Skip to content

Kirk To Enterprise, Kirk To Enterprise!

June 30, 2016

Greetings,

It amazes me how a television show like Star Trek could in small ways predict the future.  Isn’t it funny how the technology they used on that simple 1960’s space program is actually being used today in real life?  I mean now we have big flat screen television monitors like they used on the bridge of the Enterprise right in our living rooms.  Plus Doctors today can give us a complete diagnostic body scan just like Dr. McCoy did on the program.  And every time someone uses a cell phone I am reminded of the communicators they used on Star Trek, especially when it is a flip phone.  Communication was what made their missions successful on that show.  Their communicators gave them the edge against their alien foes and they used this tactical edge time and time again to further the cause of The United Federation Of Planets.  Advanced communication and other technology gave them an advantage over whoever they were pitted against.  They used their communicators to plot strategy and coordinate attacks and other plans.  For a crew to be successful in any endeavor we learned that they needed to be in constant communication with their senior officer.

I say all this to make a point.  Communication matters!  It is vital to success in our everyday lives and beyond.  The battles we face daily are better navigated when we are able to communicate in a clear and effective manner.  Our relationships with others are much smoother and productive when we are open and communicating effectively.  Poor communication equals poor results a vast majority of the time.

Now I want to speak about the most important type of communication in our lives.  To me it all begins and ends with PRAYER!  I know I need to be in constant communication with my Lord (THE SENIOR OFFICER of us all).  I need to be guided and led by The Spirit in all my interactions with others and in every detail of my life.  Because I know that when I am in rhythm with Jesus every other area of my life falls in line and it is only then that I begin to be successful in my daily and long term endeavors.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-22 puts it this way, ” Be joyful always; PRAY CONTINUALLY ; give thanks in all circumstances for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.  Do not put out the Spirit’s fire; do not treat prophecies with contempt. Test everything.  Hold on to the good.  Avoid every kind of evil.”

We are supposed to be in constant communication with Jesus.  We all already are, but we just don’t recognize or take full advantage of it.  We need to always be tuning in to HIS frequency. Communication is a two way street.  It takes both listening and speaking.  I am certain that HE is listening to us and speaking to us all of the time.  All we have to do is cooperate by having an ongoing conversation with HIM. This is not a work of the flesh and it takes no Herculean effort on our part.  It is just a simple moment by moment surrender and a recognizing of HIS presence and voice in our lives.

“MY sheep hear my voice and obey.” (John 10)

Love and……

Kirk Out !

 

 

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Dan permalink

    Tune in to the higher (and better) frequency. Hit preset #1 and keep the tuner there all day. Enjoy “hits from heaven”, “the news from a heavenly perspective”, moment by moment spiritual weather reports on the spiritual atmosphere in your region, coming events and announcements and things to do today (i.e. – see what the Father is doing today so we can do it too), and best of all – “His Master’s Voice”. All of the other stations are cheesy and irrelevant. Keep it on “Heaven 777 FM” all day!

  2. Sue heumann permalink

    Great reminder, guys……”Let’s break out of our isolation and realize that Someone who dwells in the center of our beings wants to listen with love to all that occupies and preoccupies our minds.” …. “…convert our unceasing thoughts into unceasing prayer by making our inner monologue into a continuing dialogue with our God, who is the source of all love.” Henri Nouwen

  3. "BK" permalink

    “…a continuing dialogue….” Amen, Sue! Amen! Sometimes people ask me do I just think God is a chatterbox because I’m always saying ‘and God said this’ or ‘God said that’. It used to intimidate me but now I just respond, “Yes, I do. He LOVES dialogue and communication. He’s my best Friend.” It actually took me a long time to comfortably be able to say that. Love, “BK”

    • Yes BK, we are to pray, to communicate without ceasing just as Jesus does with us. Thanks for sharing dear sister!

Leave a Reply

