Skip to content

“Revenge is a dish best served cold”

July 16, 2016
Greetings,
                    Over the years many people have just done me wrong.  From my childhood abusers to “church” leaders and about everywhere in between.  My exposure to the traditional/institutional “Church” and its so called leaders was very short and limited though…  THANK GOD!  I can only imagine what it would be like to have to endure more than a very short season  sitting “under” the ministry, authority and teaching of a human Pastor.  I find the thought offensive to Christ and it makes my stomach turn.  However, I can honestly say that I have never wanted to get even with any of these people.  In fact I actually feel sympathy for them.  Sure a fleeting thought of some type of revenge has crossed my mind a time or two, but I have never allowed those type of thoughts to hold me captive for any length of time or find fertile ground in my heart.  This, I think, makes me a better person.  I have known people who have held onto dark and revengeful thoughts and they were usually kept captive in their very own personal and private hells of their own doing.  The actual wrongdoings that they endured, and the associated memories and thoughts themselves were bad enough in the first place.  Why compound and intensify the pain, misery and suffering by holding onto some type of spiteful grudge?
                    Paul said it best in Romans chapter 12, “Do not repay anyone evil for evil.  Be careful to do what is right in the eyes of everybody.  If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone.  Do not take revenge, my friends, but leave room for God’s wrath, for it is written:  ‘It is mine to avenge; I will repay,’ says the Lord.  On the contrary:  ‘If your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty, give him something to drink.  In doing this, you will heap burning coals on his head.’  Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.”
                    Pretty heavy words!  If possible???  As far as it depends on me???  Wow!  Seems extremely difficult and important to be able to let our offenses go and give them all to Jesus so that HE can sort them all out and handle the troublesome situations and people for us.  If we dig in our heels and refuse to let go of such offenses they can eat us alive and really hinder our walk with Jesus and relationship with others.  And heaping burning coals on their head is NOT about payback in any sense of the word.  No, it means we will help them in their purification, repentance and return to The Lord.
                    When you are wronged which way will it go for you?  Revenge or restoration?  Seriously think about it?  One choice puts us in bondage, the other sets us and others free!
                 Love and……
                 Kirk Out !
From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Once again I apologize for the formatting of this blog post. WordPress would not allow me to publish this with proper paragraph breaks. However, it did allow me to make exaggerated indentations to hopefully make for better readability.

  2. Dan permalink

    The abusive leaders are captives, too, along with “their flock”. Prayer not punishment is in our hearts for ALL of the prisoners of the System. May they hear the voice of the Great Shepherd, all of them, so that they may be led out of captivity and follow only One Shepherd and comprise only one flock (JN 10:16).

  3. Tom Ball permalink

    Forgiveness is not about “what you did is ok.” It is about taking back the space in my head still occupied by hurt and sorrow and anger. It is my head. I do not want those things living there.

Leave a Reply

