Skip to content

On Becoming All Things To All “Men”…..

April 8, 2016

Greetings,

“Though I am free and belong to no man, I make myself a slave to everyone, to win as many as possible.  To the Jews I became like a Jew, to win the Jews.  To those under the law I became like one under the law (though I myself am not under the law), so as to win those under the law.  To those not having the law I became like one not having the law (though I am not free from God’s law but am under Christ’s law), so as to win those not having the law.  To the weak I became weak, to win the weak.  I have become all things to all men so that by all possible means I might save some.”  1 Corinthians 9: 19-22

When we gathered for totally free and open, Spirit led home fellowship today a dear sister suggested that we look into those verses together.  We then spent well over an hour discussing this passage and what we collectively saw in it.  The discussion was lively, very deep and even included some gems of wisdom from a 14 year old.  As we wrestled with Paul’s words together it became abundantly clear to us that it is very important that we remain flexible in the hands of God.  Plus God may want us to go to various extremes in order to reach others with the message of grace, truth and love.

We all agreed that our approach to conveying Christ’s message may vary greatly from person to person and that a cookie cutter application of the Gospel will rarely, if ever, work.  Our study also reaffirmed that winning others to Christ is a vitally important aspect of being an everyday Christ follower and that becoming all things to all “men” is something Jesus still wants us to do even in this day and age.  Everyone in the room freely admitted that they fell short of the ideal in this area, but we also all agreed that we would like to do better in the future.  Becoming weak or vulnerable for the sake of others takes some serious self denial and that is never easy, but neither is any other calling we may receive from The Lord on any given day.

Most of all we agreed that sensitivity to the leading of the Holy Spirit in each and every situation was key to reaching those yet to fully know Jesus.  All the bible verses in the world pale in comparison to a simple cup of cold water given in Jesus’ name. Knowing the bible means nothing if you cannot reach out and literally touch someone’s life and inner being with the truth in love.  Many times a simple hug or listening ear will speak volumes more than a clever bible quote.  Someone also pointed out that in every situation who God calls, He also equips.  Being an effective Christ follower is never confined by natural ability.  In fact it is always based on availability to His call rather than our own human abilities and skills.

All in all it was a very wonderful time in Christ together and to top it all off we feasted on roasted rosemary pork loin, garlic mashed potatoes, baked beans with mega bacon, deviled eggs, and an assorted fruit and cheese plate.  I feel sorry for those who only take communion with a tiny cracker and a thimble of juice, but I feel more sorry for those who only get to sit in rows and passively listen to a sermon/monologue instead of being able to fully participate in a lively Spirit led interactive conversation whenever they may gather.

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

P.s.  Please pray?  I am having the worst PTSD flashbacks in over 4 years.  I have only been able to sleep 9 hours since Sunday.  Lack of sleep really makes things very difficult for me.  This is still not a full blown PTSD episode, but my resources are low and I am very concerned for my well being, as are those close to me.  I thank you in advance for your prayers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

16 Comments
  1. Sue heumann permalink

    Capn Kirk, I am praying for you. I am very thankful that you have a family there to take you into their arms and prayers. You abide in Christ. He abides in you. Praying you’ll find rest in him.

  2. Stumbled on this post through a Facebook link. Thanks for sharing!

  3. daryl permalink

    Great words for us all to meditate on. Definitely praying for sleep for you.Sleep deprivation is a miserable thing.Our spiritual and emotional health are so affected when we can’t sleep .You are strong in the Lord,and really believe sleep will end or ease the flashbacks.

  4. Hi Chris, excellent article. I don’t always make it here to reply or “like”, but I do often read what you share and find myself edified and in agreeance. I wanted to encourage you by telling you that my young friend Kassiemarie has truly finally found freedom. She got revelation from Jesus. She SAW Him. I don’t know how else to explain. Not Him physically, but she saw His finished work on the cross and saw that she could die with him and didn’t need to work to maintain her salvation; that He did everything. Since then, she’s been in a continual conversation with Him, and He’s brought her healing and peace regarding the abuses of the past. It’s been such a joyful thing to be a part of and see her freedom and acceptance of His love. Thank you for praying for her.

    I also wanted to say I’m praying for you. Because of my stroke, I’ve struggled so much with sleeplessness issues. Our bodies so easily slip back into the stuck pattern and tension and fear. Are you into natural supplements at all? I could send you a link to an article I wrote on the subject which has some herbal suggestions. I’ve never dealt with PTSD or flashbacks, so I don’t wanna assume that I know anything at all, but if you’re interested, let me know, and if not, that’s okay too.

    • Thank you maryb! Last night was MUCH better. Jesus is such a great comforter to be whether I sleep or not. If I continue having problems I will get back with you regarding suppliments.

  5. Ramma permalink

    Praying for you brother!

  6. Great news here…… I slept for 6 solid hours last night and I really feel refreshed and well today.

  7. Peter Eyland permalink

    “As much as possible” is a key phrase for Paul. Flexibility also requires honesty and no condemnation for oneself. To calm my self I concentrate on synchronising my breathing to a couple of heart beats. No messenger app being used, so I don’t get messages, just notifications.

    • Thanks for sharing Peter. No self condemnation is a key to having a healthy walk in Christ, I agree.

  8. Dan permalink

    LOL on the “tiny communion” vs your massive love feast! Amen on the loving cup of cold water and listening ear vs Bible verses. Will continue to pray for you! Love and appreciate you, Christopher!

  9. Thank you very much Dan. I couldn’t survive without prayer.

Leave a Reply

