Skip to content

Only The Spirit Of Christ Gives Life

November 28, 2015

Greetings,

Jesus said:

“I have testimony weightier than that of John. For the very work that the Father has given me to finish, and which I am doing, testifies that the Father has sent me. And the Father who sent me has Himself testified concerning me. You have never heard His voice nor seen His form, nor does His word dwell in you, for you do not believe the one He sent. You diligently study the Scriptures because you think that by them you possess eternal life. These are the Scriptures that testify about me, yet you refuse to come to me to have life.” John : 5: 36-40

The simple fact is that knowing and studying the scriptures and being able to quote and use them in sermons, discussions, or arguments proves absolutely nothing. You can know the whole entire bible from cover to cover and still not know or recognize Jesus for who He really is. Knowledge of the book does not automatically equate that you will know the truth in love either.

Jesus also said:

“I have much more to say to you, more than you can now bear. But when He the Spirit of truth, comes, He will guide you into all truth. He will not speak on His own; He will speak only what He hears, and He will tell you what is yet to come.” John 16: 12-13

Do you want to know the Truth in Love?  If you do you will need to yield and submit to the Holy Spirit and follow His leading and teaching. The bible is not our teacher, the Spirit is! This is why I continually say that the Body of Christ is to be Spirit led, NOT bible led. I have known a lot of people who thought they knew the bible, but had not Christ. However, in reality they did not really know what the scriptures actually meant because they did not have the Spirit to guide them through the text. They knew every letter on every page, but there was no life in it; no Truth, no Love.

I have also known others who could barely read, but still knew more about the Lord and His truth in love than all the scholars did. They knew because they surrendered to the leading of the Holy Spirit. Knowing God has nothing to do with intellect and the amount one reads or studies. If you love Him, you will obey Him and what He has told us to do according to the Spirit and the Word..is to follow the leading and teaching of His Spirit; in every single area of our lives.

The Spirit is superior to the bible in every way. The voice of the Spirit is greater than the printed words contained in the bible. If you desire life you will allow yourself to be filled with the Spirit and then listen to His voice over and above all that is written about Him in the book. In fact it is best not to even pick up the book unless He is leading you to it. Without the anointing of the Spirit the pages of the book are just dead letter……And the letter kills, but the Spirit gives life.

To be totally honest I read the bible a lot; more than about anyone else that I know. I wear them out from cover to cover. However, I only read when and where He leads me.  I am not anti-bible in any sense, but I refuse to elevate the bible to a place equal to, or greater than the Father, Son, or Spirit. And when someone says that the bible is the Sole Authority in matters of faith and practice, I cringe because that means they have demoted and stripped God Himself of that role and given it to a mere book. To take the created thing, the bible, and make it as great or greater than the Creator is nothing short of idolatry. I love to read the bible, but I realize it is only Christ that gives us eternal life, Truth and Love.

Love and….

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

11 Comments
  1. phariseeinrecovery permalink

    The wisdom of God is found in the message, what we call the gospels, and mentioned by the Lord in His prayer for us all.

    John 17:20
    Jesus Prays for All Believers
    “My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message,”–Jesus Christ, God the Son

    Our promised gift is the Holy Spirit of God. Jesus never promised us the Bible

    The only authorized teacher, if we go by what Jesus taught, is God the Holy Spirit.

    Acts 1:4-5

    On one occasion, while he was eating with them, he gave them this command: “Do not leave Jerusalem, but wait for the gift my Father promised, which you have heard me speak about. For John baptized with water, but in a few days you will be baptized with the Holy Spirit.”–Jesus Christ, God the Son

  2. That is the best post ever for me, personally! It clarifies what I’ve been feeling…..thank you, CK!….resonates of truth!

  3. Amen… another perfect word!

  4. Tom Ball permalink

    Bible, Spirit, church teaching, reason… John Wesley says we need them all. If it’s all spirit, and the “spirit” contradicts scripture, then we really have to wonder who we’re hearing from.

    • "BK" permalink

      I have to say, Tom, the Spirit has contradicted ‘scripture’ many, many times in my liife. I believe that is what Christopher is saying here. Coming from a group VERY well versed in scripture it was very hard on me when the Spirit started ‘contradicting’ what I knew as doctrinal truths, nailed down with scriptures ‘from Genesis to Revelation’. Like Christopher, I love the Bible too but the Spirit is where understanding comes from. When the Bible contradicts the Spirit then we also have to wonder who we’re hearing from. Just a few thoughts on a post I had not intended to comment on….I had to as I read your comment. Not trying to be in your face, just sharing my own experience…..even to this day. “BK”

    • Thank you for the post. For more on John Wesley, I would like to invite you to the website for the book series, The Asbury Triptych Series. The trilogy based on the life of Francis Asbury, the young protégé of John Wesley and George Whitefield, opens with the book, Black Country. The opening novel in this three-book series details the amazing movement of Wesley and Whitefield in England and Ireland as well as its life-changing effect on a Great Britain sadly in need of transformation. Black Country also details the Wesleyan movement’s effect on the future leader of Christianity in the American colonies, Francis Asbury. The website for the book series is http://www.francisasburytriptych.com. Please enjoy the numerous articles on the website. Again, thank you, for the post.

  5. phariseeinrecovery permalink

    John 10:3-5

    The gatekeeper opens the gate for him, and the sheep listen to his voice. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. When he has brought out all his own, he goes on ahead of them, and his sheep follow him because they know his voice. But they will never follow a stranger; in fact, they will run away from him because they do not recognize a stranger’s voice.”

    Jesus says we will recognize His voice and will never follow a stranger. I trust in Jesus’ word.

  6. phariseeinrecovery permalink

    John 10:3-5

    The gatekeeper opens the gate for him, and the sheep listen to his voice. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. When he has brought out all his own, he goes on ahead of them, and his sheep follow him because they know his voice. But they will never follow a stranger; in fact, they will run away from him because they do not recognize a stranger’s voice.”

    Jesus says we will know His voice and that we will never follow a stranger. I believe in Jesus’ word.

Leave a Reply

