Skip to content

“Khan, I am laughing at the superior intellect.”

June 7, 2016

Greetings,

We have a saying in Narcotics Anonymous that goes something like this, “I have never met anyone too dumb to get clean and sober, but I have met those who are too smart to ever get it.”  In my over 37 years of clean time in recovery I have seen a lot of addicts come and go, and live and die and many have proven the statement given above to be true.  It really does seem that some don’t get clean because their intellect gets in their way.  Because of this they are unable to surrender to a very simple 12 step lifestyle that could save them and help them avoid the troubles and woes that addiction brings.  Problem is that when one has a grand intellect they sometimes try to think themselves out of terrible situations, instead of simply surrendering their will and life to Christ and HIS will for them in any given situation.

The fact is that “knowledge puffs up, but love builds up and the man who thinks he knows something does not yet know as he ought to know.” (1 Corinthians 8)  When we are “puffed” up in this manner it is difficult to see anything except what is in our own big head.  This is true of any problem that we may face in this life and not just addiction.  We really think we know better than even God in many situations and because of this we become our own worst enemy.  Intellectual pride is a HUGE obstacle to overcome, because “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.” (James 4:6)  And let me tell you God’s grace, His unmerited favor, has gotten me out of more bad situations than my own best thinking ever has.  In fact it is usually my own best thinking that gets me into the negative situations that HIS grace eventually pulls me out of.

Don’t get me wrong, a healthy intellect is something we could all benefit from.  The problems come when we elevate our intellect to a place equal or above God’s will and ways.  “For it is written: ‘I will destroy the wisdom of the wise; the intelligence of the intelligent I will frustrate.” (1 Corinthians 1:19)  It all boils down to what I have said here before..we “need to take captive every thought and make it obedient to Christ.” (2 Corinthians 10:5)  The key here is EVERY thought and not just the ones we think could be wrong or misguided. Because what might be right and prudent in one situation could be 100% wrong in the next.  I think it is a HUGE problem when we pre-approve certain thoughts by our own carnal reasoning.  When we do that we are just playing God and the potential for negative consequences is very high. We are not meant to be our own filter and ultimate judge of our own thoughts, that is the role of the Holy Spirit. The thing we need to always remember is God’s will, NOT my will, even when my will looks more feasible and attractive at the time.  Because, “The foolishness of God is wiser than man’s wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than man’s strength.” (1 Corinthians 1:25)

Love and…….

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

16 Comments
  1. Good one Kirk…please pray for my son who’s just come out of rehab, and is now basically homeless. Needs to stop running…he’s run so far he’s out of luck and out of breath.

    • Scarlett, I will certainly be praying for him. What is his name?

      • Robert….thanks Kirk.
        I may send him this post.

      • "BK" permalink

        Scarlett, I will be praying also. My daughter went through rehab three times before she finally walked on with Jesus clean and sober….that was over 25 years ago now. I will be praying regularly for Robert. Love, “BK”

  2. Got him covered Scarlett, no problem

    • "BK" permalink

      I like the ‘every thought’ emphasis. Reminds me that the tree of knowledge is ‘the tree of knowledge of GOOD AND evil”. Once when our friend Esther was in the hospital our other friends were in Alaska and VERY COLD. So we decided to pay for a flight back to Michigan to bring them home for the winter. As we drove to visit Esther I was talking to Ken about ‘when Dave and Megumi come….’ and the Lord interrupted “Have you asked Me about this?” “No.” “You know you make a TERRIBLE God”…I could see Him grin. Laughing now….they never did come. 🙂

      • LOL BK, it is very true that we make a terrible God. The emphasis was purely Christ, all I did was yield and write what HE told me to.

  3. "BK" permalink

    Exactly! T’is why I so love your posts! “BK”

  4. Rich Chamberlin. permalink

    My wake up call was wisdom to see ” Im not as smart as I think I am.

    • Rich, oh that everyone would get that same revelation and wake up call. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Ramma permalink

    Hello all, catching up a little here. Some thoughts kind of floating around.
    In your first paragraph, you discussed those who would and those who would not submit to a 12 step lifestyle. ( I think that is the “renewing of the mind” spoken of in Romans 12:2). That renewing takes physical a spiritual strength to accomplish. It is not a yielding over to. It’s a difficult choice to make for some. Once it’s made it is easy .If not easy and peaceful once it is made then the heart and mind truly did not make the decision and it is masking the reality and it will FAIL. WE have to mentally, physically, spiritually choose God, wellness, etc. If one area is left out or undone, then it will FAIL.
    I know the power of the mind is very strong able to destroy and tear down as well as build up and lift up. Having control over it is one thing. I ask you one question……….if we are not to have power over our minds, then why are we created with this capability and taught how to use it and bring it into subjection? We have to be accountable to ourselves and God in this. I’m not talking about “oh, I’m thinking about some little naughty thing”………I’m talking about insecurities (lack of trusting God), hatred (lack of love for others and God). The list goes on. Deep rooted hidden things that when hidden bring about destructive habits, thoughts, sickness and disease. We live out what is deep within.
    We need to stand up on our own two feet that God gave us and DO and LIVE HIs WORD. Either, His WORD is true and real and able to walk us from point A to point B or it isn’t. I find it is more than able, more than true and very real!
    Matthew 25:14-30 Parable of the talents….”the man traveling” was looking for a “good and faithful servant/slave”, that’s all. Not the perfect one, the “good and faithful” one. That’s all that we need to “enter in to the joy of your lord!”
    Thinking out loud……

    • Welcome back Ramma. Thanks for sharing these thoughts with us. I say without a deep core surrender we will get nowhere in this faith or life. Of course right after the surrender we need to walk therein the Word of God which is Christ. Of course we need to manage our thoughts and submit them to Christ. This is real and Spiritual and warfare at times. ONe thing I am sure of is this……without HIM we are nothing. The best laid plans of mice and men will all fail apart from Christ.

      • Ramma permalink

        Amen, amen! Love you brother!

    • Rich Chamberlin permalink

      Ramma – well said. Indeed we do not “Lose our minds” over this, but if “we get IT,” our minds are conformed to focus on God’s Way, As you say this not about naughty thoughts, but to harness the mind for higher thoughts, thus control all our natural, material emotions. Sadly church organization hides what “IT” is. The new life giving power of God’s own Spirit of truth, whose constant job is to REMIND ( get it, RE – mind) us of everything the Lord has said.

      • Good thoughts Rich, but the Spirit of Christ does more than just “Remind” us, it actually RENEWS our mind and this rebirth of our mind draws us even closer to our Lord and HIS thoughts and will for our lives.

Leave a Reply

