Skip to content

Warning Very Graphic Content Ahead!

January 29, 2016
Greetings,
               There Is A Very Huge Difference Between Praise And Worship……..
 “Through Jesus, therefore, let us continually offer to God a sacrifice of praise—the fruit of lips that openly profess his name.”  Hebrews 13: 15
               “Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God-this is your spiritual act of worship.”  Romans 12: 1
               To me it all simply boils down to this…. praise is what you say with your mouth and worship is about what you do with your very being and entire life.  You can praise the Lord in word, prayer and song, but worship is much more difficult and comprehensive in scope than merely speaking well of our Creator.  It is easy to open your mouth and give God complete honor and credit for all the wonderful things He has done in your life, but worship is literally laying down your life for Jesus and His Holy purpose.
               On Sunday mornings all across the land traditional/institutional “churches” host what they call “worship services”, but that is really not an accurate description of what they actually do is it?  True worship rarely, if ever, occurs during these gatherings.  What they really do is praise God for a bit, receive tithes and offerings, and then get a pep talk from a professional Pastor.  That is not worship my friends…it is “Christians” paying for and receiving a performance and show that is hopefully somewhat about God.  I contend that a group of Christ following volunteers building a home for Habitat For Humanity is much more worshipful than what occurs in most “church” buildings on Sundays and Wednesdays.
               Much of what passes for praise and worship on Sunday mornings is nothing less than manipulation of the masses.  Praise leaders and bands many times use music and song to control the tempo of the service and the emotions of the congregation.  When you have fast songs to get you up and going and slow songs to get you in the right mood…what usually happens is a sad sick form of back and forth spiritual masturbation.  The music is there just to get you off at the right time.  So that you give well and listen intently while sitting in the afterglow of the sermon.  How does any of that truly exalt Christ and give Him true praise or worship?
               Worship is NOT a prayer, some songs, an offering, and a sermon……  IT IS A LIFE LAID DOWN for the sake of God, His children, and His purposes!  It is about being a living sacrifice while serving only Jesus The One True King!  True worship is difficult to find in the modern “church”.  Most of the church is unwilling just to be inconvenienced for the sake of God and others.. and they flat out refuse to die in any sense, form , shape or method for His higher purpose.  You can’t be selfish and worship God at the same time.  It is just impossible.  Has His glorious Church really been reduced to a bunch of spoiled rotten, crying brats?  I hate it, but I have to honestly admit that this is me on some days.  Many of us are driven by feelings rather than being led by the Holy Spirit.  Lord Jesus please help me to die daily so that You may be glorified through and in me.  We all need your help and guidance Lord.  Please help us to worship you in Spirit and in Truth?
               Love and……
Kirk Out !
From → Uncategorized

18 Comments
  1. Once again I need to apologize for the formatting of this blog post. WordPress would not allow me to publish the post with proper paragraph spacing. However, it did allow me to place exaggerated indentations at the beginning of each new paragraph. I hope that makes it more readable for you.

  2. Jewell Price permalink

    Kirk, Thank you for writing on this topic. I have been frustrated by the interchanging of “praise” and “worship” in Christian vocabulary for some time now. About two years ago, I sat down (took about two and a half weeks) and literally took my concordance and looked up and listed every single reference in the bible of the word “worship” or any variations such as “worshiping,” etc. Around 200 verses using a variation of this word–only TWO have any reference to music or praise in conjunction. Also, these two verses are not saying that worship IS praise…there just happened to be praise at the same time as the worship. Eliminating the false worship verses, the other verses always had some sort of bowing, lifting of hands, serving, or other action, etc. Very eye opening for me, and I recommend that everyone do it. I made a table of this to clarify it in my mind. If you are interested, give me your e-mail, and I will send it to you.

    Once again, good post. Painful for many, but good.

    • Jewell, thank you for your positive response. I am glad you found this topic helpful.

  3. tom siegel permalink

    Ouch, you were right about the graphic content, my first reaction is that you should have edited out the spiritual masturbation part. Gets your attention, still seems kinda harsh. Most folke (sheep) don’t know no better as my neighbor would say. Most are happy to live that way, there is a line in the movie “Hell and Mr. Fudge” ” people are happy with the truth they already have”.

    • I hear you Tom and I am rarely that graphic, however that is the imagery Jesus led me to write about.

  4. Dan permalink

    “Worship in truth” is what He is after. So are we.

  5. Rich Chamberlin permalink

    My question is this blur of the between the two in top 50 of old church TOP 100 screw ups? All of them tie together , because if not going to BE church, then what you instead need a code word to make it seem like real church. God Is Spirit – worship him IN SPIRIT. NAH

  6. Rich, unless that was sarcasm I don’t understand the point you are trying to make. Please clarify?

  7. Good article. I’ve found this to be so true. Usually there is a ‘professional’ worship leader, and we are many times told what to do during the time of singing. Just as in speaking to people, singing in a set format at a service is easy to do. Words are easy to come by. Yet true worship, which is a daily life of loving, serving and living a godly lifestyle in the power of the Spirit, is much more meaningful. People can say a lot of things, but the way they live and treat others is a completely different thing. To worship God is to love God and love others, no matter who they are.

  8. DonewithReligion, thank you for the encouraging words of confirmation.

    • Beautifully said, Christopher. I appreciate the prayer at the end of your article which is the beginning step of a life laid down. May our lives be an expression of Him on this earth. Praise be to God….we can worship how HE leads!!

      • That’s it Sue, our lives being an expression of Christ on earth. May we be humble enough to aspire to such a huge calling.

  9. And it is a poor and unsatisfactory substitute for the REAL Husband/Wife intimacy (into me see – tranparancy) that Christ asks/requires/DEMANDS of us.
    We’ll said!

    • Yes Mike, I live each day asking HIM what HE desires of me and my life. Surrender is the only way to true freedom in Christ.

  10. mbros permalink

    I couldn’t agree more with this blog. I read one of my Face Book friends say today that they are celebrating the incorporation of their church today. I don’t think it’s good when a church becomes a corporation. I don’t use the word church to describe a building or organization.I prefer the word congregation. The Church is the total body of believers.

  11. Great points mbros! What a very sad thing to celebrate. Thanks for sharing!

  12. Dave permalink

    Once again Capt. you hit the nail on the head. It surprises me that we haven’t seen the “Gods got Talent Show” on Sunday mornings!

  13. Good one Dave! Thank you for the encouragement and confirmation.

Leave a Reply

