Skip to content

A Big Question

December 28, 2015

Greetings,

The following is a comment from my long ago BLOG “More Regulations By The Book”  In it Dan G asks some valid questions which I will try to address in this post.  I post this here again today because my view of the bible has been brought into severe question once again.  Seems that some folks just cannot grasp, understand or accept it when I suggest that we all need to be Spirit led rather than bible led and they also tend to reject any explanation offered to them.

Dan G wrote:

“Chris – perhaps you can tell us of your experiences with Bible and what causes you to bring this issue front/center as often as you do? I am not able to relate to what you speak, because I value the Bible, but I read that you value the Bible also. Somewhere, there is a disconnect in my understanding of your writings. Maybe if you explain specific experiences a bit, if you can, we can begin to relate / commune with you on this.”

Alright Dan I will give this a shot.  The issue to me is why do we elevate the bible to a place that is equal to or higher than The Holy Spirit in our lives.  To me it is quite clear that we receive primary revelation from The Spirit and secondary revelation from the bible.  After all it was The Spirit who inspired the writers of the bible to write what they did in the first place.  It seems to me that many Christians get it backwards in practice where they use the bible to try and interpret and set the ground rules for The Spirit, when they should be using The Holy Spirit to interpret the bible and lead them in their everyday lives.  Because there are some things in life that the bible just doesn’t address or give us guidance about.

Way back when I was in college I was also a concert promoter.  After a big concert (REZ Band) I drove the artists back to their motel.  On the way back home I had to stop by the late night drive thru at Burger King to get some food for me and 5 other students who had helped me set up and tear down the sound and lights equipment for the concert.  So I was going to order 6 whopper meals when I heard Jesus or The Spirit tell me to order 7 meals.  It felt right and harmless so I ordered 7 meals.  When I got the food back to my roadies dorm room I distributed the meals to the 6 of us and I left the 7th meal in a bag up on a loft.  In the midst of eating and fellowshipping Tim stuck his head in the door and asked where his whopper meal was.  I immediately pointed to the sack on the loft and told him his whopper meal was right up there.  I also told him that God had specifically told me to buy that meal for him.  About a half an hour later we were able to lead Tim to Jesus all because I was told to buy that extra meal.  I am still in contact with Tim to this day.  He remains strong in The Lord and often gives his testimony about how God used an extra whopper meal to save him on that day.

The bible had no way of communicating to me the need for an extra meal, but The Holy Spirit was fully capable of leading me in such a manner.  It is just like in Acts chapter 9 where The Lord tells Ananias to go to a street called straight and find Saul (soon to be Paul) and heal his vision.  Ananias could have read scripture from cover to cover and still not be moved to act in such a manner.  It takes more than biblical knowledge to be guided in the best ways of surrendering to and serving HIM and others.

The simple fact is that the bible is just not enough to lead us in our everyday Christian walk.  Jesus Himself said that He was sending us The Holy Spirit to guide us into all Truth.  The bible was never meant to be our guide.  That is The Spirit’s role.  Always has been and always will be.  Jesus also said that “His sheep hear His voice and obey”.  Note He NEVER said that we read His book and obey.

We NEED to hear directly from HIM my friends!  The Spirit is our guide and often times He leads us to the bible for reference and understanding.  But it is HE who sits on the throne and not a book about Him.  Who sits on the throne of your heart?  If we are really gut level honest about this most of the time it is WE that sit there, even as professing Christ followers.  But we need to surrender that place DAILY to Him and The Spirit.  The book should never be in the position of preeminence in our lives. The bible is a great gift and tool when used as led by The Spirit, but without The Spirit’s illumination it is just plain old dead letter ink on paper and nothing more.

Love and……

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

13 Comments
  1. Rich Chamberlin permalink

    As I noted on SLS – excellent practical example of life in the Spirit, not life in a book. In turn, we can see real value of the book(s) is that it teaches us the great value of Gods Spirit! Yes, old –neojewish-
    church system gets it ( most everything) backwards!

  2. Tom Ball permalink

    For me it is not “either/or” it is both… bible, and Holy Spirit.

    • Tom Ball, I am also very glad to have both the Holy Spirit and the bible. However, the two are not at all on equal footing IMHO. The Spirit is in fact GOD and deserves preminence over the written word. That is my point simply made.

