Skip to content

In Space Dock

July 30, 2016

Greetings,

We all need some time once in awhile just to rest and recover from what life throws at us.  At times our resources just get so low that we need a break to recoup.  Jesus understands this and has this to say… “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”  (Matthew 11:28-30)

Rest from our burdens, that is exactly what we all need.  To be able to recharge and be refreshed is such a grand blessing.  Taking His yoke upon us is not such an easy concept or endeavor.  Yokes are meant for large beasts of burden like oxen or water buffalo  They are large and extremely cumbersome, but the key here is that we are to be yoked with Jesus.  He said to take HIS yoke upon us.  That means that Jesus is going to be right beside us step for step.  While yoked with Him we are also supposed to learn from Him…. What a concept?  What a reality?  The Lord of Lords and King of Kings wants to come alongside us and help us through our daily toils and beyond.  This is the way of Christ.  He comes ALONGSIDE us and teaches us from that humble place.  This is so unlike the way of “men”. Most “men” assume that the teacher needs to be OVER their students.  The way of Jesus is NOT the way of human hierarchies or elevated platforms.  One follower of Jesus is NEVER supposed to be over and above another follower of Christ.  This simple fact exposes one of the major lies in all of modern traditional Christianity and religion.  If you find yourself sitting UNDER a Pastor you are settling for something far less than God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

What does Jesus teach us when we are yoked alongside Him?  He teaches us all things, but especially to be “gentle and humble in heart.”  We need to be careful to always make sure that it is Jesus there with us right beside us in His yoke.  Too many times we choose the wrong yoke with the wrong person. When we set off seeking power, esteem from others, or wealth we are in the wrong yoke with the wrong person.  Worse yet sometimes in our pride or rush to success we take off with no one in the yoke with us.  When that happens the other side of the yoke just digs into the ground and we end up just going around and around in worthless circles.

When we are alongside Jesus great things occur.  We find rest for our souls and a plethora of other benefits.  If you want to go where Jesus is going you need to freely accept His yoke.  This whole thing is totally voluntary.  Jesus will NEVER force His yoke upon you.  In my life I choose to be yoked with Him daily.  When I do this, He is with me and helps me along the way, step by step, side by side and moment by moment.  I have had enough of trying to push my way through this life all by myself.  I need help!  I need a Savior!  I need a Lord!  I need Jesus!  When I simply surrender to Him my yoke is easy and my burden is light.

Just who or what are you yoked with?  And how is that working out for you?

Love and …….

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. So good brother, such truth!

  2. Ramma permalink

    I think we are truly “yoked with Him” when we have complete peace and rest in the middle of the storm. That is what He’s teaching as we yoke ourselves to Him. That we can and should have complete rest always. Our recharging and refreshing doesn’t have to wait until we get together with someone or we go somewhere, but will happen every day as we walk through our life. For, after all, we are walking with the King of Kings and Lord of Lords. We couldn’t ask for anything or anyone better, can we? Blessings!

    • Thanks for sharing your portion of the Truth in Love with us here today Ramma. Yes, being yoked with Christ is the ultimate way to true peace and rest in our lives.

  3. Absolutely Spot on!

Leave a Reply

