Skip to content

Prepare To Be Amazed…..2015

June 18, 2015

Greetings,

“Pray also for me, that whenever I open my mouth, words may be given me so that I will fearlessly make known the mystery of the gospel.”  Ephesians 6: 19

Many people have recently asked me why I have so much success in leading people to Jesus. They wanted to know if I had a rehearsed plan or spiel, like the “Roman’s road or The Four Spiritual Laws”, that I used to get folks to “buy in” to Jesus.  I can honestly say that I have no advance plan, agenda, script or formula that I follow in sharing Christ with others.  My sharing with them is always entirely spontaneous and Spirit led, moment by moment.

What I say to people can be a mixture of my personal testimony, actual words of Jesus, or other pertinent passages from the bible.  I always try to speak from the heart, not from a script.  I seriously doubt if I have ever used the same exact wording with more than one person.  I feel the main reason I easily connect with others is because I am authentic, real and genuine. With me what you see is exactly what you get with absolutely no guile or pretense. (But even I have bad days)  I sincerely love all people and it shows and that draws people to me I am certain.  I view all people as precious and valuable to God and potential members of my Spiritual family.  I see the spark of HIS Creation in everyone’s life and only want to offer them a full and rewarding relationship with Jesus and The Body Of Christ.

Another reason I have been able to impact lives with the Love and acceptance of Christ is that I pray continually for Jesus to prepare the hearts and minds of the people He is going to put me in direct contact with.  I also pray and submit my will to Him asking that He continually prepare my heart, mind and message; so that I can always be ready for those He sends my way on a given day.  This is not rocket science.  I purposely and intentionally make myself available to Him and others.  When I do this He fully equips me and makes me more than able to share the Truth in Love with whosoever will.  You see it really is ALL about Him and not about me.

I hope you can now see how simple sharing Christ can be?  It doesn’t take smarts and extreme biblical knowledge.  All it takes is an open heart and complete surrender to the pathway He picks for you.  Along the way on that path you will encounter those who need His Love, Grace, Mercy and Truth.  Then in the proper moment simply open your mouth and allow Him to speak His words through you.  It is all about simple conversations, real give and take dialogue.  Worked for Jesus, worked for Paul and it still works for me.  “Perfect Love casts out all fear.”  Trust Jesus to use you in this manner also, and then prepare to be amazed.

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. Hi Chris, Thanks for your post. Two thoughts come to my mind about it:

    Thing 1: I think it is great that you are addressing the issue as to why you are seeing so many people come to the Lord. Often Christians say “just do it” without giving the “how” details.

    Thing 2: I think you have a Holy Spirit gifting in “evangelism” that others may not have. As such, if they do not have the same gifting then it would be more difficult for them in that area. So, if someone is feeling stirred to see more, asking the Holy Spirit to gift them in that area seems to be key. I have seen where the Lord has people see or read about someone else moving in a gifting and uses that to inspire that person in the same direction where the Lord’s gifting eventually winds up being for them as well. So, knowing it is a gifting that the Lord can increase in them seems like a freeing thing so that instead of their feeling inadequate for not seeing more, they can look to the Lord to gift them more, and if He does so, then they will wind up seeing more over time. Here are two scripture passages that go with this:

    God also testified to it by signs, wonders and various miracles, and by gifts of the Holy Spirit distributed according to his will. (Hebrews 2:4)

    7 But to each one of us grace has been given as Christ apportioned it. 8 This is why it says: “When he ascended on high, he took many captives and gave gifts to his people.” 9(What does “he ascended” mean except that he also descended to the lower, earthly regions? 10 He who descended is the very one who ascended higher than all the heavens, in order to fill the whole universe.) 11 So Christ himself gave the apostles, the prophets, the evangelists, the pastors (Scott comment: “shepherds” as opposed to “pastors” in the current day definition) and teachers, 12 to equip his people for works of service, so that the body of Christ may be built up 13 until we all reach unity in the faith and in the knowledge of the Son of God and become mature, attaining to the whole measure of the fullness of Christ. (Ephesians 4:7-13 NIV)

    Jesus can then use the testimonies/examples of others – such as you in your blog – to further equip the gifting He is increasing them in – such as evangelism in this case.

    So, just some thoughts…

    With Jesus’ love,

    Scott

  2. This is so true. We can’t prepare a plan or speech to lead others to Christ. We do need to pray, ask God to lead us and speak through us. We mainly need to be real and love people. I think people are getting tired of being given a speech, or a tract or a pre-planned act. When someone shows interest in a person, and seems kind to them, then tries to talk them into salvation or coming to church, it just ruins it. Being available to our Father and trusting Him to prepare those he brings our way, and letting His love flow in a real and genuine way is really the only way others will truly see a difference. Christ does the work, we are just there for him to work through.

