Skip to content

USA? No, Not Really

July 2, 2015

Greetings,

“But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ,…” Philippians 3: 20

As I sit here and write this blog the fourth of July is nearly upon us here in the USA. July 4th is the day Americans celebrate the signing of the declaration that led to our independence from England. This is the day we watch or march in parades, salute the American flag, and enjoy massive, expensive fireworks displays.

To be totally honest I am not much of a patriot and never have been. Don’t get me wrong, I am very thankful for the freedoms we enjoy here in the USA and I appreciate those who have died defending our country. Heck, when I was young I even served in the US army and received an honorable discharge. I have never been big on guns, but in basic training I was rated as an expert with the M-16 and was the top marksman in our company. However, my favorite memory of training at Fort Knox was that they were filming the movie comedy “Stripes” with Bill Murray while I was there. Our unit even got to march in the background in several scenes. That is as close as I ever got to being a movie star.

Back on topic…like I said I am not a patriot. In fact I feel that much of what we call patriotism borders on idolatry, especially in the USA. To many the love of country ranks equal or above the love of God. In many “churches” the love of country is completely intertwined with the love of God to the point it is nearly impossible to separate the two.

I am not anti-America, but I do claim that my sole citizenship is in heaven and not the USA. Because of this I personally refuse to say the pledge of allegiance to the US flag. I even hate to stand up when someone sings our national anthem. I refuse to find fault with those who do, but I do not understand the practice. My sole allegiance is to Jesus and I love and serve only Him and not a flag or a country.

I just feel that Jesus needs to be first and foremost in our lives. Plus the USA, in my opinion, is not the totally bright and righteous place that many claim it is. Our government and military has raped, killed, pillaged and burned with the worst of them. And I refuse to celebrate that fact. No country is God’s country, because the Lord does not play favorites. To somehow think that God is always on the side of the USA and that we are endorsed by Him to police and rule the rest of the world is just plain wrong and sinful. The USA is not now and has never been a “Christian” nation. We need to love, honor and serve Jesus and sometimes our country gets directly in the way of that. Anyway, those are my thoughts on Independence day.

Love and……

Kirk Out !

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Once again, Chris, you bring out the truth about the REAL gospel of Christ. I used to be a rabid right-wing supporter of Americanism and “God and Country” was on an equal plain in my thinking. I supported America getting involved in the Vietnam War “to save the world from communism,” until I was sent over there for three years and saw what that meant. WHAT A FARCE! That war was all about trading the blood of our young men and women and exploiting another nation so huge corporations with politicians in their pockets could make extortionist war prophets, including the then president of the United States, Lyndon Johnson.

    For me the real lesson learned, though, was not a political one, but as you said, once I was born of the Spirit, I no longer was of this world system ruled over by the prince of this world. Pilate at Jesus trial asked Him why His people wanted Him executed. His answer is very instructive, “My kingdom is NOT of this world…” When we are born from above we become aliens to this world and citizens of God’s kingdom, not of the kingdoms of men and as such our hearts are now HIS and are not entangled with the things of this world, just as it was with Jesus. He was no more a Jewish patriot than He was a Roman. He made it clear that He only did what He saw His Father doing. He got His direction from a Source higher than even the Jewish law and those enforcing it, the high priest and the Sanhedrin. THIS is why they hated Him! He was not subject to their control! His kingdom was not theirs for they were of their father the devil and his wishes they did. His blood was on their hands as a result.

    Christians, REAL Christians, need to realize what kingdom they are of and who’s voice they will follow. The early church for the first 300 years were martyred wholesale because they would NOT swear allegiance to Cesar and they counted it joy to be persecuted in the name of Christ and His kingdom. How many of we Christians today are sold out to Him like that? Yes, truly Daniel saw it coming when he saw the image of a man whose feet were a mixture of clay and iron. The scripture makes it clear that iron represented the Roman empire, the legs of the statue he saw were of iron. But it also makes it clear that God is the Potter and we who are His are the clay. What is clay doing being mixed with iron? The churches of the world system today are sill an unholy mixture of God’s people adhering to the governments that descended from ancient Rome and what it did to incorporate Christianity into its pantheon of paganism to solidify its power. Yes, Constantine stopped the persecution of the Church, but he also killed its loyalty to Christ alone with an embrace that smothered God’s Spirit life out of her. We are still suffering the consequences of this down to this day.

    “In this is love perfected with us, that we may have confidence for the day of judgment, because AS HE IS SO ARE WE IN THIS WORLD.” (1 John 4:17 RSVA – emphasis added)

    Your brother of a common Father who loves you,
    Michael

  2. Ramma permalink

    Freedom in Christ is found within, not without. You both reminded us of how “un-free” we truly are in this world ( in mans eyes). True we still have liberties and huge blessings living in America, no doubt at all! But, I can be here and not have spiritual freedom. When Christ sets us free, we can walk through fire and not be burned. If we have found that true spiritual freedom, then we will willingly suffer the things brought into and on our lives. It will be a joy and not a suffering.

    Wow, I am speaking to myself this morning! Some days I feel like my load is kind of heavy and want to question………But then I look at my JESUS!!!

    He is so awesome, so amazing, a God so pure and true, He will never fail, not even once. HE MAKES NO MISTAKES!!!

  3. Chad permalink

    So true Chris! I remember being at church camp and everyone pledged allegiance to the American flag every morning. I would wonder, why am I doing this? Eventually I stopped coming to the same conclusion as well, my allegiance is not to the United States or any country, but to Christ and His Kingdom. Like you I don’t judge those who do, but I don’t understand why they don’t see the conflict.

    Thanks for sharing brother, love you!

  4. Duane permalink

    I am with you, Jesus is first in my life. I truly love the “I am Second.” campaign out there as an aside. But isn’t the oath that a soldier takes involve the statement “God, Country and Family” I may be wrong but I thought I hear that somewhere. I have always thought it was very grand statement, and one that I adhere too. I do not have a wife and family, so the fact that they were third was not a big thing for me. But when you serve in the military it is important to place them third, I guess. Anyway that is my thoughts.

  5. A_Pilgrim permalink

    I only disagree with one thing you said, “The USA is not now and has never been a “Christian” nation.” When the majority of a nation’s population is Christian, having faith in Jesus, then they would be called a Christian nation. We once could have said that. Now as to the forming of the nation that is different and debatable as to whether the gospel was the primary consideration in the workings of that endeavor.

Leave a Reply

