Skip to content

Simple?

July 22, 2015

Greetings,

“Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins.  Offer hospitality to one another without grumbling.  Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms.”  1 Peter 4: 8-10

Is it all really that simple?  Does it all really boil down to just love, hospitality and grace?  I believe the answer to those questions is yes.  Like I have said before though, it is not automatic.  We need to actively choose to love others deeply, offer hospitality freely and to faithfully offer grace to others.

Love is a verb and it needs to be applied personally and with much care.  Nothing else covers sins like His love does.  It would all be very much easier if He only called us to love those who were entirely lovable, but the fact is that HE wants us to love everyone even those who are difficult to love.  My dear friend Glenn Kaiser says it something like this….”The way we love God the most is how we love those we like the least.”   Ain’t that the truth?  Furthermore, how well do we love those who have sinned against us?  Do we withhold our love from them or do we extend our hand to them in love?  Big questions that are not at all easy to answer.  I think we should love liberally and judge sparingly.

Hospitality is definitely a gift, but we are all called to offer it to others even if it is not our personal gifting.  Truth is that our hearts and homes should be open to everyone.  We should gladly serve others and offer them all we have to give.  Jesus held nothing back.  Not while feeding the multitudes or by going to the cross for us all.  Yet somehow we still find it difficult to even offer a cup of cold water in His name.  We all need to allow Him to soften our hearts so that we can eventually learn to serve others as well as He did.

We need to serve others in a wide and holistic manner, offering His grace in whatever form necessary.  Jesus lays it out quite clearly in Matthew 25..we should be serving those who are hungry, thirsty, strange, naked, sick and in prison.  And I am certain His list is even more comprehensive than that.  We are meant to give grace to others no matter their station in life.

We were created to offer Love, Hospitality and Grace to both the washed and the unwashed. This is our calling, but are we fulfilling it?  Do we rush to the aid of others or do we hide as they pass us by?  Most of us do not even treat those close to us with such love and grace.  That saddens my heart.  In Christ we are capable of so much more than that.  Christ in us is THE Hope of Glory for both us and others.  Jesus wants us to be givers and lovers.  I do not want to settle for anything less than that.  My heart is sometimes selfish, but today I am choosing to give and love.  Anyone want to join me?

Love and ….

Kirk Out !

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Hospitality is my specialty. I love opening my home to people. I have done it for people I know well and to some I only know their first name. I know this is my gift from God. And giving. I love to give and bless others. And I get upset if someone tries to repay in some way. That is not my intention and I don’t like itvwhen they feel obligated to do it back. I don’t want them to. My joy is in the giving. I believe in the future God will open the flood gates of heaven (I declare it and decree it over my life) so that I can be an even greater giver of money, time, love, and hospitality to many. No matter who it is. Freely no obligations for any return on their part. I don’t want it. My joy truly is in the giving.

  2. Beautiful.

    >

  3. Perfect for my day w a friend who is in need…..it’s a day hapoy to give back as she has given much!

Leave a Reply

