Skip to content

THE Standard……… Or The Bible And The Spirit Of Christ

May 12, 2016

Greetings,

 The following is something the Spirit inspired me to write several years ago, but I felt it might help in our ever ongoing conversation here concerning being bible or Spirit led…… As you all know I say we need to be Spirit led, rather than bible led in ALL matters of faith and practice.

 I want to start by pointing out that *some* of us who have shared so far here at the BLOG probably really aren’t disagreeing about the root of the matter.  We just differ some in perspective, or the way we have come to understand and explain what we feel God has revealed to us.  And I feel this is just great.  God has offered us all a “table of truth & love” to eat and grow from.  Nice to know that it is always a banquet or buffet; instead of an Ala’ carte burger and fries served up by one clowns opinion (sorry Ronald).  It is however very important that we all are talking about the same Spiritual meat.

 Now more comments:

And so much of this is semantics.

 I too am what some would call a student of the scriptures, but what makes me uneasy about saying we must be a “student” is that it *can* tend to exalt our intellects.  Also it tends to exclude those who feel they are not smart enough to be a good follower of Christ.  Having humble and open hearts always triumphs over book learned smarts IMHO.

 Some folks say that the bible is, “the only standard of truth which we have”.  And others call it “the final authority”.  The reason this makes me cringe is that it elevates doctrine to the ruler and head over all, and tends to negate and destroy what I feel is every person’s reason for existence: RELATIONSHIP WITH THE LORD and ONE ANOTHER.

Having the bible as “the only standard of truth” has not produced the type of fruit God desires in the plethora of institutional/traditional churches that have waved that flag proudly for centuries has it?  Sure the bible is “A” standard of truth, but I just can’t elevate it to “The” standard.  The bible is not God!  And God is THE STANDARD. Sure the bible is one of the tools that God has supplied us with so we can understand the standard (HIM), but I cannot equate the two.  In fact I feel it is a form of idolatry to elevate the scriptures to a place equal to or greater than God Himself.  If scripture is one’s “final” or “only” standard of truth they have relegated The Lord to a place beneath the bible and that my friends is in fact idolatry.

 Here is an interesting take on this:

 We all know that the bible says, that “every matter must be established on the testimony of 2 or 3 witnesses.”  And I don’t think that necessarily means like I have heard taught, “Yep, I got my three witnesses.  This scripture, that scripture, and this here other scripture quote. That’s 3 ain’t it?”

 I believe that it could rather suggest a checks and balances method that God offers us so we can avoid gross errors in judgment.

 1 John 5:8 seems clear (at least to me) here. It says that, “There are three witnesses (these three testify) the Spirit, the water, and the Blood.”

 Here we got:

1.  The Holy Spirit and His leading and voice for confirmation and all that entails, and many times The Spirit will lead us to the bible, but not always.

2. The water, which thru my studies proves to be LIFE – but not in the sense of circumstances; but rather in the light of relationship with others who share this new life from God.  Both the testimonies of those living and those saints that have gone home before us, i.e. – mutual accountability and the answered prayers of the saints.  Some call this the hermeneutic of The Body.

And 3. The Blood, Jesus himself and His testimony which is recorded in the bible.  And Jesus is the Word after all.  However, I don’t equate Jesus being the Word as the same as He being the scriptures.  Jesus is just much more comprehensive than that.  The bible is not the fourth part of the Godhead.  Jesus sits on the throne, not the Book!  Hope I haven’t confused anyone, but rather given food for thought.

And yes, I know I had to use the scriptures to prove my point.  And I agree that the bible is part of the standard of truth, but it is joined and supported by much more than itself.  Which to me gives it even more validity and value than if it stood alone.

 One more point then I’ll git out of here.  Folks are right when they say the Spirit is reliable, but we are not.  We can easily be deceived by our own feelings and thoughts.  People have used “the Spirit told me so” to do some vile things throughout history.

 But the same thing can be said for those who have claimed the bible as their only standard of truth. People have used the bible to enslave and dominate others for centuries.  The KKK use it to promote racism and hatred.  Think of the crusades and the inquisition where many were slaughtered in the name of the WORD.  Women have been told to stay in relationships where they are battered and beaten because they were told the bible says so. The list goes on and on.

 Problem is we are human.  We quite easily are deceived by our own feelings and thoughts about even the bible. Our interpretations of what we read in there can be grossly full of error.

 So I just can’t trust myself with only one standard of truth.

 Unless that standard of course is Jesus and the many ways HE reveals Himself.

 Love and….

 Kirk Out !

 p.s. Does the bible reveal the truth of the Spirit, or the Spirit reveal the truth of the bible?

And didn’t the Spirit have to reveal to the authors what to write?  It is the same exact way today.

 I am thankful for confirmation from all the resources our source, The Lord, has provided us.  I long for both the forest and the trees.  What a view, it’s beautiful!

P.s.s.  I know this was posted about 6 months ago, but some questions from The Seeking Disciple on my last blog post prompted me to repost it here today.

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. Janet permalink

    I meant to finally comment on the last blog about love, because I LOVE IT! But I lost what I wrote. Oh well, anyway, it was a great dialog and it does my heart good to find others who share my unconventional ideas. The thought coming to my mind is that the love we show is the evidence that we are following Him. Not how closely we follow the written word but if we HEAR HIS voice. If I’m in error let me know. And Christopher, I’m glad He has led us back together. Love you!

    • Thanks for sharing Janet. I am sorry the net ate your other comment. YOu are right LOVE is the evidence we are following Him in any given situation. I am sooooooo glad that we are in a relationship now too!

  2. I really don’t understand why this post is not getting any more comments. It baffles me!

  3. daryl permalink

    I think u just did a good job of explaining your thoughts and would not let the absence of comments trouble you in any way.Unlike other blogs,i think that for the most part there is a good spirit here and not a bunch of people that want to argue.

  4. Jewell Price permalink

    I just read this today, and it is very thought provoking. My take is that the Bible is the inspired document God gave us to know Him better and understand His will. I guess I look at the Bible as the textbook for the course of life with the Holy Spirit using it to teach us. The Scriptures are very important, but like you, I feel we exclude the Holy Spirit’s guidance in the equation at our peril. The Bible itself says that the Holy Spirit reveals and teaches and (I feel) uses the Bible to help accomplish that. You are so right that anything (Bible included) that is elevated above the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit is an idol. In essence, the Bible is very important, but the truths cannot and will not be understood without the the Spirit’s guidance and teaching.

  5. Jewell, I agree with everything you just wrote here. Thank you for that confirmation. Have a great day!

  6. Christopher, I too just read this. (Been behind!) and must say, WELL DONE. I saved this for future reference. I thought it funny that you confessed using scriptures to make your point.:-) I am reminded of Jay Ferris’ article “Hiding Behind Scripture” (http://bit.ly/1U4r7CC) that is an eye-opening observation of how Jesus used scripture – when “at war” against the spirits of religion (using the Pharisees, the Satan, etc.) who used the scripture to tempt him! Otherwise it’s hard pressed to find Jesus otherwise using scripture with people. He was anything but a walking Bible. I really think it would be good for all of us to be more observant as to the dead manner we use scripture, and listen for the Voice of the Spirit (the Word) in our hearts, interpreting what we see and hear and read all around us. In Nature. Music. People. Movies. And yes, also the Bible. God is not limited to a book. Never was and never will be.
    I love you my brother. Hope you are well.

  7. Thank you Pamela for your affirmation and encouragement. Love you!

Leave a Reply