  3. I started attending church and gave my life to the Lord right before I was 16. I spent many years in a traditional non denominational church. While there were a few times I could recall hearing God speak or feel the Holy Spirit lead me, my for most authority was the bible. Too many times we as Christians are taught how to study/read/extract scripture. Yet we are rarely taught how to recognize Gods voice. There was a while that I actually put my bible away. And relied on the Holy Spirit, what an amazing time that was.

    • I hear you April. I feel that the bible is many times over studied. Many study in the flesh and mere intellect, instead of allowing for the Spirit’s guiding hand. I go to the scriptures when the Spirit leads me there and not as a matter of rote study.

  4. Duane permalink

    The Bible is a proper noun. And there for a specific name for the book. It should be capitalized. I think some elevating it to a level that is higher then it is, is quite common and dangerous. But I prefer to Capitalize the word Bible as it is referring to a specific Bible and not just the bible of guns or a how to manual which is often given the name a bible of something. But make no mistake, I see the Bible as a human commodity that is often misquoted, changed and misunderstood as politicians statements. On the other side of the same hand it is a spiritual guide that is the best reflection and compilation of ourselves, God and the relationship between God and man. It should be a very important spiritual document. But again, I find CS Lewis a very good book on the same topics. That all being said I do think that people oft read what they want out of the Bible and make it fit there life and a spirit filled/dynamic relationship with the Creator of the Universe it does not equate.

  5. Chris you are 1000% correct!

  6. Perhaps the question we need to ask ourselves is this: Can He reveal Himself to us without a book? If we answer that we must have the collective writings as our book, then it may be beneficial to ask ourselves if know Him Himself, because we cannot have a relationship with a book. Yes, He can and does reveal Himself without a book. He actually is alive, and dwells in US. Really.

  7. Right on Kat! The Spirit of Christ reveals the entire truth in love to us with or without the book. Who HE calls HE also fully equips for every good work. I am thankful that I have a bible, but even more thankful that HE lives in me!

  8. Zelos permalink

    I love your blog and your other thoughts Kirk, but this is not simply semantics. Jesus is THE WORD, He was The Bread that came down from heaven, He said His Words are Life, and His Words are true food. Man cannot live by bread alone but by every Word from God, and the inference is Gods Word given by Moses and The Prophets. The LAW and Prophets are Jesus are clear that it was Gods own ‘verified’ Prophets that compiled and authorized Gods Word. It is clear from our OT (The scriptures that Christ ‘refers’ too, fulfills, and equates His own Words, and speaks of them as His own). Scripture is Gods verified Word. If you are not a Prophet, your word is not authoritative, that is The Law of God (and i would note all the prophecy since Paul is questionable, at least). adding to, and or not believing Gods Word is the mistake Adam made in the garden. And every cult leader and false prophet will claim to be led by the ‘spirit’, from Joseph Smith, Mary Baker, Jim Jones, Mohammed, David Koresh, David Berg, Nostradamus, Edgar Cayce, Jack Van Impe, Kat Kerr, Benny Hinn…… Gods Word Himself is not known or believed enough. I am all for people speaking to one another spiritual things, conversing in the spirit, and hearing from God, in fact I heard from God just what I said here.

    • Ramma permalink

      IF you have JESUS….. you have everything you need. PERIOD

    • "BK" permalink

      I believe a couple of things are noteworthy on this subject. One is the experience on the mount of transfiguration when Moses (Law) and Elijah (prophets) met with Jesus. Peter wanted to build a temple to each one of them and the Father spoke from a cloud, “This is My beloved son hear ye HIM….”. Up to that point it was the law and prophets (the ‘scriptures’) that were the guide for the Jewish people. God went on record, “You’ve listened to the law and prophets, but now it is time to hear THE SON….”. Also Hebrews starts out, “Heb.1 [1] God, who at sundry times and in divers manners spake in time past unto the fathers by the prophets, [2] Hath in these last days spoken unto us by his Son,” Again, in TIME PAST we were spoken to by the law and prophets, BUT NOW we are spoken to directly by the Son. Like, Christopher, I respect and read my Bible more than most people. But the SPIRIT OF truth is our guide. Most of the verses we quote about ‘the word of God’ that most ascribe as meaning ‘the Bible’ were spoken and written before there ever was such a thing. “BK”

Leave a Reply

