Skip to content

His Voice Always Comes First

June 20, 2015

Greetings,

“…because those who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God.  For you did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear, but you received the Spirit of sonship.  And by Him we cry “Abba, Father.”  The Spirit Himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children, then we are heirs-heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in His sufferings in order that we may also share in His glory.”  Romans 8: 14-17

Here it is again…… “..those who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God.”  Please notice again that we are supposed to be Spirit led and NOT bible led.  If someone is bible led it does not necessarily mean that they are a son of God, but if they are Spirit led they are a son of God. It does not get much clearer than that folks.  Once again I am not saying that the bible is not important in the life of a Christ follower.  In fact the place that the Spirit leads us most often to for truth and confirmation is the bible.   However, being Spirit led is not limited to the bible; but being bible led leads to many limitations.

Another thing…. I was just reading Revelation and in chapters two and three we find messages to the seven churches and each message concludes with,,, “Let him who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit is saying to the churches.”  The Greek word used for “hear” is a form of akouomai, from which we get the English word acoustic and it means exactly what it says…to hear or recognize.  If we really want to know what God is saying to the church we need to listen to, and follow, the Spirit; NOT the bible.  Don’t throw your bible away, but only use it when the Spirit leads you to.

Finally Jesus said in John Chapter 10 that His sheep hear His voice and obey.  So where it comes to following Jesus and The Spirit we need to listen for and hear His voice.  It does not say to look at and read the bible.  True Christ followers listen for His voice instead of always trying to make the bible The Sole Authority.  Of course when we do read the bible we can also hear His voice there quite often, but always remember that His voice is always more important than what is printed on the page.  Right now some folks are shaking their heads and pulling out their hair because of what I have written here.  I will say this right out loud now…. sola scriptura is a lie.  The bible is not the know all and end all of the faith.  I am surely glad to have the bible as a most excellent resource in my life, but I refuse to elevate it to near Godhood.  I know this is a difficult saying, but what I am sharing is the Truth in Love, even according to the bible.  Listen for His voice?  The Spirit of Christ will surely guide you into ALL Truth!

Love and …..

Kirk Out !

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. daryl permalink

    I think I get what you are saying,although I would be concerned that some simply “dumb-down” by not studying,reading,meditating,on the Word. I’m sure many of us have seen those who claim “the Spirit of God is leading me to do this” and then the thing the Spirit is supposedly leading them to do is an obvious distortion and manipulation of the Scripture…basically a lie, or just ignorance. It is obvious to me that you love Gods word…your posts are full of it and along with the leading of the Spirit,it is the inspiration for much of what you write. I dont really see being Bible led and Spirit led as different or opposing things for a believer.As we rightly divide the Word of truth ( an impossibility without the Holy Spirit),we grow up,mature,and become more like Jesus,sensitive to the Holy Spirit. I hope it does not appear as if I’m being argumentative….not trying to be. There are many things that the Bible does not help me with or lead me to do other than trust the Spirit to lead me.For instance,my 16 year old son was recently injured at his job and was rushed to the ER.Thanks to the quick actions of 2 co-workers,he did not bleed to death.Without going into detail,there is an ongoing medical bill/workmans comp./Obama care nightmare. My Bible does not give me or my wife the answers of what to do..we pray and just have to trust the Spirits leading…and sometimes that’s not easy to do with our own anger and frustration. Well,enough said…be blessed today.

  2. I see what u r saying and showing it from the bible is good….but in my mind Spirit led and bible led mean the same thing to me. The bible is God inspired….God is a Spirit…..I see the bible as a guide book….how I should live my life….and the Holy Spirit leads me in my daily life as well….I see it as one and the same….I am led by both…

  3. Great responses so far! I will be praying for your son and your situation. What is your son’s name Daryl? To me the Spirit is more important than the bible because the Spirit is actually God and the book is just about God. Without the illumination of the Spirit the bible just becomes dead letter. I am very thankful for both the Spirit and the bible, but I am led by the Spirit and will follow Him forever.

  4. daryl permalink

    Thank you,i very much appreciate that. My sons name is Joshua,he”s a great kid and going through a hard time.

  5. Please understand that I am not saying the following in a judgemental way, but rather as just matter of fact IMHO. To say the Spirit and the bible are equal or the same sounds like idolatry to me. Because the Spirit is God and the bible is NOT God. In fact the bible is a created thing. Created by the inspiration of the Holy Spirit. To say the created thing is equal to God the Creator is idolatry in it’s most simple form. The bible is a great gift from God. I follow the Gift Giver and NOT the gift. Do you understand where I am coming from in this?

  6. Suzy Crees permalink

    I agree that we must rely on Holy Spirit. As we listen to the voice of God, he will lead us into all Truth. All scripture points to Christ and is God’s revelation to is. But we have something even better which is Christ in U.S. We are Indwelt by the Holy Spirit and can live by the Life of Christ in us. In my observation, too many people misuse scripture.

  7. Ramma permalink

    Great thoughts here. I always thought they were the same until I started asking myself if the decision i was making or the direction that I am headed, is this because o f what the Bible says or is the Spirit prompting me to make these choices. Is religion telling me? Is the Bible (written text) telling me? Is the WORD (Jesus/Holy Spirit/God) telling me? I think we have been misguided in believing that every time the w (W)ord is used that it means the Bible/written text. It doesn’t. Most of the time it’s referring to Jesus. As intertwined are the Father, Son and Holy Spirit that one does not function without the other and they are always aware of what the other is doing. Interesting view, right? But a real one that we cannot deny.

  8. Very true Ramma. Jesus is the Word of God, NOT the bible.

Leave a Reply

