah asked me how I was doing, if I was doin better than yesterday. All 5 of these responses showed me that I was loved beyond measure, with the love of Christ.
    Jesus doesn’t require us to agree on theological beliefs within our Christianity in order to connect and be deep with each other. If we separate ourselves from other Christians because they don’t connect with us in a certain area, then we are preventing God’s love from doing it’s job, which is to unify his body, and allow it to function with everyone saying and doing their part as a part of the body of Christ, wherever they are at. We cannot love each other If we are not willing to try to meet people where they are at.
    If I could live this day over again and again, I would. And if I could let everyone in this world experience a day like this…just one day…I would. Because the pain I was feeling was brought to a level of defeating Satan and his terrible self. And I don’t know exactly how it worked, but it happened. I think it was like Gordy said today. When we are despondent and down and out, that is the time when satan is gonna try to get us. With everything negative he possibly can. So then today, everything positive that could have possibly happened, happened. God helped me to easily shirk the legalistic yucky things I heard from my friends that were said here and there, and then the rest was positive. We asked each other about our lives…our every day work. We talke about our ministries. We opened up about our struggles. We shared our plans. We prayed together. We sang together. We ate together. We cooked together. We cried together. We hugged. We laughed together! We said “I love you” a lot. Everything a family does….Hmmmm….what else is there? …we talked about spiritual things. If there’s anything you can think of, that I missed mentioning, we probably did it today.
    Oh, we skyped with our Christian friends who aren’t in the same place… We shared disappointments and disagreements. We got excited about each other’s accomplishments.”
    This was long….but beautiful to me….and I hope it has encouraged someone to see what true soul to soul fellow shipping can be. Thanks for morales firmChrista right now, by thenway😘👍🙏

    • Thanks for sharing that Sue. AS always LOVE is the answer. When we love and share our lives with one another we best exemplify what the church truly is. It is all about relationships people! Nothing more and nothing less.

    • "BK" permalink

      Wow….so well said.Thank you for sharing that, Sue. And your daughter too. Love, “BK”

  2. Sue heumann permalink

    Getting that………nthanks, Christopher…..hey I tagged u in a pic u might appreciate……

  3. Dan permalink

    The old adage applies – “having relationship trumps being right”

Leave a Reply

