Skip to content

A Charlie Brown Christmas

December 24, 2015

Greetings,

Linus said:

“And there were in the same country shepherds abiding in the field, keeping watch over their flock by night.  And lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them, and the glory of the Lord shone round about them: and they were sore afraid.  And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people.  For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Savior, which is Christ the Lord.  And this shall be a sign unto you; ye shall find the babe wrapped in swaddling clothes, lying in a manger.  And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God, and saying, Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, and good will toward men.  Luke 2: 8-14

I don’t believe anyone could say it any better than Linus!

Love and Christmas blessings to all……

Kirk Out !

p.s.  Here is something to pray about and ponder during the Holidays…..  Please notice how the angel was all inclusive when he spoke of the coming of Christ….  The good tidings of great joy were to ALL people and not an exclusive elite few.  The arrival of Jesus brought peace and good will toward ALL mankind.  The cult of Christianity over the years has made Jesus very small and exclusive….. the truth is that Jesus is much larger and inclusive than we can even imagine.  Christ’s birth, life, death and resurrection bridged the great chasm between all “men” and God.  In Christ we are all restored.  It is now time to walk in that truth and share the love, truth, grace and mercy of Jesus with whosoever will.

 

 

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. Yes.. All were/are saved…. they just have to believe and accept it…

  2. Tom Ball permalink

    “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No man cometh to the Father but by me.”
    All may… some will… many won’t.

    • However, in the meantime don’t give up on anyone or write anyone off, from the great abundant Grace of our Lord. For HE is mighty to save those lost and desires that all “men” be saved.

    • "BK" permalink

      Great post, Christopher. As I read the scriptures I don’t see that any will refuse. Romans 5 says He did it without my permission or assent….while I was still an enemy. Maybe we could take a look at some of those scriptures we have been told say otherwise? This is a safe place to do that, I think. Love, “BK”

  3. John permalink

    Good point…no matter how you read it, the good news is for everyone and everything.

    I understand how some see it as a simple “accept/reject” Jesus choice, but I see a much bigger picture that calls it a done deal and leaves it up to people to either recognize the reality of it or not.

    Either way, Jesus makes all the difference!

    • "BK" permalink

      John said, ” but I see a much bigger picture that calls it a done deal and leaves it up to people to either recognize the reality of it or not” “BK” here… Yes, I pondered for so many years I Tim 4:10 where Paul said Jesus was the saviour of all men, ‘specially’ of them who believe. I asked all over the world (literally) what that verse meant. Who in the world are the ‘specially’. I asked the Lord. One day I pulled it off the shelf again and for who knows why, I heard the Spirit finally answer me…
      “Yes, I AM the Saviour of all men. The specially are those who have accepted that and begun to enjoy all that I purchased for them.” Hmmmmm. Then I saw in Romans where it mentions those that are heirs and those who are ‘joint heirs’….again, general salvation done for all men. Those who realize it begin to ‘join in the inheritance’. And eventually all will. He said so. Not trying to convince anyone, just commenting. It was a long journey for me, holding this before the Lord, searching the scriptures, listening to the Spirit until finally I have to say He won me over. So what about ‘free choice’? Well, nobody asked me if I wanted to be born in sin (Adam) and no one asked me if I wanted to be redeemed (Jesus). So, the beginning and end seem to be predetermined…my ‘choice’ is the path I walk from one point to the other. Again, good post, Christopher. Love, “BK”

Leave a Reply