  3. That is just so simple Christopher. How come other people haven’t done the same thing?????
    Just be open, ready, and Spirit led. I’m guilty of not asking the Lord to prepare my heart and the people He brings into my life. How many times have I read Ephesians 6:9 and it went right over my head. I’ve got the Revelation now on how to pray. Thanks for sharing the word and opening my eyes.

  4. daryl permalink

    great post and comments!Keep on keeping on Chris. When I read this today I was reminded of a book I read where the author speaks of the very thing you do…and this is true evangelism. How foolish (and harmful) many church evangelistic efforts are where people who may not even feel led by the Spirit,”force” themselves upon some poor victim whom the Holy Spirit is in no way convicting….you have got it right and i rejoice with you! I agree with Scott that you have a gifting in evangelism that others do not <but I would like to encourage others to not be discouraged if they are not experiencing "results" because we are all fellow- workers,and the Spirit led words we share(which just come naturally,not forced) and our prayers for others, often times is preparation in the heart of one who later accepts Christ. I am reminded of several Scriptures…"I planted the seed,Apollos watered it,but God made it grow"-1Cor.3:6, and Jesus' words "i tell you,open your eyes and look at the fieldsThey are ripe for harvest.Even now the reaper draws his wages,even now he harvests the crop for eternal life,so that the sower and the reaper may be glad together.Thus the saying is true"One sows and another reaps".I sent you to reap what you have not worked for.Others have done the hard work and you have reaped the benefits of their labor." John4:35-38 . Great reminder of the importance of prayer.

  5. Ramma permalink

    Chris,
    Ii told Danny a couple of times that I would like to just observe and hear how you talk with people, etc. Is there a method? And as I interact with new acquaintances, I realize that each person is unique and it takes getting to know them on their ground a little bit first before the Lord is brought in. We have to listen to them. Meet them wherever they are in life. I observed how you were quiet here for a couple of days before you really started opening up and talking. Wisdom….you were observing us, feeling our spirits if they be of God, etc. Our hearts bonded with you instantly and we felt like we have always known you, but you used wisdom in handling God’s things.

    I understand the “gifting”/”gifts” a little differently than described here. I keep going back to what Jesus instructed, what He gave us and what He exampled. I’m finding that we are possibly making the gift of the holy spirit much less able to do the promised work in us, than what we should be. First the work of salvation and the other to equip us to do His work while here in this flesh.

    Matt. 10 and Luke 12..Jesus is sending them out, don’t be afraid what you shall speak, etc. because I will speak through you. What you’ve seen and heard speak of it. v 40..whoever receives you receives me, whoever receives me is receiving Him Who commissions me….If I’m receiving the Lord in me…..then I must be receiving the power, wisdom, etc needed to do the work that He has put before us. Otherwise the holy spirit has no purpose.

    Back in Exodus 4…when God was trying to get Moses to talk to the people about Himself, Moses was afraid, the people will not believe that I have talked to God and on and on he rambled. God told him that He would speak through him and when Moses still complained, then He said He would speak through both Moses and Aaron. (short cut version) 🙂

    Fear of man is what causes us to doubt whether or not we can talk to people. We will never know unless we step out and try. Matt 10:28 reminds us not to fear man, but rather to fear God.

    Would you consider that the “gifting” that religion teaches causes division? One more “gifted” than another, etc? Leaves people not knowing if they are a part or not. If they don’t have an evident “gift”?( as judged by man’s eyes). When all the while the holy spirit is the gift and all that is necessary to walk us through this life and lead others to Christ? Would you also consider that some translations have hidden agenda and wanted a little more division and confusion so that the people would become so dependent on their leaders rather than Christ?

    Thinking out loud this morning.
    Blessings

  6. These comments are awesome! I am pretty sure I hear and understand each one’s portion. I do not see myself as having a special gift of evangelism. It is just something the Spirit has me flow in and out of when HE places me in the right set of circumstances. I feel that ANYONE can move in evangelism as the Spirit enables them. It is not at all about me possessing a gift 100% of the time. It is about me being sensitive to the Spirit’s particular leading in any given moment in life and surrendering to His leading at the proper time.

  7. Ramma permalink

    This post has been such a blessing today! Thank you everyone for sharing your portions!

    Scott… you reminded us that if we feel we are lacking, all we need to do is ask and the Lord will give us more. ) I also liked your Thing 1 and Thing 2 (:) We were just watching Cat In The Hat with our grandson yesterday!)

    DonewithReligion…….Being available to our Father and trusting Him to prepare those he brings our way, and letting His love flow in a real and genuine way is really the only way others will truly see a difference. Christ does the work, we are just there for him to work through. ( I agree with you 100%)

    Angie…..Just be open, ready, and Spirit led. (I love the way God is opening your eyes and the way you are responding to Him)

    Daryl…..and our prayers for others, often times is preparation in the heart of one who later accepts Christ. Great reminder of the importance of prayer. ( A great reminder to keep doing even when you think nothing is happening)

    Chris…..I feel that ANYONE can move in evangelism as the Spirit enables them.( Amen!)

Leave a Reply

