Skip to content

On Struggles And Trials

November 18, 2015

Greetings,

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ!  In His great mercy He has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, and into an inheritance that can never perish, spoil or fade-kept in heaven for you, who through faith are shielded by God’s power until the coming of the salvation that is ready to be revealed in the last time.  In this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials.  These have come so that your faith-of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire-may be proved genuine and may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed.”  1 Peter 1: 3-7

Wow, those are very encouraging words.  Just to know we are shielded by God’s power as we walk through this life is amazing.  We need to rejoice in that fact, but even though we are shielded we still will suffer grief in all kinds of trials.  There is no free pass in this life, even if we are serving Jesus we will be tested and tried.

Light afflictions, momentary troubles and worse, sometimes come to everyone in this world. However, these difficulties are used to work within us a great eternal glory.  The key is in how we choose to walk when confronted with adversity.  It is best when we choose to walk THROUGH problems, flood and fire, etc, instead of trying to avoid negative things by going around them.  If God is with us, shielding us, it does not matter what we are up against.  I am certain that the Lord wants us to keep moving forward and to never look back while in the midst of struggles and trials.

The Lord uses these trials to prove our faith and determine whether or not we are genuine and true in all things that we may face.  It is a privilege to be tried in such a manner and it proves once again that we are His sons and daughters.  This builds our faith and trust because we know He will never leave or forsake us.  No trial is too difficult….  No mountain too high….  No river too wide…. No conflict too great….  If we walk in the Spirit He will always be with us, every step of the way, and in Jesus we will always be more than conquerors.  I have learned this lesson well first hand over the last 16 years of struggling with PTSD and related flashbacks of childhood rapes and sexual, emotional, physical and verbal abuse.  I have walked through the valley of the shadow of death and with the Lord’s help I have fought my way clear to freedom on the other side of my affliction, problems and difficulties.  Plus, I have been gifted with remarkable friends who I share intimate, relational, totally free & open, Spirit led fellowship with both in person and online.  Their prayers and support have been invaluable to me.

So the next time you find yourself up against a problem…remember it is not about the size of the obstacle… it is about Christ in you being able to overcome any trial or test.  When I am confronted with a problem in my life, I no longer try to avoid it.  Now I just lift up my head and pray “Let’s go for it Jesus!”  Sometimes I have disappointed myself, but I have NEVER been disappointed by the Lord.  When I surrender and allow Him to carry me through amazing things happen, but when I try to go for it on my own nothing good happens.  When I am weak, HE is strong.  Today I choose His strength over and above any of my own personal attributes.  Because of that today is going to be a good day.

Love and…….

Kirk Out !

 

 

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Cap’n Kirk…..you are an inspiration……I have just begun feeling close to this way, or at least open to it now! Trying to avoid these times is another struggle in itself. Thank you for your honesty and sharing your life and learning with us. Wanting to learn of Jesus in this life…..and what He can teach through struggling times…….

  2. Tom Ball permalink

    I’ve always found it comforting to remember Jesus didn’t take Peter out of the storm, but Jesus went WITH Peter BACK INTO the boat to face the storm together.

  3. Sky permalink

    Great post! I love your “Let’s Go for it Jesus!” strategy. And Tom, what you said too, AMEN! Now to actually have the courage to think it DURING the next storm……

  4. lila1jpw permalink

    I’m reminded of
    1, the three young men who faced Nebuchadnezzar saying that God could deliver them from the furnace, and even if He didn’t still they would not bow down. and
    2. when they were thrown into the fire, there was a Fourth Man in the furnace.

    Psalm 77:19
    Your way was in the sea
    And Your paths in the mighty waters,
    And Your footprints may not be known.

  5. "BK" permalink

    I love the post and ALL the responses. My ‘notice’ is Psalms 23….”Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death I will fear no evil for Thou art WITH me…” not, “For I know You’ll get me out of this” but a promise He’s right there in that valley with me. On walking through the storm I think that’s exactly what does happen….every time we see Him there in it with us our courage and memory DOES kick in knowing He’ll do it again…and again….and again. That’s what I think it means in Romans 5 when it says, “and hope maketh not ashamed….”. We know He’s walked through the storm with us and we are no longer ashamed or wondering ‘what did I do wrong to have a trial?’…..we have hope that He’ll see us through yet another trial. And, finally, on the three Hebrew children….not only did the PAGAN king see the fourth Man but he knew who He was…the Son of God. Interesting, huh? Even the pagans know the real Jesus when He appears outside religion. Cool…….love, “BK”

Leave a Reply

