Skip to content

“But sir, he called the Enterprise a garbage scow.”

June 19, 2016

Greetings,

What would you give up to follow Jesus?  Better yet, what have you given up already?  Anything?  If salvation is a free gift, then why even have this conversation?  I say it is because there are some things that are just beyond mere salvation.  A deeper, more fulfilling relationship and walk with Jesus and others is one of those things.

Jesus has an interesting conversation with a rich young man in Matthew chapter 19.  The young man claims to have kept some heavy commandments like, “Do not murder, do not commit adultery, do not steal, do not give false testimony, honor your father and mother, and love your neighbor as yourself.”  Yet Jesus said he still lacked one thing… That the young man still needed to go sell all of his possessions and give to the poor.  It says that when “the young man heard this he went away sad because he had great wealth.”

I believe that we need to surrender everything in order to follow Jesus and to walk closely with Him. That includes more than just money or all the stuff we have accumulated in our lives.  It includes any intellectual property or things we take pride in too.  Paul put it this way in Philippians 3:7-8, ” But, whatever was to my profit I now consider loss for the sake of Christ.  What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things.  I consider them rubbish (garbage, dung, literally shit) , that I may gain Christ.”  I don’t know about you, but I want more than to just be saved.  I want to truly know Jesus and walk closely with Him in this life, as well as the next.

Does this mean that you will have to literally sell your home and all your belongings and give it all to the poor?  For some of us, yes.  But for the most of us it means to be totally sold out and willing to lay it all down if He requires it of us at any given time.  What it really means is don’t allow your stuff to own or control you. We need to be free of the bondage and slavery to all of our belongings and the endless pride we have in our earthly accomplishments.  My dear friend Glenn Kaiser puts it this way, ” It will cost you everything to follow Jesus, and it will cost you everything if you don’t.”  So don’t cling tightly to all your trophies and prizes that you have gained in this life.  Sometimes the thing we need to give up most is the recognition we have received for our gifts and talents.

Total surrender is a very difficult thing to do.  Most of us never really surrender.  What we really do most times is negotiate treaties.  Always holding back a portion of ourselves and this is a sad way to live our lives before Christ and others.  What part of, “Deny yourself.” did you not understand?

Love and …….

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

15 Comments
  1. Rich Chamberlin permalink

    Very true, why very few ever do. Today, the wealth. the property, the endless distractions of the average American, is amazing. I believe the real gospel – of self sacrifice – has been dormant 20 centuries, waiting for this very challenge.

    • What you say rings very true Rich, but will the Church heed HIS call or continue to ignore HIM?

      • Wayne Signor permalink

        I “Reckon the old man dead But the Spirit alive unto Christ”
        My mentor once said “go visit any grave yard, hang out for awhile and let me know if you can catch just one of them in sin or sinning, and I’ll throw this Bible away and say God Lied about a Finished work”
        That’s what a dead man looks like !!
        For that I denied nothing but simple “put off me to Put On Christ”
        He gave me His Life for mine and I gave Him my life for His. We simply exchanged Lives and I got The Better Deal.
        This is all HE has to work with, not my ABILITY but my AVAILABILITY
        Amazing Grace the Person of Christ, in Trinity, Alive inside of me…..& you
        Just Follow Amen?
        AMEN

  2. I hear you Wayne. When I surrender and trade my wretched life for HIS glorious life it is truly amazing. Thanks for sharing!

    • Wayne Signor permalink

      You respond in only “general” answer and you don’t really “address” the responses.
      “Don’t want to offend anybody”
      I’m SO GLAD Jesus never spoke in PC generalists.
      Jesus was ALWAYS very harsh on “the religious” people, doing most of His miracles on The sabbath and was always caught HANGING out with sinners, prostitutes and the sick.
      Where’s The Bodyof Christ?
      WAKE UP
      WAKE
      UP. No snooze button here.

      • Wayne, I ‘ve never been accused of that before. I respond only as HE leads me to respond. Don’t want to MANufacture any answers out of my flesh.

      • Ramma permalink

        Once Jesus left this earth, He sent the Comforter to do the correcting, chastising, loving, etc. The mistake made by religion is that they think it is their job. IT IS NOT! That’s why HE sent the Comforter in His place. It guides us through this crazy life.If we listen and obey what we hear……..there is no need of anything or anyone else to teach. Otherwise we have made the words of Jesus and His teachings null and void. I do not think that is you or anyone else’s intention here.

  3. Jonathan Lindvall permalink

    Thanks for the convicting challenge, Christopher. It seems each time I think I’ve given up everything, my “stuff” sneaks back into my heart. This is a good reminder. The point about intellectual property is one more of us need to pray seriously about.

    • Jonathan, thank you for affirming this message. And also for reminding us that we all need to guard our hearts. The love of mammon (our stuff) is the root of all evil.

  4. Tom Ball permalink

    One hundred percent on target!

  5. Ramma permalink

    I’m understanding another layer to this…….

    Jesus has an interesting conversation with a rich young man in Matthew chapter 19. The young man claims to have kept some heavy commandments like, “Do not murder, do not commit adultery, do not steal, do not give false testimony, honor your father and mother, and love your neighbor as yourself.” Yet Jesus said he still lacked one thing… That the young man still needed to go sell all of his possessions and give to the poor. It says that when “the young man heard this he went away sad because he had great wealth.”

    It wasn’t all the commandments, it wasn’t the money or possessions either……IT WAS WHAT HE LET HAVE CONTROL OVER HIS HEART AND MIND WHICH INFLUENCED HIS EVERY DAY DECISIONS. That thing we hold on to that won’t let us go forward and truly experience a one on one relationship with Jesus Christ. It is something different with each person. Depending on how you were raised, where you were raised, the events that happened s you lived life, all play a part. True the only answer is Jesus to all things but it is our mindset on how we think, view, want to live or change. If I’m still going around Mount Horab with the same thinking, the same conditions in my life…..then I need to recheck (or reset or renew) my thinking. I am responsible here.

    • I hear you Ramma. It is whatever stands between us and Christ. No matter what that is, it needs to be dealt with by US with the help of Christ. Nothing is automatic, we MUST cooperate with Jesus and allow stubborn self will to DIE.

  6. Cie permalink

    The message in your post is absolutely clear, Chris! It is in how we hear it, whether in the spirit or with our soul, that determines the outcome. I find that the soul closely resembles the spirit and is full of well intentions, kind of like Peter rebuking the Lord for going to the cross, or him opening his mouth on the mount of transfiguration. Our soul will speak out of line too, more often than it should, and it may seem so right and spiritual in it’s suggestions. It’s like Ramma mentioned, this thing manifests in layers or like an onion. We tend to peel away some of the outside layers (stuff) and then stop just before we get to the soft part (soul). But the soul (I think that would be the ‘psuche’ maybe) that needs to die. It is our soul that will suggest to us what to give up into death, when in fact it ought to shut up and die itself. And the Spirit of the Lord must take it’s place.

    I admit that I don’t understand all of this, and as I seek to live by Him more and more every day, something in me trembles as I step out into this vulnerable place of ‘not being in control’. I am thinking that it might be my soul trembling as it is being put in it’s place by the spirit.

    More Jesus!

    • Thank you for sharing your deliciuos portion with us here Ellie. In truth no one really understands all of this, but I try to surrender to the Spirit of truth each moment.

Leave a Reply

