Skip to content

Ahead Full Impulse Power

July 28, 2016

Greetings,

Following Jesus is rarely an easy endeavor.  He calls us to do some mighty difficult things at times. However, when the day is done we always have to ask ourselves the question… did I follow His will today or my own?  Far too often, in my life, I have to admit that I actually chose my own will over His.  At those difficult times He still always reminds me that His grace is sufficient for me.

Some of the most difficult things that Jesus said are found in Luke chapter 9.  In this chapter Jesus says to a man “Follow me”  and the man’s response is “first let me go bury my father.”  Then Jesus says to him “Let the dead bury their own dead, but you go and proclaim the Kingdom of God.”  Still another said “I will follow you Lord;  but first let me go back and say goodbye to my family.”  To that Jesus replied “No one who puts his hand to the plow and looks back is  worthy of me.”  This passage makes it very clear to me that Jesus calls us to go to extremes for Him.  The path He often places before us is neither comfortable or easy.

Just what did Jesus mean when He said that if we put our hand to the plow and look back we are not worthy of Him?  In my studies and with extra guidance from The Holy Spirit.  I have come to this conclusion… that Jesus desires that we put the plow to work on the hardness of our very own hearts.  Hosea 10:12 says “Sow for yourselves righteousness, reap the fruit of unfailing love, and break up your (fallow & hardened) unplowed ground; for it is time to seek the Lord until He comes..”  And while we are at work plowing our own hearts we are to keep looking forward directly at Jesus and not to the left or right or at our past.  Because He is much more concerned about where we are going than where we have been.

Jesus wants us to keep plowing and breaking up the hardness of our hearts.  He wants the soil of our hearts to be soft, pliable and broken up so that He can freely sow seeds of love, truth, mercy, grace and righteousness within us.  This is our mission and everyday task if we really want to reap the fruit of His unfailing love.

No one else can do this for you!  It is your heart and your very own responsibility.  No sister, brother, Pastor or anyone else can complete this task for you.  But always remember this is not done with your own strength or will.  This is done by His strength within you and by His will.  All we have to do is surrender and cooperate with Him.  If we truly surrender He will equip and empower us even better than the energizer bunny ever could ever imagine.  Jesus is a power plant of immense boundless proportions.

Life in this world can hit us pretty hard at times and many things can occur to us each day that tend to help us to harden our hearts towards Him and others.  But if we cooperate with Jesus and keep our hand to the plow of our own heart..He will see us through each and every time.  Remember “The one who calls you is faithful and He will do it.” (1 Thessalonians 5:24)

Love and…….

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

13 Comments
  1. "BK" permalink

    Let’s just underscore that, shall we? “…and He WILL do it”. Wow, how wonderful is that? Reminds me of the verse, “Not by might, nor by power but by MY SPIRIT saith the Lord.” Great post, Christopher. Love, “BK”

  2. Sue heumann permalink

    Wow….beautiful encouragement……reminds me of the song I sing nearly each day now….”I want to listen to you, Lord, I want to listen to you, morning, noon or night, I want to do what’s right I want to listen to you, Lord…..”….ever heard of it?…..a cool bro wrote and sings it and shared it w me!…. My ground is being broken up little by little and I hear Him more and more👍🙏💞

    • "BK" permalink

      Hey! I sing that song too! Absolutely love and am blessed by it! I even know the cool brother who wrote it! 🙂

      • Wow, two beautiful women called me “cool” in the very same day. My self esteem is rising high today. The Holy Spirit is awesome and HE does inspire each of us every day in some pretty amazing ways. So glad to have these two Spirit led sisters in Christ in my life.

  3. Wow Sue, you really sing the song I wrote nearly every day? That song was a gift the Spirit inspired in less than 5 minutes. The work the Lord is doing in you Sue is very clear and apparent. I love you my dear sister. You encourage me every day. Thanks for sharing your journey with us.

  4. Sue heumann permalink

    Yep…..now that I walk a dog every day I start my day out that way.,…..but ever since the searching together weekend I have sung it….it reminds me of the weekend, the encouraging God-loving family there, and the God we love so much!…..that was such an end appearing weekend to my sweet family around the country! 😍😍 luv u guys so much!

  5. It is wonderful when cyberfamily can also connect face to face. I am thankful for the internet.

  6. Tom Ball permalink

    Following and ploughing. That’l preach 🙂

    • Yes Tom it sure will. There is an old Bruce Carroll song I love called “I’d rather see a sermon than hear one any day”. How we live our lives is more important than what comes out of our mouths and people all around us are watching us. Saint Francis once said, “Preach the Gospel at all times and if necessary use words”.

  7. Dan permalink

    Not burying a father or saying goodbye to your family are both “legitament” excuses according to this world’s thinking. However, Jesus is constantly trying our hearts and putting opportunities before us to see if we will respond like David did in 2 Sam 24:24 – “I will not sacrifice to the LORD my God burnt offerings that cost me nothing”.

    • That is very true Dan. The simple truth is that it will cost us everything to follow Jesus and it will also cost us everything if we don’t. It is time to count the cost of being HIS disciple and then WILLINGLY pay it.

Leave a Reply

