Skip to content

It Takes The Entire Crew part 3

June 13, 2016

Greetings,

Friends, to me following Jesus is an *us* and *we* and not an *I* and *me* type of life and journey. Right at the very start of humankind God said, “It is not good for man to be alone.”   (Gen 2:18)  We are meant to be part of a Body, part of a team, part of something bigger than just ourselves.

               Looking at the New Testament passage in Hebrews 10:23-25 it says,  “Let *us* hold unswervingly to the hope *we* profess, for He who promised is faithful.  And let *us* consider how *we* may spur *one another* on towards love and good deeds.  Let *us* not give up meeting *together*, as some are in the habit of doing, but let *us* encourage *one another*- and all the more as you see the Day approaching.”
               We are called a Body for good reason, we need one another and we should appreciate and honor the fact that HE has put us together in such a Divine fashion.  Sure there are times when we will all walk through a desert or wilderness alone for a season or few, but overall we need fellowship with other Christ followers.  It is not a Law that we should gather together with other believers, it is a blessing that we *get* to meet together with others who love Jesus.  I know that some use the Hebrews passage to try and control, shame and manipulate folks into going to their “church” building whenever the doors are open. Duty and obligation are the complete opposite of freedom in Christ. However, those verses are not at all about attending a “church” meeting, they are actually about relating to one another and participating in all aspects of life together in Christ.
               I love getting together and just hanging out with other sincere followers of Christ.  Because when we come together in HIS name, Jesus is right there in our midst. (Matthew 18:20)  Sure there are moments when we just need to be alone with Jesus so that we can better listen and pray.  Because even Jesus withdrew from the crowds for some alone time with The Father occasionally.
               We should desire fellowship with others because that is Christ’s desire for us.  When we gather HE is able to speak quite clearly through each member as the Spirit leads and He gives us the comfort and direction we need to keep pressing on forward in HIM.  Plus we need others in our lives to confirm the things we feel The Spirit is revealing to us.  Because… “every matter must be established by the testimony of two or three witnesses.” (Matthew 18:16)   So it is not good to be alone all of the time, because we all need to be “spurred on towards love and good deeds”,  in spite of our circumstances at any given moment.
               I know these words are hard to hear and swallow for those of you out there that are alone and struggling.  I am in contact with many Christ followers who are all alone and without face to face fellowship, but I love to travel and meet with them whenever possible too.  We fellowship as best as we can online, but it is just not the same as being face to face.  Please keep praying that The Lord will bring others of like heart and mind alongside you.  I know that is my prayer for all of you out there in cyberland.
              Love and …..
             Kirk Out !
From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. Once again I apologize for the formatting on this blog post. WordPress would not allow me to publish with paragraph breaks. However, I was able to add extreme indentations that hopefully improve readability.

  2. Dan permalink

    It is “not good for a man to be alone”. It’s true. We need the body. For now, those of us who haven’t found the face to face are making do with various forms of social media as supplements. Thank God for at least that! Until there is more of a mass exodus from IC, we will probably continue to have difficulty hooking up. Supposedly, there are a million a year leaving IC. Where are they? Like “va-poo-rize” – where do they go? Maybe they are immediately raptured upon exit from IC. Maybe they are all captured and eliminated as the church leaders know where they all live! Ha Ha. Just joking, but it’s still serious stuff. Maybe the tipping point will be eventually reached and there will be a massive jail break from IC flooding the earth with those seeking organic community. Till then, we will dream on (and be thankful for what we got!) Blessings to you, Christopher. Keep on doing what you’re doing. It’s very encouraging and making a difference!

    • Dan, you are more than kind. While I am continuing to pray that you find face to face fellowship I will keep fellowshipping with you online also. To me sincere electronic interaction still beats most IC participation. In the Spirit there is no distance or time between us my brother.

    • "BK" permalink

      Dan, Ken & I travel quite a bit around the country. If you want to let me know where you are (kenzsbk@yahoo.com) maybe we could at least have coffee or something? What a blessing that would be! I remember as I was coming out one day I was sitting on my deck crying and praying and telling God I was happy for all He was showing me but I had to tell Him I sure was LONELY. He spoke to my heart, “Don’t start feeling sorry for yourself. I still have 7,000 in the land who have not bowed their knee to Baal.” My response? I cried out in anguish, “Yeah???? WELL I’D SURE LIKE TO MEET ‘EM!” Grin It would still be many years before I did but I have to say the wait was worth it! Praying for you along with Chris, “BK”

  3. "BK" permalink

    What was so amazing this evening, Christopher, is that Ken sat down after dinner and said, I’ve been thinking about Hebrews 10 where it says to keep coming together and so much the more as you see the day approaching! 🙂 I just now brought up this blog and read it to him. He was very blessed by it! The same blood flows through His body. Love, “BK”

    • That is amazing BK, but it really does happen a lot in the Body of Christ. Such confirmation and encouragement I just love from the Holy Spirit. Give Ken a big hug and kiss from me?

  4. Sue heumann permalink

    This is sooo encouraging …… SO MANY THAT WANT FELLOWSHIP💥🌺🙏

    • Thank you Sue! Until they find relational fellowship we pray and write and write and pray.

Leave a Reply

