Skip to content

It’s Really Not About The Book

July 4, 2015

Greetings,

“He has made us competent as ministers of a new covenant – not of the letter but of The Spirit; for the letter kills, but the Spirit gives life.”  2 Corinthians 3: 6

Here we have it again:  The Spirit is superior to the letter.  We need The Holy Spirit to guide us, even guide us in how we approach and use the scriptures.

I am going to try and explain this as simply as I can.  I need The Spirit more than I need the bible.  Because the Spirit inspired what is written.  That means if I don’t have a bible The Spirit can still tell me anything I need to know in the bible.  The Spirit can even give me exact chapter and verse if need be.  When I have The Holy Spirit I have full and complete access to everything written in the bible.  The Spirit can bring to my heart and mind ANY passage that I need at ANY given time.  That means if I have The Spirit I also have the entire bible available to me at all times.  With the Spirit I lack nothing that the bible can supply.

However, If I only have the bible and not the Spirit I am lost.  Because you need the Holy Spirit to really fully understand and comprehend what is written.  It is the Spirit that gives the bible its life.  We need the Spirit to open the eyes of our understanding to the bible, without that Spiritual understanding….. the bible is just another lifeless book.

If one has to choose either The Spirit or the bible.  The Holy Spirit is the obvious choice.  If I have The Spirit I automatically have the bible also, but if I have a bible that does not guarantee that I have the Spirit too.  When left to our own human reasoning and understanding apart from the Spirit’s enlightenment we are very apt to misuse and misapply the written word to the detriment of all who may be involved in any given situation.  “Church” and cult history are full of such misled examples.

I am thankful that I do not have to choose between the Spirit and the bible.  However, it is very good to know that no one can ever really take the bible away from me.  Sure they can confiscate the book, but as long as I have The Holy Spirit I will also have the whole counsel of scripture available to me at any time.

Does this help explain why I always say that we need to be Spirit led and not bible led?  I value and treasure the bible.  I wear them out all the time.  It is never really about the book.  It is truly all about the Holy Spirit who gives life to the book.  The Truth needs to be written on our hearts and not merely on paper.

Love and……

Kirk Out !

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. freeoneindeed permalink

    Kirk, I am so with you on this. The issue is that the religious Matrix has built a stronghold in our minds to blindly follow the Bible. We are so afraid to follow our new born heats believing is still crooked and perverse. Without realizing it, we are disregarding Christ IN us, the hope of glory.

    Before reading your post I was meditating in the fact that the father of our faith didn’t believe God because He read His report in a book, but because he listened to the living word spoken to Him. That was back in the day when words had value.

    Nowadays words alone mean nothing, unless they are backed by great reputation or a big name. No wonder the instruction has gone to great lengths to prove the Bible’s validity.

    Nevertheless, faith comes by hearing the word, not reading it, Paul said. Anyhow, he who has ears to hear, listen to what the Spirit has to say…!

  2. Janet Fowler permalink

    That clarifies it very well Christopher. Excellent post and thank you again.

  3. Ramma permalink

    Amen Chris and a big amen to….”faith comes by hearing the word, not reading it”. The Spirit is what gives us the “ears to hear “. God bless

  4. Duane permalink

    I think Christians confuse “The Word” and the Bible. The Bible is related to “the Word.” But the Word is not the Bible. John 1:1 makes it so that the Bible could never be all that “the Word” is..

  5. Exactly Duane! The Word of God is Jesus, Not the book that testifies about Him.

  6. " BK" permalink

    I get kind of battered over this subject (agreeing with y’all on it) so I recently went ‘to the Bible’ to see just what it said about when we get together. NOT ONCE does it say come together to study a book, the Torah, the scriptures….none of that. The center should ALWAYS be Christ, then whatever is spoken will have life. If that includes scriptures, praise the Lord, but indeed, it is the SPIRIT that brings life. Jesus didn’t say, “After My departure I will send a little black book to lead you into all truth.” NO! He said, “I will send the Spirit of truth and IT will guide you into all truth.”
    Spirit, pneuma, LIFE of the truth. If people could only see I am not discounting the written words of the Bible, like Christopher I wear them out and give them away all the time. But they MUST be mingled with Spirit or they remain dead letter. Love, “BK”

Leave a Reply

