Skip to content

Rape, Kill, Pillage, And Burn

October 13, 2015

Greetings,

“So I say live by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the sinful nature.  For the sinful nature desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the sinful nature.  They are in conflict with each other, so that you do not do what you want.  But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under law.  The acts of the sinful nature are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like.  I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God.”  Galatians 5: 16-21

As someone who has worked as an addictions and mental health counselor for over 25 years and also personally struggled with mental health issues (PTSD & Major Depression) for over 16 years; I say this:  everyone is only like 3 seconds away from committing acts that can lead to being committed, jailed, institutionalized, or placed in a psychiatric unit.  Think it can’t happen to you?  Well, think again!  I know what irrational, “crazy”, sinful and illegal thoughts cross my mind on pretty much a daily basis.  And I know that if I entertain these thoughts for more than a few seconds I could rape, kill, pillage and burn with the worst of them.

Is that shocking?  I don’t think so.  I believe that everyone has fleeting thoughts that are irrational at best and criminal at worst.  What we do with these less than pure thoughts right when they hit us will help determine whether our course of action is controlled and Godly, or diabolical and evil.  What we do in the initial 3 seconds of having these thoughts will make all the difference in the world where it comes to our behavior.

The key is this:  “We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” ( 2 Corinthians 10: 5)  I know I use this scripture a lot, but it really applies to how we live our lives everyday.  When I allow the Holy Spirit to guide my every thought and action, I end up having much better days than if I ignore the Spirit’s leading.  When I surrender my heart and mind to HIM I am fully able to manage all my thoughts and make them obedient to Christ.

So 3 seconds, that does not give us a very wide margin for error does it?  However, His grace is always extended and He will help us every step of the way.  When we freely choose to actively manage our every thought with the Spirit’s guidance better things happen than when we try to go it alone.  Being Spiritually vigilant in all matters, and especially in our thought life, pays eternal dividends beyond what I am even able to imagine.  But, if keeping close track of my thoughts keeps me from sin, handcuffs, straight- jackets, prison, and psych units; I will gladly make that choice everyday.

Love and……

Kirk Out !

p.s.  I speak from real life experience.  I have been in psych units first as an employee, then years later as a patient.  It sure is odd being on the other end of the keys.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. "BK" permalink

    Excellent post. I like how the Concordant Literal reads for Galatians 5:16-17 ” 16 Now I am saying, Walk in spirit, and you should under no circumstances be consummating the lust of the flesh.” 17 For the flesh is lusting against the spirit, yet the spirit against the flesh. Now these are opposing one another, lest you should be doing whatever you may want.” Most translations ad people say this says the flesh is STRONGER, but the Concordant Literal matches my own experience…the Spirit is the stronger of the two and keeps me from doing the things my flesh bring to mind. Amen, Christopher, “BK”

  2. Very good message….

  3. Tom Ball permalink

    Take every thought captive. How? The moment I become consciously aware I am thinking something I don’t like, I begin singing a hymn (silently if necessary). That activates a different set of neural circuitry — one with music which involves a different section of the brain than narrative thought — and the lyrics are “truth” consistent with the Gospel. Thus, the negative thought is turned into a trigger for consciously chosen good thoughts. I can certainly and easily go back to the negative thought if I so choose, but the unconscious mind tries to bring internal systems into homeostasis, and the music and truth are consciously chosen so the unconscious mind cooperates and helps me focus on that…thus releasing the neural circuitry previously involved with the negativity. Have to do this instantly, however, just the moment I consciously notice what’s happening, or else the neural circuitry involved in the negativity becomes fully engaged and then it’s more difficult to stop. Try it yourself and see.

  4. Excellent strategy Dr. Ball and one we can all try and practice.

Leave a Reply

