Skip to content

“He’s Dead Jim”

June 28, 2016

 

Greetings,

Alright, I will just put it right out there….  Jesus wants us dead!  If we truly want to follow Him we will need to die.  What the hell am I talking about?  I am talking about denying ourselves to the point that we no longer live and it is HE who then lives in us.  Jesus said it this way, “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.  For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for Me will find it.” (Matthew 16:24-25)

Denying ourselves is an extremely difficult thing to do.  Because Jesus is not talking about denying ourselves mere things that we need or desire like food, water, clothing and entertainment.  That is part of it, but HE wants us to deny ourselves at our very core of being.  Like Paul where he wrote, “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me.  The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.” (Galatians 2:20)

You see Jesus died for us, so we must also die for Him.  This is not an easy concept to grasp or live up to.  Jesus Himself even struggled with obeying The Father where it came to His own death.  Jesus said, ” My soul is overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death” and ” My Father if it is possible, may this cup (death) be taken from me.  Yet not as I will, but as You will.”  He even pleaded with The Father a second time and prayed, ” My Father, if it is not possible for this cup to be taken away unless I drink it, may your will be done.” (Matthew 26: 38-42)

Many say they want to follow Jesus in their lives, but they balk where it comes to following Him even unto death.  They have no problem with the cross of Jesus and His sacrifice, but when it all comes down to their very own cross to bear and the sacrifice of their very own self and self-will they fall way short.

I know what it is like to struggle with self sacrifice.  Many times I have asked God to take my cup. (and whatever in this life it represents at the time) But that’s the easy part.  Where it gets tough is when you have to actually drink from the cup when Father choses not to remove it and a part of you has to die.  To be brutally honest I have failed that test multiple times, but in those instances I still find that His awesome grace is still there to cover me and somehow in His strength I am able to move forward.  However, as I continue to grow and mature in the Faith, I find that surrendering to my cup becomes a little easier each time.

Totally free and open, Spirit led, face to face fellowship helps a lot with this process.  Being in an open and free atmosphere where everyone can share their struggles and victories with one another really builds up one’s faith and confidence before The Father and with one another.  Sitting in rows and staring at the back of someones head while the guy up front gives a monologue seldom gives such opportunities for being real and sincere.  We grow up into Him, who is the Head, when each one is able to do their work and share their portion.  Preachers and sermons rarely allow for that.  I am so glad to be free from the Sunday morning show.  Face to face, gut level fellowship, that is what works for me, and a ton of other friends that I know very well.  Check it out sometime?

Love and……

Kirk Out !

“They overcame by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony; and they did not love their lives so much as to shrink from death.”  Revelation 12: 11

P.s.  The Searching Together 2016 gathering was awesome and wonderful.  I am still processing my time there and will post a report very soon.

 

 

From → Uncategorized

11 Comments
  1. Janet Fowler permalink

    It was an awesome time off fellowship, ideas, encouragement and truth in love. The unity there was confirmed in that topics discussed were brought up in private conversations before the fact, and other “coincidences” . It felt very good to be there, and so thankful to have met so many wonderful people!

  2. I love what you say here, Christopher! I think it is vital that as we pursue what you put on the table in this regard, we function from the reality that we are already dead in our identification with Christ in His death, burial & resurrection (Rom 6). Paul’s perspective is — you are already dead, now live like it! Without this vantage point it would be easy for believers to look at “dying to self,” etc, as something they must do, or effort they must expend.

    • Exactly Jon, death is not a work we must do, but a truth we must accept and walk in. Thanks for sharing my dear brother.

  3. Amen and Amen!

  4. Dan permalink

    We died and rose with Him. This is fact. When we are “in the Spirit”, that fact becomes an experiential reality as the deeds of the flesh are killed. (Rom 8:13). It is a sweet death, bringing life. As His beautiful and enjoyable presence once again saturates my life, my life is displaced by His life bringing real life. And yes, having a community that encourages everyone to be and remain “in the Spirit” would be life-giving and heaven on earth in this respect.

    • Yes Dan, true community here is an awesome life giving thing here and now.

      • Sue heumann permalink

        Loved hanging around like-minded believers last weekend! What joy and relaxation as we heard from so many and felt the kindred Spirit! Janet ….. Btw, u r a keeper!🙏😘

  5. I definitely agree Sue.

  6. "BK" permalink

    Christopher writes “Totally free and open, Spirit led, face to face fellowship helps a lot with this process. Being in an open and free atmosphere where everyone can share their struggles and victories with one another really builds up one’s faith and confidence before The Father and with one another.” Amen! We need each other to remind us the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus has made us free from the law of sin & death. I just was recently reading in the ASV in the car and loved Hebrews 3:12-13…..seems to fit with what you say here
    “Take heed, brethren, lest haply there shall be in any one of you an evil heart of unbelief, in falling away from the living God: 13 but exhort one another day by day, so long as it is called To-day; lest any one of you be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin:” Heb 3:13 (ASV)

    What I hear here is lift each other up day by day by day, everyday (while it is called today). As the River of Life flows among and through each one of us it washes away the unbelief, softens our heart towards Him (especially when He’s saying, yep, time to stay on the cross and die….) and strengthens us.

    Great word here, Christopher, “BK”

Leave a Reply

