Skip to content

The Joy Of Simply Being

October 19, 2015

Greetings,

Jesus said:

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”  Matthew 11: 28

The older I get the more I really appreciate the rest and times of pause that the Lord grants us.  I need to be reminded at times to just slow down and enjoy HIS presence.  The world and the traditional “church” system is always pushing us to go, go, go, and do, do, do.  If we live at the breakneck pace that the world pushes on us it can be exhausting and burdensome.  Jesus wants us to slow down and simply BE the church, instead of always having to DO church-like things and activities.

True Spirituality is about BEING in Christ and not about DOING things in Christ’s name.  We need to rest in Him and not be concerned about building ANYthing for Him.  There is no such thing as Kingdom building in the true church.  The Lord’s Kingdom already is built and prepared by Him and nothing we can DO can add to that fact.  We just need to enter into His rest and bear fruit by BEING in Him and not try to manufacture fruit by DOING things for Him. True fruit is borne and it nourishes, while wax fruit is MANufactured, tastes bad and has no nutritional value for anyone.

Jesus applies zero pressure upon us to perform, produce and make things happen.  No, we are to abide in Him, and by simply BEING in Him the true fruit of the Spirit will be born through us. Trying to make things, even Godly things, happen is counter-productive.

Did you ever notice how often the word “Selah” occurs in the Psalms?  It is in there a lot, and it means to pause, be refreshed and reflect.  It is about BEING still and knowing HE is God.  After all He created us to BE human Beings and NOT human’s doing.  HE who began a good work in us will complete it.  It is not about us DOING anything except surrendering and allowing Jesus to do good and excellent things in and through us.  ”The one who calls you is faithful and He will do it.”

Tomorrow I am going to hang out and chill with some other like minded believers.  I have no agenda whatsoever and I do not know what I am going to say or do when we gather.  I trust that Christ in me will take care of all that, and it should be that way in all of my life’s interactions. There is no need to stress and prepare whatever words or actions I may bring to any gathering or situation.  If I surrender to and abide in Him, His truth in love will just flow through me and accomplish whatever He intends to accomplish.  It is not my role or job to DO anything, except BE in The Spirit at all times.  Like my tee-shirts say, “Don’t Go To Church…BE The Church !”  We all need to stop striving and start BEING.  At least that is what is on my heart and mind today.

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Oops….That was really good. I needed to hear that message. Thanks.

  2. daryl permalink

    Very good and encouraging word.I couldn’t agree more.I wonder how much “church activity” and “ministry”,actually keeps people from ever meeting or forming a friendship with a christian.

  3. "BK" permalink

    A precious sister was just here for a few days. It was soooooo wonderful! We talked in depth about her feeling of ‘failure’ towards God. I finally asked her, “In what way do you think you failed?” Her answer was so standard, “I have not prayed enough nor read my Bible enough….” I told her, “Rocky, those are WORKS. We don’t ‘get to God’ by praying and reading the Bible. The Scribes and Pharisees of Jesus’ day prayed ALOT and knew the Torah by heart, yet they missed Him. They failed. ” Then in fellowship we were reading through Romans 11 and lo and behold it said just that! The Jews never obtained the righteousness they ‘worked’ so hard for because it comes by GRACE, NOT works. Romans 11:6 “And if by grace, then it is no longer by works; if it were, grace would no longer be grace.7 What then? What Israel sought so earnestly it did not obtain,”
    And then here comes this blog by you, Chris! We may not have been in the same room discussing and sharing, but the same “blood of God”, the Spirit, flowed through our spiritual veins. Rocky had already headed home when this came on your blog but I copied and pasted and sent it to her along with the blog ‘address’.

    On another note, I still remember the day when as ‘a pastor’ I was so weighed down by the care of what was happening in the church when the Lord spoke to me, “Haven’t you read the Psalm ‘except the Lord build the house they labor but in vain; and except the Lord keep the city the watchman waketh but in vain?’ It’s MY people; it is ME Who builds and who keeps…..” Wow, I guess I knew that but it sure had never registered and I wept tears of deep thankfulness as the bonds broke off me.

    I loved this statement, “We just need to enter into His rest and bear fruit by BEING in Him and not try to manufacture fruit by DOING things for Him. True fruit is borne and it nourishes, while wax fruit is MANufactured, tastes bad and has no nutritional value for anyone.” My precious friend, Bro Brown, used to say you can build a silk tree to look so real you water it but there is still no life in it.

    Great thoughts, thanks Chris and much love, “BK”

Leave a Reply

