Skip to content

The Yoke’s On Me

August 4, 2015

Greetings,

Jesus said:

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”  Matthew 11: 28-30

This is one of my favorite passages in all of scripture.  Here Jesus calls anyone who is struggling to simply come to Him and then find rest.  This message is so comforting because we all struggle at times and desperately need to find a place of comfort and rest so that we can just recharge and face another day of challenges.

However, the way Jesus wants us to find this rest is very unique.  In fact it is a total contradiction.  In order to find the rest that Jesus wants us to have He invites us to take His yoke upon us.  In the world yokes are meant for oxen or other beasts of burden, so that they can be controlled better while carrying very heavy loads.  Yet the yoke Jesus suggests for us is one that is not burdensome at all, in fact it is easy and light.

Jesus wants us yoked with Him so that we can learn directly from Him how to better navigate the path He sets before us in this life.  Yokes are usually made for two animals so that they can pull in tandem, side by side.  Here I believe Jesus is suggesting to us that we should allow His Spirit to be yoked with us.  This makes perfect sense because The Holy Spirit, the Paraclete, is literally “The One called alongside us”.  Why would we ever go it alone in this life when God has fully provided a better way for us.  A way to do it with HIM, instead of all on our own.

Jesus clearly wants us in His yoke so that we can learn directly from Him.  However, far too many of us are yoked with something or someone else altogether.  Yoke with the church and it will fail you. Yoke with a Pastor and they will fail you.  Even yoke with the bible and it will fail you.  Jesus and His Spirit are the only ones who really fit into the yoke with you.  So if you want to learn directly from The One who is gentle and humble in heart, Jesus Himself, then step right up and take His yoke upon you.  This is THE way Jesus wants us to learn.  Sermons get you no where.  The bible only gets you part way.  Same goes for commentaries or other written works of “men”.  Sure secondary revelation can help at times, but there is nothing like direct teaching and revelation from The One called right alongside us.

Why read a book when you can actually experience Truth in Love?  Why settle for a postcard when you can actually take the trip for yourself?  We all have plenty of questions, but ONLY HE has answers.  Time to look only to HIM and no other “man” or method.

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. That was very insightful. I have always wondered what that scripture meant. I’ve never heard anyone teach on it , so I just wasn’t really clear what Jesus was saying. I only knew it was a good thing and I wanted it because He said, I should take His yoke and learn from Him.
    It also holds something special for me as well. It was one of the last scriptures my mom had read and spoke to me about before she passed away. That was almost thirty years ago and I still can see her sitting in her favorite chair and us having a conversation about it.
    So thanks for sharing and bringing insight to that scripture.

  2. Ramma permalink

    I can think of no other way to walk. It is a Way of peace. Very timely message for us today! Thank you. Angie what beautiful memories of your Mother. I also am blessed with them. But I know some who are not, even to the point of never knowing their Mother, let alone a God loving one. Our Savior is ALL THINGS TO MEN/WOMEN. What an awesome God we serve, walk with, He walks along side. So amazing, so LOVE!

  3. "BK" permalink

    I also love this verse. Reading this reminded me of a time I was so weary of an ongoing battle. I told the Lord so. He answered so gently, but seriously, ‘just take off the yoke. You don’t HAVE to stay in it.” As He said that I saw myself lift it off me and I walked away. And I knew He loved me just as much as if I had stayed in it. However, with CHOICE I cried out, “No! That’s not what I want!” Grin…..He’s a pretty smart Cookie, our Jesus. And with that choice to remain in the situation, yoked with Him, came strength and insight for the long haul. And rest. Yeah, it was great. Love, “BK”

  4. daryl permalink

    One of my favorite verses also,foundational to our life under grace living by the Spirit.What a contrast to the choice of many ,who though they are saved,remain bound by law living. In the early Church,there were men who rose up compelling new Gentile believers that they must be circumcised and obey the law of Moses…and Peter rebukes them,reminding them that they had been given the Holy Spirit and says to them “why do you test God by putting a yoke on the neck of the disciples that neither our fathers nor we were able to bear?” Acts 15:1-10 The yoke of the law was unbearable,…Jesus’ yoke is easy.

Leave a Reply

